1.6 roro NZE corolla fuel economy *HELP*

It's all about 4AGE, NZE, 3SGTE, 1JZ, 2JZ etc.

deens-von

Postby deens-von » January 25th, 2007, 6:55 am

Val wrote:Peeps with larger than stock rims on their rollas, any noticeable difference in performance and fuel economy?

well i had 16s.... but it wasnt automatic transmission..

i used to get like 375km on 3/4 tank...i had 2.5" piping from the manifold to the barrel and also had a short ram intake

bout the performance with the rims....before i had lowered my car..ride with the 16s was real good..smooth..

but when i lowered...it wasnt that bad..but could hav been better

Val

Postby Val » January 25th, 2007, 12:08 pm

^^^ was it an NZE Corolla?

seanf3000

Postby seanf3000 » January 25th, 2007, 1:50 pm

2.5" kinda big for a 1nz-fe yes. I think he has a 1zz? Or am I mistaken?

seanf3000

Postby seanf3000 » January 31st, 2007, 8:38 pm

Well yes......coming up on the old 100,000km marker. Must say.....wagon holding up like a champ.

:( :( *sniff* the fielder getting olddddddd!!!!

Val

Postby Val » February 2nd, 2007, 1:28 pm

I coming up on the 7000 kms marker :mrgreen:

future shop llc

Postby future shop llc » February 4th, 2007, 6:26 pm

JusIdle wrote:Here's how to calculate your gas mileage:

1) Go to the gas station and fill up the fuel tank.

2) Record the mileage, before even pulling away from the pump. We will call this Mileage A.

3) Drive normally until the tank is less than half full.

4) Fill up the tank again. This time, pay attention to how many litres it takes to fill up the tank. This is usually shown at the pump.

5) Record the mileage again, just like before. We will call this Mileage B.

6) Subtract Mileage A from Mileage B. This will give you the number of kilometers you drove since your last fill-up.

7) Divide your answer by the number of litres it took to fill up your tank. This will give you your car's kilometres/litre.

8) To convert to MPG, multiply it by 2.825

Let's all calculate our mileage and post it up here in this format:
2002 Impreza WRX
Stock turbo
21MPG

(Just an example...)

2000 Scooby FOZ@14PSI EJ205 2.0L 225/60/16(nitrogen Filled)
TD04-13g 200A Turbo
23.4MPG Avg. over 3mths on trini roads a/c always-on and WOT @ times on Highway.
60Litre fuel tank

The magic number for the turbo car is to stay below 3000RPM and/or 120KM then I get 25-26MPG Highway

Coolieboy

Postby Coolieboy » February 5th, 2007, 10:54 pm

i got the 1.5 VVT-i in my 2002 corolla and i go from san juan to couva and back every day and then school and after work lime and girldfriend and ting and i burn 1 tank (120) per week. My average speed on the highway is 100km/hr A/C right through. I run at 130km/hr at 3000 rpm. Fuel Economy is great. Take my stupid advice and throw ah bottle ah red line fuel system cleaner in yuh tank and continue to normally use it after. I never use gas without redline.

323_wagon_dude

Postby 323_wagon_dude » February 6th, 2007, 10:46 am

I about to reach 2000 km marker on the rolla. I get about 350Km for a 3/4 tank and thats with air condition on most times.

How much difference does the redline make?
Would redline work on a diesel engine?

art n motion

Postby art n motion » February 7th, 2007, 2:37 pm

I get about 350Km for a 3/4 tank and thats with air condition on most times.

I keep hearing these kinda mileage and wondering at what speeds you guys really drive :?: :shock:
Breds I get anywhere from 425 to 475 on half tank...yes 1/2 tank of premium gas.....and I'm yet to use the red line or any other fuel injection cleaner on the car :mrgreen:

future shop llc

Postby future shop llc » February 7th, 2007, 11:25 pm

Floor it like U stole it....280Km on $150 Peemium :twisted:

323_wagon_dude

Postby 323_wagon_dude » February 8th, 2007, 9:27 am

art n motion wrote:[I keep hearing these kinda mileage and wondering at what speeds you guys really drive :?: :shock:

Evening traffic to get home from POS. The once I had no traffic to deal with I got about 425 KM on a 1/2 tank... That was just the once though...

Someone told me the fuel consumption would be different based on certain options like sunroof, etc. This may also account for the varying figures

art n motion

Postby art n motion » February 8th, 2007, 11:01 am

Someone told me the fuel consumption would be different based on certain options like sunroof, etc. This may also account for the varying figures

really :?:
I thought it was based on driving styles, like speed and things like traffic and servicing of the vehicle and stuff like that :|

flatline
3NE 2NR Spannerator

Postby flatline » February 8th, 2007, 11:32 am

art n motion wrote:

really :?:
I thought it was based on driving styles, like speed and things like traffic and servicing of the vehicle and stuff like that :|

sunroof :? ok then...in terms of wind resistance and aerodynamics do they mean?

