Toyota Men Come Forth 2

It's all about 4AGE, NZE, 3SGTE, 1JZ, 2JZ etc.

zedcyborg

turbo 4A-GE ???

Postby zedcyborg » April 18th, 2005, 9:57 pm

anyone heard of or knows anyone that turboed a 4A-GE ?? thinkin about it but not sure how good an idea it gonna be...compression ratio that high and all...don't wanna have to go thru the drama of changin the pistons and stuff... any clues or ideas would be appreciated

God Bless the Black Top*

Postby God Bless the Black Top* » April 18th, 2005, 11:43 pm

look for a supercharged 4A-GZE, or a ready turbo'd 4A - GTE, dunno how hard it may be to find in bamboo, but i'm sure if you wait u'll get lucky

Postby Hook » April 18th, 2005, 11:45 pm

taken from this site:
http://www.toysport.com/Technical%20Information/Technical%20Info%20Main.htm

the highlighted part may be useful
MODIFYING THE 4AG / 4AGZE

Block: The 4AG block is a free revving and strong bottom end. A stock block will survive in excess of 350 HP if air-charged in the 8000 RPM range, or 250 HP in the 10000RPM range. The 2nd generation blocks with oil squirters should be the minimum considered. The connecting rods are also beefier, similar to the 4AGZ. The 1st generation block had smaller wrist pins and rod journals, which should be fine for milder tunes. For serious competition the rods should be replaced.

Stroking the crankshaft to a maximum 81mm will keep the RPM capability intact. Bores can be brought out to 83mm, but try to keep it under 82.5mm. There is no need for the Formula Atlantic crankshaft. Reject blocks that will need 83mm to clean up, for sure there is head damage also.

Stay away from the 7AF to 7AG conversion since the crank is not forged and the flywheel bolts are too small, with no provision available to upgrade. The rods are potential failures also when subjected to real 4AG RPM operation. It is an exercise in creativity but a total sidestep for any real performance-oriented application. If you like the torque of the 7AF, use the complete engine.

Cylinder Head: There are some issues about the Formula Atlantic head. The Formula Atlantic head is a modified 4AG head- port and polished with the valve adjusters changed to the under-the-bucket shim arrangement (similar to the 2TG and 18RG). The valves and springs are different too. This modification is required when running camshafts with high lift and/or long duration (above 300). For street purposes there is no advantage converting to this adjustment method or preparing the head to Atlantic specifications. The port and chamber modifications will decrease performance- short of preparing the complete engine to Formula Atlantic specifications, which will render the package totally unstreetable.

There is very minimal head preparation needed, aside from match porting and polishing the runners. Porting the heads on this 16 valve Twin Cam more often decreases the air velocity- resulting in poorer throttle response. Despite others claim of a 20HP or more increase- on modified heads alone, this is simply impossible without camshaft or pistons changed. Toyota has casted and machined all their 4 valve heads to very close and accurate tolerances for street (and rally) use.

Camshaft choices for stock EFI systems and pistons should be limited to less than 265 duration. Upgraded blocks with pistons of at least 10.5:1 compression may use up to 288. It is recommended to convert to under-the-bucket shims for durations over 300 (with corresponding higher compression pistons). Installing high duration cams on the stock set-up will cause the shims to fall-off and instant result in instant engine seizure. As always stay away from reground cams with non-factory lobe centers, you will have problems getting the correct adjustment shims.

On the 4AGZ intake manifold- the #1 runner, which is dog-legged, must be filled and recontoured. This is a simple procedure that must be done. Be sure to frequently check the supercharger oil also. Many units have died because of oil starvation.

The 5 valve head is Toyota's bonus to the 4AG after the 4AGZE went away. With the additional valve and independent throttle bodies- the 4AG 20 valve is a unique head design. This head unfortunately has many proprietary pieces and the only way to do a conversion to a 5 valve is only with a complete engine. The distributor position may be a problem in RWD installations. (Note: There are 2 versions of the 5-valve engine, see related information under Japanese engines).

Supercharger / Turbo Upgrade- The preparation for the turbo set-up is to lower the compression. The 4AG / 4AGZ that will see boosts in excess of 10 psi should be set-up with forged pistons. Blocks with the oil squirters must be used as these come with the better rods. For boosts higher than 18 psi, the rods have to be replaced. Oil cooler is mandatory, and for all applications a bigger radiator is a good investment. Use the 4AGZ injectors and fuel pressure regulator for turbo conversions of the normally aspirated 4AG. 550cc injectors are available for serious boost / engine outputs. The fuel pump can be replaced with the Supra Turbo pump, a direct bolt-in.

