"Vintage" Car Audio...

Brian Steele

"Vintage" Car Audio...

Postby Brian Steele » February 19th, 2022, 12:38 pm

What's the old working piece of car audio equipment that you have (installed or stored away) that you have right now?

For me, it would be this - a Pioneer GM-H120 4-channel amplifier. Capable of a whopping (for the time) 30Wx4 and 90Wx2, this amplifier with its unusual remote turn-on arrangement was a pre-wedding gift bought for me by my parents, which would put it currently at just over 31 years old. It was still working at the time I put it into storage. Not much call these days for an amplifier the size of a dinner tray that can only do 30Wx2 and required a special remote turn-on connection too...

20220219_122030.jpg

nick639v2

Re: "Vintage" Car Audio...

Postby nick639v2 » February 19th, 2022, 2:52 pm

Have 2 of these, both functional.

One day when I own my 240z I’ll install it

IMG_0642.JPG
IMG_0642.JPG (50.45 KiB) Viewed 3678 times

Rage Warrior

Postby Rage Warrior » February 19th, 2022, 4:03 pm

I've got some old school stuff from head units,eq,amps etc.
Screenshot_20220219-160201_Facebook.jpg
20220218_104434.jpg

Postby Rovin » February 20th, 2022, 11:44 am

i also have that pio gm120 amp along with a matching pio deck combo they had with it back then, inside deck had a 1982 date on it, my older bro bought it back in those days ... still have a pio eq with d echo effect somewhere around too

Rage Warrior

Postby Rage Warrior » February 20th, 2022, 1:13 pm

Post a pic of the deck would love to see it.
Screenshot_20220220-131135_Video%20Player.jpg
Screenshot_20220220-131118_Video%20Player.jpg

Rage Warrior

Postby Rage Warrior » February 20th, 2022, 1:14 pm

nick639v2 wrote:Have 2 of these, both functional.

One day when I own my 240z I’ll install it

IMG_0642.JPG
Those orion amps real nice

Brian Steele

Re:

Postby Brian Steele » February 20th, 2022, 6:28 pm

Rage Warrior wrote:Post a pic of the deck would love to see it. Screenshot_20220220-131118_Video%20Player.jpgScreenshot_20220220-131135_Video%20Player.jpg

Ooh, I used to have that Pioneer EQ (second picture, 4th from bottom) in my first car audio build. You know, I'm not really sure what happened to it. Might be somewhere in my storage. ...

Rage Warrior

Postby Rage Warrior » February 21st, 2022, 11:39 am

There is actually 2 pioneer there, one is the eq4500 and the other is the eq6500. Both same size, did I buy some rockford amp links from you a couple years ago?

Brian Steele

Postby Brian Steele » February 21st, 2022, 12:15 pm

The 6500 is the one that I used to own. Might still be in storage too...

Rage Warrior

Postby Rage Warrior » February 21st, 2022, 4:23 pm

Would you be willing to sell it once its working properly?

ron_28

Postby ron_28 » March 9th, 2022, 2:31 pm

May not be considered as vintage. but these are the oldest pieces of audio equipment I own, everything still functional
Old Model Power Acoustik Gothic Serise 840.4
Pair of First Gen Alpine Type R's :D
Premier 3002 spl
Screenshot_20220309-142609_Photos.jpg
Screenshot_20220309-141737_Gallery.jpg

Postby Rovin » March 9th, 2022, 6:16 pm

that alpine has to be around 15yrs maybe more too, good sub

had 1 of those premier 3002 about 12+yrs ago, fs was around 25-26hz iirc, really good balance of lows & loudness from it

that PA looks like around same era too ...

Postby timelapse » March 9th, 2022, 6:50 pm

Them premiers were monsters

Postby Gladiator » March 10th, 2022, 8:34 pm

Have these two in storage at the moment...

Postby Rovin » March 11th, 2022, 6:04 pm

^^^ ... nice

Postby rollingstock » March 12th, 2022, 1:45 am

Too lazy to dig up the old storage at the house south but if you I to old headunits this tiktok page is eye candy.

https://vm.tiktok.com/ZMLfgYYtb/

I still have a deh p8600mp somewhere.

Postby timelapse » March 12th, 2022, 8:36 am

I does give away stuff to brethrens when I upgrading.The oldest thing I probably have is an ol faithful 80 amp barrel fuse

Postby Rovin » March 12th, 2022, 11:59 am

some nice pio in that tiktok link

eclipse had some nice colorful 1s long time too ...

Postby timelapse » March 27th, 2022, 6:48 am

From my father in law's collection
IMG_20220326_142633.jpg
IMG_20220326_142627.jpg
IMG_20220326_142615.jpg

nick639v2

Postby nick639v2 » April 1st, 2022, 1:33 pm

From the book of faces… these still look so amazing to me
IMG_0978.JPG

Postby timelapse » April 1st, 2022, 6:28 pm

I wanted the one to the top when they now came out.Budget didn't permit at the time

Rage Warrior

Postby Rage Warrior » April 2nd, 2022, 8:03 am

Old pic, have all the headunits just got rid of the cheaper eqs in the first pic, added more to the collection, will get an updated pic one day.
20211211_232400.jpg
Screenshot_20220329-194407_Facebook.jpg
Screenshot_20220308-120741_Photos.jpg

Postby timelapse » April 2nd, 2022, 9:09 am

That pyramid crossover is gold.When last you used it?

Rage Warrior

Postby Rage Warrior » April 2nd, 2022, 10:01 am

I have a friend with an audio shop,lent him it to display cause I don't see myself using it. Auto Essentials in Caroni.

Postby timelapse » April 3rd, 2022, 6:17 am

Rage Warrior wrote:I have a friend with an audio shop,lent him it to display cause I don't see myself using it. Auto Essentials in Caroni.
Basically you can run a front 3 way system, a rear 3 way system and a sub off that.

Rage Warrior

Postby Rage Warrior » April 3rd, 2022, 8:43 am

Yea , I never saw a pyramid crossover with that flexibility so I had to get it. Plus the lights . Supposed to have a 3 or 4 way ppi crossover too.

Rage Warrior

Postby Rage Warrior » April 3rd, 2022, 8:52 am

Found some more pics
Screenshot_20220403-084626_Photos.jpg
Screenshot_20220403-084651_Photos.jpg
Screenshot_20220403-084721_Photos.jpg
Screenshot_20220403-084948_Photos.jpg
Screenshot_20220403-084541_Photos.jpg

Postby timelapse » April 4th, 2022, 7:53 am

Rage Warrior wrote:Yea , I never saw a pyramid crossover with that flexibility so I had to get it. Plus the lights . Supposed to have a 3 or 4 way ppi crossover too.
I never saw a crossover fullstop with 7 way capability

Rage Warrior

Postby Rage Warrior » April 4th, 2022, 8:49 pm

timelapse wrote:
Rage Warrior wrote:Yea , I never saw a pyramid crossover with that flexibility so I had to get it. Plus the lights . Supposed to have a 3 or 4 way ppi crossover too.
I never saw a crossover fullstop with 7 way capability
Yea it really is cool and to think pyramid too lol.

Postby ruffneck_12 » October 7th, 2022, 3:37 pm

Have one of these (not my pic)

And also a smaller white Arctic series amp

Both of them is shiet but it looks sexy