QUESTION FOR ALLYUH AE80 OWNERS

It's all about 4AGE, NZE, 3SGTE, 1JZ, 2JZ etc.

tko

QUESTION FOR ALLYUH AE80 OWNERS

Postby tko » August 6th, 2007, 4:09 pm

i recently bought an AE80 it has an 3A carb. engine in it i would like to know a couple of thing about this engine:-

1. someone told me that this is a rear wheel drive engine because of the placement of the distributor etc. is this true?

2. what maintenance does this engine requires in terms of oil, plugs filters etc.

3. are parts easy to locate for these engines, car etc.

4. the car is rather high right now what are the best size rims and tyres that i can use to fill that space without compromising the ride i am getting right now?

also the tranny mount bust and in my search for one they are telling me there are two kinds a slim and broad one but none matches what i have right now, is it true that these engines also comes in charmant if so should i be looking for a charmant tranny mount?

much thanks.

smokey1275

Postby smokey1275 » August 6th, 2007, 5:18 pm

Charmants are reaer wheel drive so that trans. mount will not work . The 3A engine is from what i know , available in only front drive layout.Where are you from.

33 hertz

Postby 33 hertz » August 6th, 2007, 5:22 pm

To tell if the car is rear wheel drive u need to check the placement of the engine. If it runs from the left side to the right side its front wheel, if it runs from the front of the car to the rear it is a rear wheel drive. Regular maintenance, I change my oil and filters every 3 months and plugs every year. Parts are pretty easy to find, check bobbys in bamboo for mounts and i wont go bigger than 15". :fadein:

tko

Postby tko » August 6th, 2007, 5:23 pm

I'm from arima side so you'll have to excuse my ignorance, i just asking from what i heard these engines however are new to me, so what you saying is that i would be able to get the original mount for the tranny?

tko

Postby tko » August 6th, 2007, 5:27 pm

33 hertz

thanks for the advice, the engine runs from left side to right side. so i guess it front wheel drive. :)

smokey1275

Postby smokey1275 » August 6th, 2007, 6:39 pm

correct is right , what are your plans with the car?

Zeriam

Postby Zeriam » August 6th, 2007, 7:23 pm

i wont go bigger than 15

this is true but some people have 17's

tko

Postby tko » August 6th, 2007, 7:46 pm

what are your plans with the car?

Not sure yet. car work very good apart from the mount bust and the vibration ah getting from it. just a lil tint and some rims and ah on, might sell cause the wife doh like the color and she want something newer.

southside crew

Postby southside crew » August 6th, 2007, 8:54 pm

Yes there are also RWD to these engines..

not saying yours is.. but just letting you know..

Return to “TOYOTA”