Fuel System- If at all possible avoid using the dual side-draft carbs. The cost for the carbs / manifold plus ignition conversion will come close to a new fuel injection system. The EFI system will be adequate for minor tuning. 4AG/Z EFI systems use either an AFM (air flow meter) or MAP (manifold air pressure). The AFM model is actually preferred since it will allow the user some adjustability for modified cams; there is no compensation available with MAP sensors. There is no advantage to converting to a MAP sensor, the idea of loss HP due to the AFM restriction is not true.

Ignition System: Even 4AGZs equipped with DFI (direct fire ignition), will see a performance increase with an ignition amplifier. This is one of very few Toyota ignitions that are marginal. Colder plugs must be used with any upgrade. For carburetor equipped 4AGs the distributor has to supplemented with a timing controller, MSD 6A, and a coil.

God Bless the Black Top*

Postby God Bless the Black Top* » April 18th, 2005, 11:46 pm

how was it that devi lix the 12 sec civic?!

blu-rolla
Location: either in sando, or sneakin out yuh back door as you reach home.

Postby blu-rolla » April 19th, 2005, 8:36 am

anyone heard of or knows anyone that turboed a 4A-GE ?? thinkin about it but not sure how good an idea it gonna be...compression ratio that high and all...don't wanna have to go thru the drama of changin the pistons and stuff... any clues or ideas would be appreciated

doh study that, yuh could do it. keep de boost low. and doh run lean.

blu-rolla

Postby blu-rolla » April 19th, 2005, 11:22 am

wait, which 4A we talkin bout? 16 or 20 valve?

Postby Hook » April 19th, 2005, 12:58 pm

just read the muthafawkin article meng....it'll let u know what u can and can't mod

click the link and find other performance engines from Toyota and compare their strengths and weaknesses u decide if what u want out of ur engine will be worth the effort.

blu-rolla

Postby blu-rolla » April 20th, 2005, 8:53 am

as meh padna Peter used to say,
if I tell yuh ah mouse could pull ah house,....
BRING firetruck ROPE!!!!

the 16 valvers could take some small boost before lowering compression. men have done it.

I doh talk out meh arse, so is no sh!t talk. I am a true 4A hoe. follow the article if you want to go above 6psi and ting.

Postby Hook » April 20th, 2005, 9:48 am

^^^ I thought this was common knowledge

the 4A-GZE already comes with forged internals and a turbo swap up to 6-7psi is very straightfoward as the 8.9:1 compression ratio will allow this...
but u'll need to lower the CR to 8.0:1 to be able to safely handle 8psi and up but the bottom end can take real jammin and 4A-G blocks have been known to produce 350hp and up so sky's the limit (u can substitute the word "sky" for the word "budget" lol)

pyromaniak

Postby pyromaniak » April 20th, 2005, 3:26 pm

(u can substitute the word "sky" for the word "budget" lol)

Fuh real I was checkin a stroker kit for meh 4AG and flinkin' USD2500.00

Ah nearly dead yes :shock:

Strauss

Postby Strauss » April 21st, 2005, 12:21 am

but the 4azge already comes with 8 or 10 psi depending on the gen.

blu-rolla

Postby blu-rolla » April 21st, 2005, 8:15 am

but the 4azge already comes with 8 or 10 psi depending on the gen.

and I thought I was goin mad when de man say
turbo swap up to 6-7psi

cause i was done aimin for 14 on the GTE.

strauss, ah hear allyah boy real geh orn bad tuesday.

Strauss

Postby Strauss » April 23rd, 2005, 2:06 pm

^^^ thats just a rumor spread by a few panty men... actually just TWO men complain. The 14+ rest of us seemed to have a good time. They cant lime with the real men, really. :wink:

God Bless the Black Top*

Postby God Bless the Black Top* » April 25th, 2005, 10:50 am

fellas i think is time for a doubles lime

ShaKarz

Postby ShaKarz » April 25th, 2005, 11:04 am

YEA ... no scene :wink:

Strauss

Postby Strauss » May 4th, 2005, 4:35 pm

My plans to thow in the turbo has be pushed back since I could not get the LSD box. I bought some sh!t tranny to mash up in the meantime and guess what.... I get a box to buy. LORD.

