4 age or 4 efte

It's all about 4AGE, NZE, 3SGTE, 1JZ, 2JZ etc.

33 hertz

4 age or 4 efte

Postby 33 hertz » April 11th, 2007, 6:36 pm

looking to install one of these in a ae 80. Car currently has a 3e engine and box. Which one of these engines would fit with less modifications and who is a reliable person to do the swap? electrical and mechanical. Any help would be greatly appreciated.

mrboxman

Postby mrboxman » April 11th, 2007, 10:28 pm

the 4efte wud fit without mods as far as i know
jus drop it in wire up and u got boost yo

other than that depends on what u want the car to do
are u planning on modding the engine etc?

Terran

Postby Terran » April 12th, 2007, 8:37 am

Yes, I believe the 4E-FTE would be a simple swap... the mounting positions on the 4A-GE (20-valve) are not the same and you would require modifications.

Bear in mind that a 4A-GE would put serious licks on a 4E-FTE, though. So before you invest in one of these engines, you should have a realistic goal of what you want to achieve with your car and find the engine/application that best gears you towards achieving that goal.

TRD_FACTORY

Postby TRD_FACTORY » April 12th, 2007, 10:07 am

The codes tell you everything. If you had a 3A well any of the 'A' series would be a simple swap!! (2A,4AF/G,5AF,7AF) but you had an 'E' series so the 4EFTE would be bolt for bolt. Not to sure that a 4EFTE would beat up on a 4age!! Remember that there are three generations 16v 4age and two generations 20v. The stock 20v versions should beat the 4EFTE. The 3rd gen 16v 4age would have a slight advantage, but the models may struggle for a victory. The 4agze will beat all comers hands up, down or out !!!

KE70corolla

Postby KE70corolla » April 12th, 2007, 11:14 am

how bout u get a 4agze..remove the supercharger and slap on a turbo on it...u got a tough bottom-end with high boost....now ur a KILLLLLLLLLLLAH....run some of them HUNDAHHH folks..

Postby gt4tified » April 12th, 2007, 2:32 pm

KE70corolla wrote:how bout u get a 4agze..remove the supercharger and slap on a turbo on it...u got a tough bottom-end with high boost....now ur a KILLLLLLLLLLLAH....run some of them HUNDAHHH folks..

Little be known, you don't have to remove anything....just add the turbocharger. The 4agze is however capable of a very disturbing 10psi on stock internals.

KE70corolla

Postby KE70corolla » April 12th, 2007, 3:56 pm

gt4tified,so u have a turbo supercharged 4agze??....like the march super turbocharged??

Terran

Postby Terran » April 12th, 2007, 4:44 pm

TRD_FACTORY wrote:The codes tell you everything. If you had a 3A well any of the 'A' series would be a simple swap!! (2A,4AF/G,5AF,7AF) but you had an 'E' series so the 4EFTE would be bolt for bolt. Not to sure that a 4EFTE would beat up on a 4age!! Remember that there are three generations 16v 4age and two generations 20v. The stock 20v versions should beat the 4EFTE. The 3rd gen 16v 4age would have a slight advantage, but the models may struggle for a victory. The 4agze will beat all comers hands up, down or out !!!

The 20V 4AGE will conquer a 4EFTE. Been there, done that. :lol: BAD BAD BAD BAD BAD.

The 4AGZE will smash the 20V into oblivion like how South Africa put it on West Indies. BAD BAD BAD BAD BAD. Been there and got my arse soundly and properly cut! :oops:

Aarong420

Postby Aarong420 » April 12th, 2007, 6:34 pm

^^^, fo rizeal....should of gone GZE :(....
oh BTW, what u call super turbo charged..lol...is known as twin charged...both supercharger and turbo.

33 hertz

Postby 33 hertz » April 12th, 2007, 7:52 pm

all i intend on doing to the 4efte is adding a boost controller, SAFC2 and a walbro fuel pump. Hoping to run a high 15 sec with the car, how realistic youall think that is? and how much would it cost to install and where can i get it done? preferably someone who did this type of swap before

33 hertz

Postby 33 hertz » April 12th, 2007, 7:56 pm

the only reason i leaning towards the 4efte is because my mech told me that 4 age parts getting kinda hard to source and it would be easier to install the 4efte. what are youall thought on this :?:

Terran

Postby Terran » April 13th, 2007, 8:22 am

I will agree: 4A parts can be a challenge to source locally. I always check Toyota Trinidad for parts when I have problems, and there's usually no problem. You just have to brace for the prices.

Postby gt4tified » April 13th, 2007, 9:04 am

33 hertz wrote:all i intend on doing to the 4efte is adding a boost controller, SAFC2 and a walbro fuel pump. Hoping to run a high 15 sec with the car, how realistic youall think that is? and how much would it cost to install and where can i get it done? preferably someone who did this type of swap before

4efte parts are no walk in the park to get either....actually, depending on where you search, the 20v OEM parts are not hard to get at all.

