The comprehensive 4age thread

It's all about 4AGE, NZE, 3SGTE, 1JZ, 2JZ etc.

Postby Team Loco » March 17th, 2007, 10:42 pm

When I imported my ae111 with the 20 valve and 6 f box, it came with some nice gas. After 6000Rpm it would spit fire like crazy and had the amazing popping sound. Sweet!

smokey1275

Postby smokey1275 » March 18th, 2007, 1:09 am

you can say that again loco , it screams like mad ehh

smokey1275

Postby smokey1275 » March 18th, 2007, 9:31 pm

Does the toyota efi system for the injectors on the 4A-ge run seqential or batch fire ?

Aarong420

Postby Aarong420 » March 18th, 2007, 9:55 pm

my own dont pop :( even with a 2.25" strait pipe. I fine it real sluggish doe. sometimes when i have my foot on the gas in one place, it would all of a sudden start to go faster. maby the injectors need some serious cleaning...how to clean the side feeds?

Aarong420

Postby Aarong420 » March 18th, 2007, 10:00 pm

good question.
i gotta clean mine, is there any way i can take them out and run them on some sourt of set up? since there side feed i cant seem to find a way to build pressure around it to clean it like top feed injectors.

highoctane

Postby highoctane » March 18th, 2007, 10:27 pm

I TURBOCHARGED MY 20V RUNS GREAT AND IT POP POP POPS ALOT HAHAHAHAA!!!!!

pbf1940

Postby pbf1940 » March 19th, 2007, 1:55 am

^^^octane did you use the hks kit or you put down a 'reliable' frankenstein?

Terran

Postby Terran » March 19th, 2007, 10:35 am

Yeah, I get the popping now and then, delicately... not loud and scaring the sheit out of people... and mine is auto and doh get regular roughing up. I also get it with the ZE - without boost. I do believe the engines run slightly rich.

Stuckindmud

4AGE head on 4AFE block?

Postby Stuckindmud » March 19th, 2007, 12:20 pm

Will it work and what are the pros and cons?..
Any suggestions are welcome...

Krakkle

Postby Krakkle » March 19th, 2007, 12:34 pm

[spoiler]
Last edited by Krakkle on March 21st, 2007, 12:11 pm, edited 4 times in total.

Aarong420

Postby Aarong420 » March 19th, 2007, 3:44 pm

is the blacktop fuel regulator any different to the ST? I just got my hands on a blacktop head and im thinking of doing some evil mods to the ST. hehehe !!! :twisted:

mrboxman

Postby mrboxman » March 19th, 2007, 4:03 pm

yes it supposed to work
pros u ll prolly get a lil increase
cons it ll cost some change remember youd probably have to use the 4age harness for it to work

imho id go with a full swap

smokey1275

Postby smokey1275 » March 19th, 2007, 8:07 pm

the 4afe and the 4AGe has the same bore and stroke , except the 'G" in GE stands for wide angle sports cam . the Fe is narow angle cam drive tuned for economy not speed.The first generation engines have narrower crankshaft journals as compared to the later type and GZe's that have a 2mm thicker journal area. :idea: intelligent of toyota to give us a widder bearing suface to whelp with an oiling area for hi =Rpm pulling, not mention clearances.

Tsuchiya

Postby Tsuchiya » March 19th, 2007, 10:01 pm

imho id go with a full swap

the 4afe aint weak...it jus ain't a 4ag, it's the "lil" sister of the bunch :lol:

highoctane

Postby highoctane » March 19th, 2007, 10:46 pm

used the HKS lowering gasket added fuel regulator ,bigger injectors, blaster coil,T 25 turbo ,TURBONETICS BOLW OFF ,HKS INTERCOOLER, upgraded to ACT package , ohhh ! and my entire engine and piping is totally chromed :twisted: SHE RUNS SWEET @ ONLY 10lbs boost :lol:

TeamH2O

20 Valve Idling Poor

Postby TeamH2O » March 20th, 2007, 6:11 am

What could cause a 20 valve to just suddenly start to idle poorly and cut off all the time? You have to hold the brakes and press the gas a lil so it doh cut off when driving :? When it idling by itself, it at like 2-300rpm. If you hold the rpms till 900 or 1100, it sounding like it have aftermarket cams :lol:

Anyone? Plugs?, Gas Filter?, Plug Wires?, Air Leak?, Airflow?

Also inside the car, when you driving and let off the gas, you hearing air releasing like it inside the car. :?

drunk24-7

Postby drunk24-7 » March 20th, 2007, 8:13 am

this might be a hunch, but when my 20 valve was operating like that, it was due to a stuck valve and a broken spring. do a compression test on every cylinder, and check to see if you are firing on all cylinders.

Postby gt4tified » March 20th, 2007, 9:07 am

Aarong420 wrote:gt4 whos got the turbo kit for the 20v?

riva racing....$4k was the price I think!

TeamH2O

Postby TeamH2O » March 20th, 2007, 11:42 am

fixed it! was the air sound i was hearing, a nipple on the big silver plastic kinda air box intake was broken off, used steel epoxy to stick it back on with a new vacum hose and it works perfect.

Aarong420

Postby Aarong420 » March 20th, 2007, 12:02 pm

sounds like a nicee setup there dude...
where did u get the HKS gasket to buy?, and do you know how much if any, does it drops the ratio?. and are u running some kinda piggy back or standalone?

Stuckindmud

Postby Stuckindmud » March 20th, 2007, 1:01 pm

Thanks , where can i get one now?? :) is the tranny the same on the FE and the auto GE ? i`d prefer a box but i`ve got a trans in the car now
Engine and gearbox anyone???

shakeedrake@hotmail.com

W.T.K. 4age gearbox

Postby shakeedrake@hotmail.com » March 20th, 2007, 1:06 pm

what will happen if i take out the six speed gear box and put a 5 speed gear box?

shakeedrake@hotmail.com

Postby shakeedrake@hotmail.com » March 20th, 2007, 4:24 pm

help me somebody help me

Postby gt4tified » March 20th, 2007, 4:51 pm

nothing....plenty ppl are doing it...you won't get that top end *ummph* but it will work.

Postby gt4tified » March 20th, 2007, 4:53 pm

Toyota are not well-known for fantastic frankensteins....at least those that last. Go with the full swap.

Aarong420

Postby Aarong420 » March 20th, 2007, 8:22 pm

4k, its alright. ill find my way around doing it the cheep way.

does anyone know if ae101 shock an spindle assembly fit onto a ae92 hatch?
some say yea an some say de 101 bigger?

conswaylos
Location: behaving.....don't wanna get ban for ah nex 2 weeks(on d otherhand 2lick lol)

Postby conswaylos » March 20th, 2007, 8:54 pm

yuh wanna get mean accel put d 3A gear box on it is about 800-1000 in bambo. it real working but top end is sheit but it accels fast.

spidervan

Postby spidervan » March 20th, 2007, 9:25 pm

brother leave the 6 speed it works great not because i have one i talkin from exper.. i race with it in circuit !

mrboxman

Postby mrboxman » March 20th, 2007, 10:00 pm

wait for it to break and then get the 5
doh make sense das a real nice box u have dere

Postby Maserati » March 20th, 2007, 11:09 pm

h2o wat u rollin in now?

Return to “TOYOTA”