Anyways.. piece by peice I have get everything. Dont know if all my money going in de hairy bank, but cash is low these days. Once the LSD box there, i cant relax. Need something to take the pressure of that torque of the super/turbo combo. Aiming for a 4agz(t)e. Already have it worked out... just to get it into reality.

Anyone can hook me up with a MSD and oversized pully for the supercharger?

Ozma

Postby Ozma » May 6th, 2005, 6:38 pm

那个日本鬼å­

bullet

Postby bullet » May 7th, 2005, 8:12 pm

fellas I getting something like a "flat spot" on my 20valve whenever I mash the accelerator, can anybody help me troubleshoot this probs.Anytime all yuh going for doubles SMS me 678-5326 had to get to know the toyota clan

Supra GT-FOUR

Postby Supra GT-FOUR » May 8th, 2005, 5:44 am

Anybody here know of the camshaft duration/lift for the 5A-FE engine :roll: ???
For some strange reason there aint much technical info on that engine. cant find nuttin on google.

TeamH2O

Postby TeamH2O » May 8th, 2005, 12:22 pm

I LUV 2JZ-GTE'S!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! WEEEEEEEOOOOOOOOOO AND I LUV MY 1JZ-GTE!! LOL

just watching a 2jz automatic blast off in front yuh while yuh in a 1jz auto driving slowly is amazing! :twisted:

Postby AllTrac » May 8th, 2005, 12:36 pm

bullet wrote:fellas I getting something like a "flat spot" on my 20valve whenever I mash the accelerator, can anybody help me troubleshoot this probs.Anytime all yuh going for doubles SMS me 678-5326 had to get to know the toyota clan

at approx what rpm bullet?
and does it always happen, regardless of wether condition or where u full gas etc? what mods u have on the engine?

Anton

Postby Anton » May 9th, 2005, 7:58 am

AllTrac wrote:
bullet wrote:fellas I getting something like a "flat spot" on my 20valve whenever I mash the accelerator, can anybody help me troubleshoot this probs.Anytime all yuh going for doubles SMS me 678-5326 had to get to know the toyota clan

at approx what rpm bullet?
and does it always happen, regardless of wether condition or where u full gas etc? what mods u have on the engine?

I get a similar prob in my 20v but only when below 1/2 tank and in motion. I figure i need a baffle round my fuel pump to keep a constant supply of fuel round d pump. Maybe that cud be a factor in ur problem.

bullet

Postby bullet » May 10th, 2005, 6:27 pm

alltrac it happens about 600rpm and I changed my tank and it has a baffle where the pump gets its supply

Postby gt4tified » May 11th, 2005, 8:32 pm

Hmmmm....Trac, think its the injectors?

Xman

Postby Xman » May 12th, 2005, 11:51 am

Question: where to get corolla polyurethane flare kit...you know the snap on kind...or who has other kits cheap....for a G-Touring. and mud guards.

I've been askin all over....no answer. I hope u all know....

Xman

Postby Xman » May 20th, 2005, 9:51 am

Nah boy d Toyota thread reach second page.........and mazda thread in front page ....leh meh bump

TK!

Postby TK! » May 22nd, 2005, 1:27 pm

hi, i've had the same problem. i get it around 2000-3000 rpm. i clean injectors, change fuel filter, air filter, plugs and all kinda sheit. the problem leave meh for like a day and was back.

turns out my air-fuel-controller needed adjusting. i've also got a modified ecu. you need to know your fuel maps if you're troubleshooting a werid problem like this. if you are stock, then it should be easy. do all the normal tune-up stuff first.

Strauss

Postby Strauss » May 23rd, 2005, 12:14 pm

Fellas... any has a manual for the AE111 Levin/Trueno?
Also.. the 2001/2 Corrolla Luxel (1800cc)

bullet

Postby bullet » May 24th, 2005, 1:08 am

tk421 wrote:

hi, i've had the same problem. i get it around 2000-3000 rpm. i clean injectors, change fuel filter, air filter, plugs and all kinda sheit. the problem leave meh for like a day and was back.

turns out my air-fuel-controller needed adjusting. i've also got a modified ecu. you need to know your fuel maps if you're troubleshooting a werid problem like this. if you are stock, then it should be easy. do all the normal tune-up stuff first.

thanks alot!

juicylucy

Postby juicylucy » May 25th, 2005, 3:16 am

aye fellas a LADY has joined d forum now buy a ae91 f/used no mods 16valve will start to attack it soon :fist:

Return to “TOYOTA”