With the 4efte, you may just have to do like I did and buy another blown engine for parts.

conswaylos
Location: behaving.....don't wanna get ban for ah nex 2 weeks(on d otherhand 2lick lol)

Postby conswaylos » April 13th, 2007, 11:41 am

4 age over 4efte anyday cause i had both in my car and the 4a out perform the 4e.
well the 4e will bolt up direct bolt for bolt and for a lil more torqueeee feel in your car you could leave the 3e gear box which has ah closer gear ratio. so basically all you have to do is jus buy ah complet engine take your engine alone out and then bolt up new engine and wire u and you good to go. and with what you say you wanna do with the engine your could easily be in mid or even low 15 with good driving.
if you want ah link up for ppl who does install this type of engine regular give me ah call and they also very reasonable and well experience in toyota.
771 4028
navin

33 hertz

Postby 33 hertz » April 14th, 2007, 4:15 pm

My mech was saying that most of the 4efte parts are the same as the tercel parts is this true? Also i kinda confused bout the perfomance of the 20v cuz my bro has a sir with 5 fwd b16a with just minor mods and he ran many 20v both black and silver top and they couldnt catch him. He makes a high 15 sec pass so if the 4efte with the safc, boost controller and fuel pump can run a low 15 then it will most likely outperform a stock 20v?

KE70corolla

Postby KE70corolla » April 14th, 2007, 7:46 pm

my bro has a sir with 5 fwd b16a with just minor mods and he ran many 20v both black and silver top and they couldnt catch him.

those kinda cars are hard to beat unless ur pumping a turbo engine or a highly modded NA beast....SIRs got VTEC and all that sheit with DOHC BLAH BLAH....a 20V with VVT comes with like 160HP or thereabout which is less than the SIRs (i think)...a guy on the 3rd issue of sixth sense has a B12A engine (DOHC) with VTEC AND turbo...they say the turbo kicks in at 3000RPM then the VTEC at 5000RPM so u getting kickASRE twice lol.....if u got a VVL or SR20DET or modded CA18det then run ur BRO....the 4efte CANNNNNOT pass an SIR..sorry.....u can may be and i stress on MAY BE run a STOCK STOCK 20V which has back pressure,one of the injector not working, old spark plugs and running on a nearly empty tank of fuel.....

Postby Hook » April 14th, 2007, 9:00 pm

u can may be and i stress on MAY BE run a STOCK STOCK 20V which has back pressure,one of the injector not working, old spark plugs and running on a nearly empty tank of fuel.....

hear all dem conditions :lol:

doh 4get d 20V tranny hadda be slippin and car full of passengers :lol:

Terran

Postby Terran » April 15th, 2007, 1:11 pm

Well, I've heard Starlets parts can drop into the Tercel engine - either the 2E or 3E, but I haven't seen this.

And when and where is there a stock B16A that can beat a stock 20V? This I gotta see, because not one of them ever beat me.

Postby AllTrac » April 15th, 2007, 1:28 pm

Terran wrote:The 20V 4AGE will conquer a 4EFTE. Been there, done that. :lol: BAD BAD BAD BAD BAD.

eh heh?? ah have 4efte for u to mash up bad bad bad, it in ah lil blue starlet, small mods :twisted:

Terran

Postby Terran » April 16th, 2007, 9:27 am

That is the first thing all yuh does say... "small mods".

I coming... as soon as ah done meh tune up!

omegajedi

Postby omegajedi » April 16th, 2007, 4:14 pm

Will i get a 4AGE to fit in a Starlet? And if so how much modification will have to be done? Which one has a faster acceleration??

redo23

Postby redo23 » April 16th, 2007, 5:00 pm

no way a stock sir can beat a stock20v...i have a 20v b/top and it does real wok..(the blue corolla ae111)..put in a blacktop 20v in the AE80 and you`ll like yuhself..i get 15.5 from mines and it is dead stock..try it!!

Postby AllTrac » April 16th, 2007, 11:21 pm

Terran wrote:That is the first thing all yuh does say... "small mods".

no hoss, it stock as a rock :oops:

Fanerzz n/a

Postby Fanerzz n/a » April 17th, 2007, 12:42 am

what better in d long run for a 2000 model accent..d 4age or d 4efte??? was thinkin of d 4age ..cuz is n/a ..but i was wonderin wat mods..suspension wise and brakes wise would have to b done..i have like ah 9k budget,not including labour fees..what u'll think should b done...wanna go toyota!!!! :lol:

Terran

Postby Terran » April 17th, 2007, 9:02 am

AllTrac wrote:
Terran wrote:That is the first thing all yuh does say... "small mods".

no hoss, it stock as a rock :oops:

Should I walk with a pack of curry powder, some hot peppers and my iron pot? Because this already starting to sound as if your goose done cook. :lol:

Terran

Postby Terran » April 17th, 2007, 9:31 am

Fanerzz n/a wrote:what better in d long run for a 2000 model accent..d 4age or d 4efte??? was thinkin of d 4age ..cuz is n/a ..but i was wonderin wat mods..suspension wise and brakes wise would have to b done..i have like ah 9k budget,not including labour fees..what u'll think should b done...wanna go toyota!!!! :lol:

With a budget of $9K, you may not be able to get the 4AGE complete and successfully installed. That should cover you for the 4EFTE, and I don't think any immediate upgrades would be required thereafter, like brakes and suspension.

33 hertz

Postby 33 hertz » April 17th, 2007, 3:51 pm

What is the price of the 20v black top vs the 4efte we talking complete engine, harness and ecu. And how much boost does a stock 4efte run?

Terran

Postby Terran » April 17th, 2007, 4:16 pm

I never pursued a 4EFTE, but a 4AGE could run you into $7,000 - $8,000 for the engine and transmission - COMPLETE. Installation and wiring may cost an additional $2,000 - $3,000 - depending on the need for fabrications.

33 hertz

Postby 33 hertz » April 17th, 2007, 4:22 pm

so $8000 for engine, box, harness and ecu. Is this the one with vvt?

Terran

Postby Terran » April 17th, 2007, 4:27 pm

AND axles.

That would be the average price of a 4AGE Blacktop 20V.

Return to “TOYOTA”