Nah, Darren, art is right...driving style, but more how you accelerate..a stomp on the gas pedal is going to burn more than a gentle acceleration, plus think of how that will add up in situations where you have to slow down and go again. Clean injectors, clean (drop-in reusable) air filter, fresh oil, good condition plugs in correct heat range, and correct tyre size and pressure will help too.

323_wagon_dude

Postby 323_wagon_dude » February 8th, 2007, 2:40 pm

well... I'll have to keep my eye on this. The car has only done its first service @1100 KM, and i've only gassed it up 3 times... The first time I got about 425km on 1/2 tank... wasnt too much traffic then. When I started spending my afternoons enjoying the stop & start motions of traffic I got about 350km for 3/4 tank

Damn... I hate traffic

Most times I'm driving its either with the AC on during the day (in traffic) and the moonroof at night.

323_wagon_dude

Postby 323_wagon_dude » February 8th, 2007, 8:27 pm

I found the info they were refering to with respect to options and fuel consumption....

Most options increase fuel consumption in one of three ways: by adding weight, by increasing aerodynamic drag or by drawing extra power either directly from the engine or through the alternator (which in turn is driven by the engine). Some may do all three.

Let's begin with "power" equipment. The electricity drawn by power seats, sunroofs, windows, mirrors and door locks is relatively insignificant, in part because they are operated only briefly. Options that produce heat or light (such as seat heaters or fog lights) can be more of a drain on the alternator. If you select any of these options, use them only when necessary. Keep in mind that extra weight affects fuel consumption. Although power seats and power sunroofs don't consume much power, they are among the heavier options.

Power seats can add 40 to 60 kilograms to a 1200-kilogram vehicle, resulting in a 2 to 3 percent increase in fuel consumption.

As for power windows and mirrors, the extra energy they require from the engine increases fuel consumption. Heated seats add weight and require significant electrical energy. With the extra weight and the higher electricity demand, the engine must burn more fuel.

Art, what options does your corolla have?

I have the fully loaded one with sunroof, spoiler, driving lights and power retractable mirrors...

art n motion

Postby art n motion » February 8th, 2007, 8:38 pm

^^^ours have fogs/auxillary lights, spoiler, body kit and it's fully powered :wink:
No sun roof or power seats though :lol:
my mirrors are powered but not power retractable :!:
but my fuel consumption is so much better than most here because of the 5 fwd gear box and 1.5 engine the car came with :mrgreen:
what also contributes to the efficiency with our car is regular servicing e.g
oil and filter changes, sparks plugs being checked and re-gapped, air filter changes/cleaning, proper tire pressure, proper alignment and camber, rotating of tyres and generally checking basic fluids regularly :idea:
BTW, ours is RORO....doing about 32,000kms..I think :lol:

drdroutermaster

Postby drdroutermaster » February 22nd, 2007, 8:41 pm

Electrical devices requires power from the alternator, which inturn draws its power from the engine, reducing your fuel economy.

Consider the fact that a vehicle requires about 10HP to cruise at a constant velocity.

A pair of 55W fog lights (110W) draws about 1/7 HP from the alternator. Assuming a 75% efficiency in the conversion of mechanical energy to electrical energy, we have 4/21 HP draw from the engine. A 2% increase in the load on the engine!

As accessories are added, this number increases.

The real bad news is that the engine is only 25% efficient thus for each HP produced, 4 HP of fuel is used! thus the the 2% increase in engine load is about an 8% increase in fuel used.

My solution, LEDs!!!!

Yes LED park lights, tail lights and fog lights.

I've shed about 140 W from my alternator.

Next tip, use energy conserving oil like Castrol syntech, 10 W 30 or something like that. Look for the energy conserving sticker onthe bottle.

BTW, I've imported original oil filter for $60 and ac filter for $200-$300. These sell for about $120 and $700 respectively at toyota.

Anyone interested PM me.

art n motion

Postby art n motion » February 23rd, 2007, 10:08 am

^^Daniel I'm very interested....I'll call you sometime over the weekend :idea: :wink:

seanf3000

Postby seanf3000 » February 23rd, 2007, 1:52 pm

damn.......already buy the ac filter :(

Rajeevr84

Postby Rajeevr84 » February 24th, 2007, 9:25 pm

Hmm, so installing a high wattage audio system would indeed cause your car to burn more gas? If so, i did observe this in my older car.

Also, i hav a new rolla, and i driving in traffic everyday with a few stops for liming, food checking my girlfriend almost everynite and I probally getting about 350 to 400 on 3/4 tank of gas. Once i got 450 on 3/4 since that was during xmas when traffic decreased alot. I don't accelerate all that hard and i stay around 110 to 130km/h.

bleedingfreak

Postby bleedingfreak » February 25th, 2007, 12:21 am

Allyuh wanna talk economy?

