Random Stuff in Car Audio ...

david12

Re: Random Stuff in Car Audio ...

Postby david12 » February 9th, 2022, 8:13 pm

^

They're alright for the people that want big power. I will take the same money and buy something better who around longer. The American Raj's only care for loudness just like the locals. I said something similar in the thread earlier, the type of music will dictate how people build their systems.

The culture difference made Americans prefer blasting their low frequency bass with rap music which is probably the most popular genre. The Trinis and Carribbeans appreciate the chest pounding high bass from old dub and dancehall. Also americans don't know about liming by a river or beach with a system playing so there isn't need to have music outside of the vehicle.

Postby Rovin » February 10th, 2022, 11:35 am

who says americans dont know about playing music outdoors by a river or such,if its private property where nobody around living to disturb then u can do as u please but not in open public places like parks,beaches\rivers etc bugging others

RF\kicker\JL & a few others have a sizeable chunk of their business dedicated to outdoor audio for vehicles like 4x4, off road, ATV, boats, RVs, motorcycles, container trucks etc

they just dont raj it like we do here with a bunch of mids boxes rest down but they use factory made outdoor audio speaker enclosures that look like egg shape on adjustable brackets or custom mount it & have marine equipment for boats & other offroad vehicles that may get wet

afaik on public streets their laws dont allow mids boxes on top roof, on seats, resting down in trunks unsecured or hanging from d ceiling, u can mount speakers & mids securely inside d vehicle once it doesnt compromise any safety issues, u cant drive around blasting being a public nuisance u will get fined even vehicle impounded ... also if u do what we here with they will look down on u as a person from d ghetto\low class, thats how its there

Postby timelapse » February 12th, 2022, 8:21 am

Brazilians more Raj than Trinis
DSC01777.jpg

Postby Rovin » February 15th, 2022, 12:16 pm

ICE section quiet these days - where all d regulars ? ...

kavaninho

Postby kavaninho » February 15th, 2022, 1:16 pm

Rovin wrote:ICE section quiet these days - where all d regulars ? ...

Usually around this time of the year is "build season"

Postby Rovin » February 15th, 2022, 2:04 pm

prior to covid u wud be right as ppl used to build street & loud system for carnival, car shows especially easter & river\beach liming but with all being sidelined by law i not sure how much loud systems ppl building these days & where they will go to play it besides in private remote lands in d bush ... will always have ppl doing average daily systems & sq guys can build at anytime for their personal enjoyment

Postby timelapse » February 15th, 2022, 2:21 pm

Only time I going to be posting something is if my current equipment goes bad,or I get a new vehicle.I have a daily sq system that should last a long time

Postby SR » February 15th, 2022, 7:12 pm

Jl audio started a very good educational series a while back on car audio. Quite educational as it starts from basics upwards. While yes its based on the products they offer its still one of the more unbiased training programs as the information can be applied by any installer and diy
The r&d behind thier products is shared and how it has been applied as well as how to get the most out of their products.

The sessions on tuning systems how to set gain, crossovers and dps are well worth it.

Postby Rovin » February 15th, 2022, 8:52 pm

^^^ i have looked at some of their videos & i agree its well good

they create original ground up designs\products that takes years to develop, tweaking\improving\redoing parts & materials over & over til they get it right to suit their engineers, it helps customers understand why their products cost more

no cookie cutter china designs here [yes some of their products are made in china like a ton of other companies but its made to JL's exact specifications] ... notice when they come out with something its that good so it remains unchanged for yrs unlike others who change every 2-3yrs to generate hype\sales

... like u said : some of this knowledge can be applied to other brands & situations too

Postby timelapse » February 16th, 2022, 7:43 am

Random question, is there such a thing as an sq amp? Or is it just a textbook voltage multiplier? I know some amps come with a good preamp section built in and now some coming with dsps , but those are added features.In a strictly amplifier section, are there any distinct features of an sq amp?

Postby Rovin » February 16th, 2022, 11:23 am

quality of sound that an amp produces is a real thing, u can easily hear distinctions in a "full bandwidth tonal" well designed amp vs 1 that is not as good

if u compare listening to say a RF vs a power acoustik it will be imo a day\night difference in every which way, a well made 50-75rms amp may appear to sound as loud as 100rms econo amp & sound way more fuller too

amp circuitry design & quality of internal components is obviously d key here, brand reputation & price of a well made product will reflect that

dont worry about class a\b vs d , modern technology has made class d sound so good that most wont be able to tell by listening ... if i not mistaken all of JL's current amps are class D & are still winning SQ events, alpine came out with their class d pdx line over a decade ago & alot of companies have gone D for reduced size, current efficiency & to bring down overall costs for good sounding amps for consumers

Postby timelapse » February 16th, 2022, 10:35 pm

Rovin wrote:quality of sound that an amp produces is a real thing, u can easily hear distinctions in a "full bandwidth tonal" well designed amp vs 1 that is not as good

if u compare listening to say a RF vs a power acoustik it will be imo a day\night difference in every which way, a well made 50-75rms amp may appear to sound as loud as 100rms econo amp & sound way more fuller too

amp circuitry design & quality of internal components is obviously d key here, brand reputation & price of a well made product will reflect that

dont worry about class a\b vs d , modern technology has made class d sound so good that most wont be able to tell by listening ... if i not mistaken all of JL's current amps are class D & are still winning SQ events, alpine came out with their class d pdx line over a decade ago & alot of companies have gone D for reduced size, current efficiency & to bring down overall costs for good sounding amps for consumers
Reason being, I find this XFire 5 channel very tonally accurate.I know they traditionally an spl oriented company

nick639v2

Random Stuff in Car Audio ...

