WTK Starlet Conversion

It's all about 4AGE, NZE, 3SGTE, 1JZ, 2JZ etc.

reddo_tuner

Postby reddo_tuner » July 10th, 2008, 9:55 pm

welcome to the brotherhood!

squares

Postby squares » July 11th, 2008, 8:13 am

yea welcome, you have a real nice engine to play wit. easy to mod too :)

jm3

Postby jm3 » July 12th, 2008, 4:38 pm

im just finishing up having a 4e turbo put into my peugeot 307 its cost about 15k so far to do and taken about 3 weeks of work from my mechanic

reddo_tuner

Postby reddo_tuner » July 12th, 2008, 7:08 pm

ok cool, what have you done so far, ne pics to share to see what she looks like?

Zeriam

Postby Zeriam » July 12th, 2008, 7:49 pm

jm3,auto or manual?

solo

Postby solo » July 15th, 2008, 8:12 am

squares wrote:yea welcome, you have a real nice engine to play wit. easy to mod too :)

This is where i'll need some advice Squares. The engine was recently installed, everything stock and i'm nowhere near impressed with it's performance. I know it's no rocket, but for a boosted car this thing should be performing better.
I was thinking of first starting with an aftermarket BOV, maybe turning up the boost safely, correct set of spark plugs, and a 2 1/2 inch exhaust system....
I'll be doing a search online for modification info, but if you guys have sites saved in your favorites that would save me some time....

This AE92 was bought with coil overs and i'm gonna change them to some drop springs and shocks the first chance I get...Also I'll be looking into Starlet front spindles with rotors and calipers as it has Levin rear disc brakes that are bigger than the front.
Any help in the right direction would be greatly appreciated.
Also i'll be soon attending the Toyo meets you post here,...to meet the pack nah.

squares

Postby squares » July 15th, 2008, 10:39 am

solo wrote:
squares wrote:yea welcome, you have a real nice engine to play wit. easy to mod too :)

This is where i'll need some advice Squares. The engine was recently installed, everything stock and i'm nowhere near impressed with it's performance. I know it's no rocket, but for a boosted car this thing should be performing better.
I was thinking of first starting with an aftermarket BOV, maybe turning up the boost safely, correct set of spark plugs, and a 2 1/2 inch exhaust system....
I'll be doing a search online for modification info, but if you guys have sites saved in your favorites that would save me some time....

This AE92 was bought with coil overs and i'm gonna change them to some drop springs and shocks the first chance I get...Also I'll be looking into Starlet front spindles with rotors and calipers as it has Levin rear disc brakes that are bigger than the front.
Also i'll be soon attending the Toyo meets you post here,...to meet the pack nah.

well i aint no mech but i think since you recently installed the engine you should try simple stuff first like sum plugs(i use 7's irridium), clean out the trottle body, service injectors, cone filter an a boost controller. This should make a significant difference if you said the car is lazy.
Sum sites you can check are
www.toyotogtturbo.com or
www.wheelsjamaica.com

Dem fellas real sick wit starlet but until u ready to do serious mods the stuff i said earlier will help out.

reddo_tuner

Postby reddo_tuner » July 15th, 2008, 11:11 am

squares wrote:
solo wrote:

well i aint no mech but i think since you recently installed the engine you should try simple stuff first like sum plugs(i use 7's irridium), clean out the trottle body, service injectors, cone filter an a boost controller. This should make a significant difference if you said the car is lazy.
Sum sites you can check are
www.toyotogtturbo.com or
www.wheelsjamaica.com

Dem fellas real sick wit starlet but until u ready to do serious mods the stuff i said earlier will help out.

hmmmmmmm.. this sounds really strange, my own is stock and i havent even finished my exhaust and she's a big difference from any non-turbo car. try some of the stuff squares said and see if that makes a difference 8-)

zryfle

Postby zryfle » July 16th, 2008, 1:23 pm

small thing man that can be fixed.Well how far u reach with the project .

jm3

Postby jm3 » July 21st, 2008, 2:41 pm

auto box at the mo its now very nearly finished all the mechanical side is done ran into a few snags along the way radiator had to be custom made accelerator cable needed to be fitted as the pugt was electronic im hoping it will be finished in a week depending on how good the electrical guy is ill take some pics when i go see the car on wednesday to get it transported

4eterc

Postby 4eterc » September 18th, 2008, 5:02 pm

we back in business fellas

4eterc

Postby 4eterc » September 18th, 2008, 5:03 pm

before

after

zryfle

aye dred

Postby zryfle » September 18th, 2008, 8:07 pm

looking good .now is just little upgrade and u woking .U upgrade your breaks if not u should .Get rear disc breaks and bigger front breaks as well. If u need some give a buzz I can help yuh get it at great prices.

Like what u did . makes me feel good that i have one look down

Image[/url]

4eterc

Postby 4eterc » September 18th, 2008, 9:16 pm

yeah yeah. thanks man cool no problem i will link up

4eterc

Postby 4eterc » September 20th, 2008, 1:56 pm

fellas i have a question
what is this and can it be replaced?

the clip broke off in mine

reddo_tuner

Postby reddo_tuner » September 21st, 2008, 2:18 pm

hadda check that in my engine, nice to see the project coming along..

KTS

Postby KTS » September 22nd, 2008, 6:50 pm

air intake temp unit? or is d air intake temp unit under d top left of d intercooler not sure

jm3

Postby jm3 » September 23rd, 2008, 11:31 pm

thats what u said it was on mine lol

reddo_tuner

Postby reddo_tuner » October 7th, 2008, 10:27 am

HEY! what's the status buddy!

squares

Postby squares » October 8th, 2008, 1:26 pm

yea wats up wit this project?

4eterc

Postby 4eterc » October 9th, 2008, 10:45 am

update :
engine wired up
did the exhaust- 2" by kamus in barataria, cost 900 w/o barrel

still neeed gauges, timer, air filter etc

but seems to be in good working order so far, pulling nice

4eterc

Postby 4eterc » October 9th, 2008, 10:49 am

also i have a question about the axles, the guy who drop in my engine said the starlet axles would not work on my car. could someone tell me why?

right now i have the stock tercel axles but therre leaking something, someone told me it was not greased properly

zryfle

aye

Postby zryfle » October 9th, 2008, 5:04 pm

the starlet axcle will not work because there are three types of axcle in that model car .To use the starlet axcles u have to use the starlet spindles ,because of the outer cup is a smaller splines that why it will not work in the tercel spindles .I when through that already right now I am using starlet spindles ep91 glanza . Give a buzz if need any help locating the spindles .

reddo_tuner

Postby reddo_tuner » October 10th, 2008, 8:03 am

zryfle,look for a speedometer cable for meh nah. the rolla men was saying that the AE80-110 should work on the tercel. Thanks!

zryfle

aye

Postby zryfle » October 11th, 2008, 8:52 am

my speedo cable damaged and could get any so I when d village in elsocorrro
and bought a 2e cable right now that what I am using It fit but a little modification have to be done .The cable is HALF inch longer so I just nip off the the excess and it woking.The price I paid for it was $80 dollars.

Return to “TOYOTA”