The 1ZZ getting 450 km or so to just about 1/4 tank. (Father driving, not I)
Still the ORIGINAL tyres since 2003 - Damn those Bridgestones...

Using IK16s, Mobil1 15W40, Red Line every other week.

Just crossed 60,000 km...

Take dat sentraman :!:

wagonX

Postby wagonX » February 26th, 2007, 8:42 am

Ahhhh my favorite tech thread of all time LIVES.

(Been away for a bit)

Any who...what yuh say about fogs drdroutermaster, wow..I always run my fogs, but the only problem I have with led's is that they dont really illuminate well...I mean an oncoming vehicle will see it no probs...but the road in front of you, its pathetic. Unless there is some new and improved Leds that light like the sun that I dont know about.

art n motion

Postby art n motion » February 26th, 2007, 11:02 am

I probally getting about 350 to 400 on 3/4 tank of gas.

i stay around 110 to 130km/h

that's why you fuel consumption is where it is :wink:
We drive ours around 80-100km/h and we get 400 on a half tank :wink: :mrgreen: sometimes we get more depending on traffic and AC use :!:

seanf3000

Postby seanf3000 » February 27th, 2007, 8:46 am

LOL....this is the only thread where men does complain about getting 400km on 35 to 40 litres of fuel.. Baaaahahahahahaa

I just pull off a 520km tho...... :shock:

art n motion

Postby art n motion » February 27th, 2007, 10:11 am

I just pull off a 520km tho...... :shock:

That pretty good Sean.....just goes to show that proper maintainence and upkeep of a vehicle is reflected by lots of stuff...but also fuel consumption :mrgreen:

drdroutermaster

Fuel Filter

Postby drdroutermaster » February 28th, 2007, 6:14 am

Changed my fuel filter at 75000 Km Yesterday.

Initially went on Carnival Tuesday, when my mechanic told me I had to get a second filter.

I went back to Toyota, their response was, this is what we change when we do a service.

Here is the catch. They sell you the fuel filter assembly for $320, an O ring, seal and a spacer. A grand total of $360.

Additionally, there is a suction filter which is on the front line as it is the first line of defence for the pump. This goes for $70.

My response to them was" You told me to get spacer, seal and O ring as "everything in gas", so why you didn't tell me it had another filter in the tank?"

Any how, I now checking my what my fuel economy would be!!

moti

Postby moti » February 28th, 2007, 1:24 pm

400-410 on a 3/4 tank

seanf3000

Re: Fuel Filter

Postby seanf3000 » March 1st, 2007, 9:00 am

drdroutermaster wrote:Changed my fuel filter at 75000 Km Yesterday.

Initially went on Carnival Tuesday, when my mechanic told me I had to get a second filter.

I went back to Toyota, their response was, this is what we change when we do a service.

Here is the catch. They sell you the fuel filter assembly for $320, an O ring, seal and a spacer. A grand total of $360.

Additionally, there is a suction filter which is on the front line as it is the first line of defence for the pump. This goes for $70.

My response to them was" You told me to get spacer, seal and O ring as "everything in gas", so why you didn't tell me it had another filter in the tank?"

Thats the standard fuel filter change when I went there as well. They didnt say anything about the gas strainer bag at the end of the filter construct. Didnt mattr to be as my filter was reallllllyy clean, but still its in the gas path. I thought they would have changed it as well.

The service guy just said "well if yuh want it....i can give it to you....but we only change the filter surround, o-rings and spacer.

My fuel economy didnt change one bit after that anyway :?

Best thing for fuel econo IMO with my car.......red line and driving habits!

drdroutermaster

Postby drdroutermaster » March 4th, 2007, 1:20 pm

Anyone has any info on Hydrogen injection :?:

It's supposed to increase fuel economy by substituting hydrogen for fuel :idea: :idea:

wagonX

Re: Fuel Filter

Postby wagonX » March 5th, 2007, 7:28 am

Had forgotten about redline for a while, you still order Sean?

seanf3000 wrote:
drdroutermaster wrote:Changed my fuel filter at 75000 Km Yesterday.

Thats the standard fuel filter change when I went there as well. They didnt say anything about the gas strainer bag at the end of the filter construct. Didnt mattr to be as my filter was reallllllyy clean, but still its in the gas path. I thought they would have changed it as well.

The service guy just said "well if yuh want it....i can give it to you....but we only change the filter surround, o-rings and spacer.

My fuel economy didnt change one bit after that anyway :?

Best thing for fuel econo IMO with my car.......red line and driving habits!

Return to “TOYOTA”