more problems need help

It's all about 4AGE, NZE, 3SGTE, 1JZ, 2JZ etc.

subzero8714

more problems need help

Postby subzero8714 » June 5th, 2009, 10:51 am

ok so i changed spark plug wires and did a tune up, now car stalling all over the place and it takes about a minute and then will start back and will stall again after a couple mins again, so i changed the fuel pump and used a herko e8229 fuel pump the parts place guy said it was a high pressure one, since that the car hasen't stalled untill last week and since then it has worked fine, now another problem has popped up, sometimes when i stop by a traffic light and going to drive again the transmission seems to stick on third gear so from here i have to back it on 1st to pull off when i get to second gear it stays for like 2 sec and jumps to 3rd even when the shifter is in 2nd, now when this is happening i don't get kick down or any power x to board and the car just taking he time also the o/d light on the dash board is blinking but only when this is happening. after this i did a diagnostics and the oxygen sensor and airflow sensor showed up we reset the brain box and then only the oxygen sensor showed up, now we checked the entire lenght of the muffler pipe and there's no oxygen sensor, so can this cause all of my proplems? im lost right now and dont know where to start to fix there probs any help will be greatly appreciated. car is a ae 101 with a 20v silvertop

Postby buzz » June 5th, 2009, 5:33 pm

tried a transmission mech?

Postby Hook » June 6th, 2009, 9:17 am

lol...I read that whole thing and heard a little whiny voice in my head saying the words :lol:

anyways.... subzero8714, the missing o2 sensor isn't a big dead...it'll only make u burn a lil extra fuel cuz the ECU isn't getting an o2 signal to gauge the mix, so it'll just dump fuel just in case so that it doesn't run lean...it can't ever cause a problem like that

see here on how to find the error code for your transmission
http://forums.trinituner.com/forums/vie ... =diagnosis

just join TE1 and E1 on your diagnostic port and then turn your key to the IGN or ON position (not to start the car) and count the flashes from the O/D OFF light
I suspect you'll get an error code 63 (solenoid 2) as I've seen this problem before...unfortunately S2 is inside the tranny, so a rebuild is needed to solve that
but hopefully it's just a plug on the tranny that wiggled out

subzero8714

Postby subzero8714 » June 24th, 2009, 12:30 pm

hey buzz i tried a transmission mech and he said buy a tranny but i thought there had to be more to it, but thanx anyway.

hook i did what u said and sure enough i got a error 63 from the overdrive light, problem is now i cant get the solenoid to buy alone the wanna sell the whole tranny so im still looking for one. next i did the check engine light thing and got speed sensor errors & o2 errors, i checked the sensor on the tranny and sure enough it was unplugged so i reinserted it but im still not getting any speedometer readings but anyway that sensor problem has been eliminated, now i bought a 4 wire o2 sensor and had it put in the exhaust pipe but i dont know how to hook up the wires, on the harness side there is a blk with red stripe which is 12volt, a blk that appears to be ground, a red with blk stripe which has 1volt and a pink with blk stripe no voltage. on the sensor side there are 2 blk for sensor heater, a green and a white, so u know how to connect them? every electrician i've been to either dont know or dont have the time to do it and the car burning alot of gas, thanx

Postby Hook » June 24th, 2009, 12:42 pm

no luck on the solenoid 2 find buddy...you're gonna hafta either rebuild or replace

about no speedo, even tho the plug is back in, have an electrician check the wiring and make sure the speedo on teh dash in connected

I'll hafta check back my stuff at home but def the two black on teh sensor are heater...not absolutely certain on the green and white, but one's signal from teh sensor and one's ground...this type of sensor will not work properly on your engine, as your sensor requires a 1V reference voltage from the ECU instead of a ground

this is the sensor u need
AE101 O2 Sensor part number : 89465-19495 or 89465-12290

on your harness, two wires are heater, one's a +1V reference voltage and the other is the sensor input...I'll get the colour codes and know which is which for you hopefully this evening

Postby foss » June 24th, 2009, 2:05 pm

my head hurts reading this.. see what happens when you try to learn :arrow:

subzero8714

Postby subzero8714 » June 26th, 2009, 9:37 am

ok where can i get one of these o2 sensors? tttl has it for like $2086.00 :shock: also there is no connector on the o2 harness so i'll have to get the male and female connectors as well. any ideas?

Zeriam

Postby Zeriam » June 26th, 2009, 9:50 am

my 20v does not have the o2 sensor and it does not bug me at all

subzero8714

Postby subzero8714 » June 26th, 2009, 9:56 am

well mines pissing me off, especially at the gas station, the muffler always black and when ah rev up alot of black ting pelting out the muffler :x

subzero8714

Postby subzero8714 » June 26th, 2009, 9:57 am

Zeriam by the way wah part ah movant u from? i living movant too

Zeriam

Postby Zeriam » June 26th, 2009, 10:10 am

paradise heights i'm current back and forth between there and central.

