engine whine

TheBoostLord

engine whine

Postby TheBoostLord » August 3rd, 2006, 2:45 pm

I had my music setup 8months now without a problem. yesterday i decided that i would secure the sub and amp in my trunk because they are always sliding around. so i disconnected all the speaker and power wires in the trunk and secured the amp and sub. when i connected everything it worked perfectly, except when i started the car. engine whine came, very annoying. also if i turn the music up loud the amp trips off. what could be the problem??

IMPREZZING

Postby IMPREZZING » August 3rd, 2006, 2:47 pm

ground

TheBoostLord

Postby TheBoostLord » August 3rd, 2006, 2:52 pm

well i diddnt move the ground wire, i jes disconnected it from the amp to move it (the amp) around. also if i disconnect the rca cables from the head unit the noise is gone

Postby - Rovin's car audio - » August 3rd, 2006, 2:53 pm

re-route back all ur wires u moved around & check ground connections ...... :fadein:

Lance

Postby Lance » August 3rd, 2006, 3:16 pm

are the RCA's ansd power wire now in direct contact to each other?

i.e taped together or sumthing like that now?

if so..are ur rca jacks the shielded ones?

shivanandrs

Postby shivanandrs » August 3rd, 2006, 3:21 pm

^^^ :D I had that problem. Just keep dem away from each other and everything would be fine. I had a problem once where my midrange wires crossed the mono power wire :?

33 hertz

Postby 33 hertz » August 3rd, 2006, 4:29 pm

sounds like you grounded off the rca's for the deck. Many pple forget to tape off the rca's when doing work on their systems. Its just a little IC that needs changing should cost around $100 to repair. just my 2 cents

Lance

Postby Lance » August 3rd, 2006, 4:39 pm

33 hertz wrote:sounds like you grounded off the rca's for the deck. Many pple forget to tape off the rca's when doing work on their systems. Its just a little IC that needs changing should cost around $100 to repair. just my 2 cents

this is also another theory

TheBoostLord

Postby TheBoostLord » August 7th, 2006, 8:57 pm

ok well i finally got some time today to see about this. well after trying everything i did some googling and decided to try something. i grounded the metal rca connector from the head unit and guess what?? no more engine whine!! wow!! also i did notice that after that was fixed, the positive and negative wires from 1 of the channels on the amp were touching so i fixed that it sounds better than ever. thanks for all the help

trini_ravi

Postby trini_ravi » August 8th, 2006, 12:17 am

let me guess it's a pioneer deck we talking about???

there is a resistor that acts as a fuse to the rca, so when it is connected or disconnected while the deck is on it blows and causes a engine whine to be introduced...

you should get it fixed before you damage the deck more...

cost about $100

TheBoostLord

Postby TheBoostLord » August 8th, 2006, 6:51 am

yeah pioneer is right. hmm ill have it checked out then

trini_ravi

Postby trini_ravi » August 9th, 2006, 5:01 am

electrorama by grandbazzar....

they honest and does do good work...

shivanandrs

Postby shivanandrs » August 9th, 2006, 1:04 pm

I have a question.. So what would cause engine noise in the bass instead of the midrange?

Xman

Postby Xman » August 9th, 2006, 3:33 pm

I have a question.. So what would cause engine noise in the bass instead of the midrange?

Never really heard engine noise through the bass..........only the mids and highs due to the frequency of the noise....

cressida_override

Postby cressida_override » August 9th, 2006, 3:43 pm

^^yeah thats true,i wonder wat he talking bout :roll: :?:

TheBoostLord

Postby TheBoostLord » August 10th, 2006, 12:20 am

noise in bass...porbably not engine noise but feedback from something..

trini_ravi

Postby trini_ravi » August 10th, 2006, 3:51 am

gains could be set too high, amp could be damaged or even the sub....

shivanandrs

Postby shivanandrs » August 10th, 2006, 12:12 pm

LOL Yeah my padna havin some prob like dat, its not too bad doh. Buh it only happens when the engine rpm drops below 1300 :?. His gains are set properly and thing, nice clean music, but it was happening in the mids den magically jumped across to the bass :roll:

iggyman01

Re: engine whine

Postby iggyman01 » May 24th, 2016, 2:43 pm

actually I got that same problem. I took a out a bass amp to replace it with a soundstream tn1200.1 and when I put in the amp I works fine with the engine off but when the engine running I hear noise similar to engine noise. I then tried a boss amp and there was no noise when the engine and I also tried a db drive and got the noise. so it is only with some amps. anyways the amp is still under warranty so steve's say their technician will look at it. kinda wierd

Kalisnakov

Postby Kalisnakov » May 24th, 2016, 3:16 pm

^^^^^
Steve's? Warranty? Lol good luck bro
Put on yr dancing shoes.......

TheBoostLord

Postby TheBoostLord » May 25th, 2016, 7:21 am

wow...10 year thread bump.

L'Audi

Postby L'Audi » May 25th, 2016, 8:57 am

Media Graphics Ltd. wrote:wow...10 year thread bump.

Diggin in de crates. :lol:

randolphinshan

Postby randolphinshan » June 11th, 2016, 6:38 pm

Fellas having this same problem with a sundown saw 1000.When I disconnect the rca to the mono the whine goes.Also when pushing in the deck a pioneer 90 PRS into the dash the whine fluctuates.Installer says it is a floating ground problem.Anyone has this problem and his was IG solved. Will grounding the rca work or installing a ground loop fuse work.

Also the whine does not fluctuate with engine rpm but is one constant level even when the song is paused

P.s. The mono is not faulty.

Thanks

TK!

Postby TK! » June 23rd, 2016, 2:39 pm

pico fuse blow on the pioneer. groung outer rca to deck.