Toyota FT-86 "ToyoBaru"

It's all about 4AGE, NZE, 3SGTE, 1JZ, 2JZ etc.

timothymcdavid

Toyota FT-86 "ToyoBaru"

Postby timothymcdavid » October 6th, 2009, 2:07 pm

Well i checked to see if this was posted but i figure you guys might like to see it

link to full story

http://www.pistonheads.com/news/default ... ryId=20763[/img]

Supposedly will have a Subaru flat 4 making 140bhp.

dmitc

Postby dmitc » October 6th, 2009, 2:14 pm

i want to like it but 140bhp :?

cincuanta

Postby cincuanta » October 7th, 2009, 7:44 am

dmitc wrote:i want to like it but 140bhp :?

Fuh real..but wondering what are the possibilties for modification past 200BHP

Zeriam

Postby Zeriam » October 7th, 2009, 9:42 am

i just hope it sounds good

_moti_

Postby _moti_ » October 7th, 2009, 10:21 am

dmitc wrote:i want to like it but 140bhp :?

guess toyota is still sticking with the small HP performance engines.
that figure reminds me of the 4AGE

alphaboi

Postby alphaboi » October 7th, 2009, 5:56 pm

probably made the HP kinda low in terms of drifting because of its increasing popularity, u dont need a lot of speed for that....

reddo_tuner

Postby reddo_tuner » October 7th, 2009, 7:01 pm

amit.soorajbally wrote:probably made the HP kinda low in terms of drifting because of its increasing popularity, u dont need a lot of speed for that....

you mean power, 140 is more than enough to drift :D

heshere2001

Postby heshere2001 » October 14th, 2009, 2:05 am

So no one else having an issue with a subaru engine in their toyota? :| :|

Really? :(

I mean don't get em wrong, I'll be there to buy it from the dealership or import new but a subu engine in my Toyota...... :(

reddo_tuner

Postby reddo_tuner » October 14th, 2009, 9:27 am

alphaboi

Postby alphaboi » October 14th, 2009, 10:59 am

We don't have a choice in d matter in terms of the engine, unless they decide to bring out a different edition with a toyo engine..but i think d main issue with the engine is to have more stability for the car...

heshere2001

Postby heshere2001 » October 16th, 2009, 6:16 pm

amit.soorajbally wrote:We don't have a choice in d matter in terms of the engine, unless they decide to bring out a different edition with a toyo engine..but i think d main issue with the engine is to have more stability for the car...

No.

I want my Toyota to be a Toyota.

There are many engines that they have available, across so many platforms.

2Gr-Fe - gimmie a rear wheel variant and we good to go.

Even less powerful

2Az-Fe - Camry engine 160hp - rear wheel and we good.

I understand that they are building the platform together but the engine could have been different as per company.

Doubt TTTL will bring this down cause who will service it? N&M??

RORO I'll need a Subu mech.

ramishrrr

Postby ramishrrr » October 17th, 2009, 8:23 am

Well, I guess there are a lot of behind-the-scenes things we would not know about.
1. The last Toyota performance engine 3SGTE is pretty old by now, and there are no new engines on the horizon. Engines cost a heap to develop.

2. The Subaru turbo engine like the EJ20 is a performer, no doubt. Seeing that Toyota has a chunk of Subaru, it may well be a matter of economics and common sense to use it.

Hardly anyone noticed that recent Jaguars came with Ford engines, and now that Tata owns the company, who knows ? Maybe Jags will be equipped with the Telcoline's diesel !!
The FT-86 will run no doubt.

timothymcdavid

Postby timothymcdavid » October 17th, 2009, 10:20 am

More pics from pistonheads ... i thought it was ugly at first but i must say it has grown on me.

timothymcdavid

Postby timothymcdavid » October 17th, 2009, 10:25 am

Still more pics

I can definitely see myself owning one as part of my soon to be midlife crises ... i know this is the toyota forum i have been hearing stories about these Subaru boxster engines being unreliable how strong are they really ... i know i will get a no BS assessment in the Toyota forum and not the Subaru forum.

heshere2001

Postby heshere2001 » October 17th, 2009, 1:16 pm

ramishrrr wrote:Well, I guess there are a lot of behind-the-scenes things we would not know about.
1. The last Toyota performance engine 3SGTE is pretty old by now, and there are no new engines on the horizon. Engines cost a heap to develop.

2. The Subaru turbo engine like the EJ20 is a performer, no doubt. Seeing that Toyota has a chunk of Subaru, it may well be a matter of economics and common sense to use it.

Hardly anyone noticed that recent Jaguars came with Ford engines, and now that Tata owns the company, who knows ? Maybe Jags will be equipped with the Telcoline's diesel !!

But still would Toyota train its local mechs to service a subaru engine?

venem

Postby venem » October 17th, 2009, 2:14 pm

Zeriam

Postby Zeriam » October 17th, 2009, 10:05 pm

heshere2001 wrote:
ramishrrr wrote:Well, I guess there are a lot of behind-the-scenes things we would not know about.

me thinks not!!

alphaboi

Postby alphaboi » October 17th, 2009, 10:10 pm

Hey...just thought of something, do u think ppl should consider this a whole toyo? eg. would there b ppl coastin TRD decals n stuff on it when in fact it's a toyo chassis and subaru engine? What u guys think?

Zeriam

Postby Zeriam » October 17th, 2009, 11:31 pm

do proton owners put ralliart on their cars?

Postby eliteauto » October 20th, 2009, 5:50 pm

so...if Toyota is doing a version and Subaru is doing a version don't you guys think the engines will be branded as such?? The argument of a "subaru" engine in a Toyota is silly at best, so do Subaru owners thing the have Porsche engines ( after all they've been doing Boxer engines longer) or do Lotus Elise owners say they have toyota engines ( they're powered by the 2zz-ge), you all can't be serious :?

TRDcorolla

Postby TRDcorolla » October 20th, 2009, 9:25 pm

if TTTL gets the ok to sell them, then yes some one would be trained to service the boxer engine

josh.dookie

Postby josh.dookie » November 4th, 2009, 11:20 am

Something to look forward to, looks cool but 140hp is a downer, and NA... But still looking forward non the less! :D

Return to “TOYOTA”