Zeriam

Postby Zeriam » June 26th, 2009, 10:11 am

subzero8714 wrote:well mines pissing me off, especially at the gas station, the muffler always black and when ah rev up alot of black ting pelting out the muffler :x
cant get away from dat lol mines does the same thing but i live with it

Postby Hook » June 26th, 2009, 10:36 am

^^^ mine doesn't :|

subzero8714 wrote:ok where can i get one of these o2 sensors? tttl has it for like $2086.00 :shock: also there is no connector on the o2 harness so i'll have to get the male and female connectors as well. any ideas?

NASSCO in B'dos has 'em...equivalent price is summin like ~$1500TT

u can look at some universal sensors from Denso and Bosch and see if u can get an equivalent and save even more....I was going this route but I got lucky and scored an original 2-1 downpipe with the sensor intact so I didn't bother to search anymore

just don't go for the ones with the gnd wire...they operate differently by comparing inside and outside O2 levels (hence the four holes on the butt of the sensor by the wires )whilst Toyota's sensor compares it to the 1V reference voltage

check GPS or ADAH303 on the forum, they had a stock of different types of Denso universal 4-wire sensors for different applications last I checked...priced less than $700 if I remember correctly

Zeriam

Postby Zeriam » June 26th, 2009, 10:44 am

Hook,hadda remember when last i had my car too eh :mrgreen:

subzero8714

Postby subzero8714 » June 30th, 2009, 12:16 pm

Zeriam wrote:paradise heights i'm current back and forth between there and central.

i live at d junction, u must have see my car parked there in front the old shop on the lady young road, its a green 101 with clear taillights.

Zeriam

Postby Zeriam » June 30th, 2009, 12:20 pm

subzero8714 wrote:
Zeriam wrote:paradise heights i'm current back and forth between there and central.

i live at d junction, u must have see my car parked there in front the old shop on the lady young road, its a green 101 with clear taillights.
i've seen it b4, next time i'm around i'll stop and hail yuh out.

subzero8714

Postby subzero8714 » June 30th, 2009, 12:24 pm

Hook, ah get a original 4 wire toyota sensor from d bamboo, when ah hook up d signal wires on oxl1 = 1volt and ox = signal, voltage spiking between 6 and 10 volts, and i tried 2 different 20v ecu's, now i know this can't be right, any ideas? or a number for a bess toyota electritian

Postby Hook » June 30th, 2009, 2:50 pm

u sure u got 'em right?

here's the colour code from a buddy of mine who does custom harnesses for engine swaps un the US

black/red to 12v heater
pink/blk to 12v heater
black to signal wire (usually blue/green on universal sensor)
red/blk to ground

subzero8714

Postby subzero8714 » July 1st, 2009, 12:11 pm

na boi hook still not working, cant afford to buy a harness right now, pressure

Postby Hook » July 1st, 2009, 1:00 pm

you need from the harness plug or from the sensor? I may have a sensor plug somewhere still....if not, I guess you'll hafta solder then directly till u can find one

subzero8714

Postby subzero8714 » July 1st, 2009, 1:25 pm

i need the harness side plug to see exactly which wire goes where, its a female, my sensor already has the male plug, they can connect together only 1 way. soldering the wires is what i wanted to do, but either the colour configuration is wrong or who ever wired the engine did it wrong or something. i called m tech, he said the harness sold already.

by the way thanx for your patience and all your help so far, this is my first time owning a toyota and first time with fuel injectors, sensors etc. so im now learning :oops:

Postby Hook » July 1st, 2009, 2:43 pm

thas cool man, we all brothers in this Toyota ting and none of us started out knowing what we know just like that...we're willing to help where we can

I have a harness that I used to trace wires and pull plugs from when I was re-wiring mine properly but I lent it to CorollaGT a couple years ago and never saw it since....and he's the hardest man to get in contact with on the forums

if I get thru with it, the socket's all yours....it's just a matter of getting it back :|

subzero8714

Postby subzero8714 » July 6th, 2009, 12:42 pm

well if u get it back i'll appreciate it thanx. in d meantime i finally figured out which wire goes where, but this is whats happening, when i start the car and let idle till temp gauge reach half, ( have a pro sport analog a/f gauge, smoke series ) by the way, a/f gauge reading constant dead lean, no movement of needle, when ah start driving needle slowly goes to optimal, normal driving, x to board it goes up dead rich, after that i will let it idle and it will slowly go back down to dead lean and stay there until ah start driving again. i know its reading wrong, what u think?

Return to “TOYOTA”