WTK - engine for RX60 cressida

It's all about 4AGE, NZE, 3SGTE, 1JZ, 2JZ etc.

kgp721

WTK - engine for RX60 cressida

Postby kgp721 » May 16th, 2007, 11:08 am

Hi all, my friend has an RX60 cressida and it's an old faithful for her. The engine was either an 18R or 21R, not too sure. Timing belt burst and the engine is in really bad condition. The mechanic advised for the engine to be changed. Can anyone recommend what she should get for the car?
1. engine to work with current tranny
2. engine and tranny

:D Thanks in advance

cutthroatInt

Postby cutthroatInt » May 20th, 2007, 9:47 pm

dem engines hav timing chain... hardly likely dat burst.

but if engine in bad condition, u cud get another 21R. hav some selling around the place.

got one in tops condition. serviced carb yesterday. may be selling.

trinilife

Postby trinilife » May 21st, 2007, 8:33 am

you could use a 1g engine and tranny,you can get one in the bamboo.Fuel injected works like a dream ,have one in my rx70.

thegtiman

Re: WTK - engine for RX60 cressida

Postby thegtiman » May 29th, 2007, 4:39 am

kgp721 wrote:Hi all, my friend has an RX60 cressida and it's an old faithful for her. The engine was either an 18R or 21R, not too sure. Timing belt burst and the engine is in really bad condition. The mechanic advised for the engine to be changed. Can anyone recommend what she should get for the car?
2. engine and tranny

:D Thanks in advance

Had an Early 1982 GL (imported). When the original 21R motor started stripping exhaust manifold studs and smoking we installed a JDM 21R-U motor and 4speed O/D autobox and reused the original inlet and exhaust.
R series motors have timing chains.
It may be easier to rebuild this motor as a replacement would very hard to locate. RX70 21Rs are slighty different but can work on the bellhousing.
You can also use the larger 22R motor as used in the RB1* Coaster or RX80 Cressida. The older 18R motor can also work.
The other alternative would be to install, as I did years ago a 1G series motor. The engine has been around for a long time ( Last used in the GXE10) and has been used in the JDM GX61 in both FE and GE spec. This has more electric involvement as it is an EFI type motor.
Hope this helps.

droppa

Postby droppa » May 29th, 2007, 9:59 am

if that is the option then jus remove and replace with the same 21R, there is one on the forums for sale with some modifications right now........

2. engine and tranny
there are alot of combinations that can work on a RX60
TOYOTA 1G, 7M, 3S, 1J, 2J and even a few more rare items

NISSAN SR20, RB20/25, CA18/20, Z18/20

then there are deisel options, Toyota 1C, 2C, 3C, 2L, 3L

Nissan LD20-II, TD25/27

hoss it have real engine yuh boi cud put in.....

depends on his criteria, price, needs, all what he wants...

droppa

Postby droppa » May 29th, 2007, 3:40 pm

he even ah V8 cud fit too

droppa

Postby droppa » May 29th, 2007, 3:40 pm

he even ah V8 cud fit too

Postby Razkal » September 9th, 2010, 3:22 pm

Postby Razkal » September 9th, 2010, 4:42 pm

1JZGE (auto)

straightforward swap once you have a proper complete harness and functioning electronics on the motor (i.e. all working sensors), a proper harness can be had easily of ebay for eg. if bamboo doesn't treat you well. (you can get all the ecus, harness', sensors actually...not pocket busting and usually less troublesome than beat out scrappy bamboo harness')

only additions: 4 core metal rad, twin electric fans, cone-shaped filter...now its more cylindrical...dog pee'd on the cone :/

works like a charm, hauls that wagon like a paperweight in a slingshot...maybe a lil less but you get the idea, tons more fun than the old 21R...also!...very very good on gas...actually it gets the same mileage as my corolla 1.6, almost 400km to a tank.

it'll be a very very good idea to get some sort of brake upgrade going if your options include significantly more powerful engine swaps...this measly 1JZ n/a laughs raucously at the attempts of rear drums and factory discs

the one pictured belongs to my old man, i also have one, same specs basically, except i attempted to have the entire rear MKiii rear subframe installed...still working that out, it's all lined up and been driving awhile now save for ridculous bound/rebound disagreement in the rear, caused by slightly angled mounting of shocks (stupid wagon chassis..)...it seems the only fix to be removing it entirely (again), mocking up some mounting points and visiting a good fabricator....i wanna get it working, i intend to keep it n/a, hopefully a peppier version of its currently unboosted self, and hopefully end the slow evolution like build with something worthy of japnostalgic car.com :)

Return to “TOYOTA”