Alternator upgrade.

jackal

Alternator upgrade.

Postby jackal » June 2nd, 2023, 1:58 pm

Want to upgrade my alternator in my vehicle, it currently has the original, it is on a Toyota 1KZT (3L diesel engine).

I think that it is about 70A if so much.

What alternator I can replace it with what I can get in a scrap yard?

From what I am hearing is that the Tida has a 140A one, can anyone confirm if it might be a good replacement?

Or if there is a more suitable one, higher output, available that can be adapted or someone that modify the original to give a higher amperage output.

Don't really interested in getting a high output one, I will have to go through the same process of making a bracket. and bolt up as any other replacement.

david12

Re: Alternator upgrade.

Postby david12 » June 2nd, 2023, 3:33 pm

I think the "Tiida" alternator is the highest amperage OEM that you'll be able to find easily and cheap. If you're going with the Tiida, here are some things I noticed from what I've seen so far.

Afaik there are also a 90, 110 and 120 amp that come with the HR & MR engines. Some people try to pass these off as the Tiida 140 amp. The 90, 110 and 120 amp are identical and are made by Mitsubishi. The Tiida 140 amp alternator has a plastic back and is made by Hitachi. The Tiida also came with the 90 amp Mitsubishi unit. Y12's came with the 110 amp.

This is a pic of a 120 amp from a MR20. All of the others look exactly like this. If I get a good pic of the 140 amp, I'll attach it.
927875978.jpg

jackal

Postby jackal » June 2nd, 2023, 5:48 pm

This is great information.

Thanks

Rage Warrior

Postby Rage Warrior » June 6th, 2023, 12:29 am

There is a 150amp nissan alternator also, I think in came in the nissan March.

Postby ruffneck_12 » June 6th, 2023, 8:16 am

Rage Warrior wrote:There is a 150amp nissan alternator also, I think in came in the nissan March.

wda a march need all that koront for :lol:

Postby sMASH » June 6th, 2023, 9:25 am

ruffneck_12 wrote:
Rage Warrior wrote:There is a 150amp nissan alternator also, I think in came in the nissan March.

wda a march need all that koront for
To charge vape devices?

Postby ruffneck_12 » June 6th, 2023, 10:09 am

sMASH wrote:
ruffneck_12 wrote:

wda a march need all that koront for
To charge vape devices?

To my knowledge teenage bois from central doh run down March

The Nissan laurel however, that need at least 250A to charge the driver and all he padnah vapes as they park up in Heartland Plaza to lean up on the car

david12

Postby david12 » June 6th, 2023, 11:51 am

150 amp you say there Rage. That's with the CR engine, HR engine or both?

Rage Warrior

Postby Rage Warrior » June 7th, 2023, 7:36 am

Have one put down, I'll take a pic. Really can't remember, it's not hr cause it's not bolt for bolt in my hr15 tiida, need to make bracket that's why it pack down lol.

Rage Warrior

Postby Rage Warrior » June 7th, 2023, 8:16 am

K13 March and Note I think
20230607_081539.jpg

Postby Rovin » June 7th, 2023, 12:06 pm

what is d total rms either of these systems will be or how many batts\banks of cells etc ?

so since d original vehicle came stock with a 70A & if in some situation d vehicle needs its full 70 that leaves 70 from 140 - will that or even IF d full 140 available will be it enough though ? ... 1 way to know right ?

Postby shake d livin wake d dead » June 8th, 2023, 10:15 am

Just make sure which ever alternator you choose, your brain box could work. Lately I see men jamming 15volts because they turning tiida alts to externally regulated and firetrucking the brain...so doh do that eh.

Postby sMASH » June 8th, 2023, 7:32 pm

shake d livin wake d dead wrote:Just make sure which ever alternator you choose, your brain box could work. Lately I see men jamming 15volts because they turning tiida alts to externally regulated and firetrucking the brain...so doh do that eh.
Sooo, what to do instead?

I was wondering if the electronics could tolerate the 15v... Guess not.

Rage Warrior

Postby Rage Warrior » June 9th, 2023, 2:21 pm

I've got a tiida alt in my xtrail, cold start 15v then drops to 14.6-8 maybe about a year now. No regulator, just the lamp wire I believe connected.

Postby shake d livin wake d dead » June 9th, 2023, 6:11 pm

sMASH wrote:
shake d livin wake d dead wrote:Just make sure which ever alternator you choose, your brain box could work. Lately I see men jamming 15volts because they turning tiida alts to externally regulated and firetrucking the brain...so doh do that eh.
Sooo, what to do instead?

I was wondering if the electronics could tolerate the 15v... Guess not.

Leave your alternator to charge at 14.4 if possible. I personally saw a Fielder brain smoke up because it couldn't tolerate a 15v
The major problem with that blue box regulator is it tends to spike on its own...easy easy it hits 16-17volts without even turning the knob

My old bus have no brain box...so I does leggo current

Postby sMASH » June 9th, 2023, 8:21 pm

Csn the external regulation go up to 18v?

Postby shake d livin wake d dead » June 10th, 2023, 5:10 am

sMASH wrote:Csn the external regulation go up to 18v?

Up to 20v. Mine would be for sake soon. Don't need it anymore

jackal

Postby jackal » June 18th, 2023, 9:27 am

So...........

I picked up one Friday.

Now the hard part, making the bracket.

jackal

Postby jackal » July 26th, 2023, 3:48 pm

I end up buying a new direct fit alternator, 140A, that is double the output of the original one.

Alternator.jpg

Now I have the Tida one to sell.

Postby adnj » July 26th, 2023, 6:16 pm

jackal wrote:I end up buying a new direct fit alternator, 140A, that is double the output of the original one.

Alternator.jpg

Congratulations! You'll probably look back at buying a drop-in replacement as the best decision possible.

david12

Postby david12 » July 26th, 2023, 8:13 pm

You made a good decision. A 140 amp drop in is pretty good.

Postby *KRONIK* » July 26th, 2023, 8:25 pm

david12 wrote:You made a good decision. A 140 amp drop in is pretty good.
Agreed

I been trying to track down one for the 1KD
But no luck

jackal

Postby jackal » July 27th, 2023, 11:03 am

*KRONIK* wrote:
Agreed

But no luck

Got mine from the UK

Postby *KRONIK* » July 27th, 2023, 11:06 am

jackal wrote:
*KRONIK* wrote:
Agreed

But no luck

Got mine from the UK
PM a link plz

Lemme see if they have for my application

jackal

Postby jackal » July 28th, 2023, 6:04 pm

*KRONIK* wrote:
jackal wrote:
*KRONIK* wrote:
Agreed

But no luck

Got mine from the UK
PM a link plz

Lemme see if they have for my application

Don't have a link, you can do a search, in the UK or Australia.

david12

Postby david12 » July 28th, 2023, 8:25 pm

Yeah Australia and New Zealand might be the best source for aftermarket replacement Yota parts.

Postby ~Vēġó~ » October 17th, 2023, 4:28 am

jackal wrote:I end up buying a new direct fit alternator, 140A, that is double the output of the original one.

Alternator.jpg

Hey bro, you still got that tiida one?

jackal

Postby jackal » November 23rd, 2023, 12:58 pm

yep, still do