Postby nick639v2 » February 16th, 2022, 11:41 pm

timelapse wrote:
Rovin wrote:quality of sound that an amp produces is a real thing, u can easily hear distinctions in a "full bandwidth tonal" well designed amp vs 1 that is not as good

Reason being, I find this XFire 5 channel very tonally accurate.I know they traditionally an spl oriented company

I’ve been a Phoenix gold fan boy since I was 16, had their a/b amps as well as the 1st and 2nd edition class D Ti amplifiers. These amps are no slouch and I ruined their potential for a while with PA speakers lol, but then I lost a few of them and sold the rest. I had some Brazilian in the mix as well(absolutely ruined my listening experience). I then switched to a sundown audio amplifier and I was shocked as to how well some of these newer amps (Brazilian efficient design but quality parts) satisfied me and trade blows easily with the older equipment!! I welcome the progress!!

Postby Rovin » February 17th, 2022, 12:04 pm

yrssss ago i always liked\ran anything from alpine except their decks which i know ppl will watch me funny for saying but in decks i always preferred d plenty features & their user friendly menu of pio over other deck brands

always preferred traditional trusted brands some that out here since d 60\70s over these modern mass produced china brands that all seem more or less d same though they do have a few decent exceptions ...

Postby timelapse » February 17th, 2022, 8:06 pm

Rovin wrote:yrssss ago i always liked\ran anything from alpine except their decks which i know ppl will watch me funny for saying but in decks i always preferred d plenty features & their user friendly menu of pio over other deck brands

always preferred traditional trusted brands some that out here since d 60\70s over these modern mass produced china brands that all seem more or less d same though they do have a few decent exceptions ...
I can't talk.My first deck I bought with my own money was a Pyramid cassette deck with the 5 band eq.Used to work like a beast at the time

Postby Rovin » February 18th, 2022, 11:23 am

aah yes d not so good old days of cyarset 12-13 songs average on 1 tape both sides, when u want to hear a song u hadda fast forward or rewind ... kids born in d last 20yrs dont know how great they have it now

Brian Steele

Postby Brian Steele » February 20th, 2022, 9:07 pm

timelapse wrote:Random question, is there such a thing as an sq amp?

Used within its power limitations, competently-designed amps should not have any sort of "sonic signature", so IMO it should be difficult to classify an amp as an "SQ" amp based on how it sounds, particularly when the speakers that its connected to will have orders of magnitude worse THD and FR.

Postby timelapse » February 21st, 2022, 7:23 am

Brian Steele wrote:
timelapse wrote:Random question, is there such a thing as an sq amp?

Used within its power limitations, competently-designed amps should not have any sort of "sonic signature", so IMO it should be difficult to classify an amp as an "SQ" amp based on how it sounds, particularly when the speakers that its connected to will have orders of magnitude worse THD and FR.
So basically an amp without a sonic signature.Purely a voltage multiplier.

Some car audio sellers here are marketing amps specifically as SQ amps.Just thought I was missing something

Brian Steele

Postby Brian Steele » February 21st, 2022, 11:38 am

timelapse wrote:Some car audio sellers here are marketing amps specifically as SQ amps.Just thought I was missing something

Ask them what makes the amplifier an SQ amplifier. :)

Usually in my experience that's a designation based on brand and cost, not on performance.

Postby Rovin » February 22nd, 2022, 11:35 pm

this video gives an idea of how amps sound ranging from dog cheap to econo to mid to high end to audiophile grade .... listen on speakers better than what is in ur cellphone

btw this guys channel has alot of educational, informative as well as entertaining stuff, not just a talented piano player but he touches on alot of musical related subjects too ...

Brian Steele

Postby Brian Steele » February 23rd, 2022, 12:31 am

Last time I checked, pianos aren't amplifiers... :)

Cheap pothounds sound different to expensive dogs too :)

Postby Rovin » February 23rd, 2022, 10:48 am

well until somebody makes a video with a bunch of amps playing music in a controlled environment this analogy is as close as it gets to letting anybody hear a difference in sound ...

nick639v2

Postby nick639v2 » February 26th, 2022, 1:43 pm

IMG_0669.JPG
IMG_0668.JPG

Lovely looking amps here, quality components and tested for ‘SQ’… not many know of the Stereo Integrity line

Postby Rovin » February 26th, 2022, 2:17 pm

SI out here some good yrs & they made a big splash with those amps when it came out year b4 if i not mistaken

had a video hifi vega made with d chinese imitation of it that according to him didnt sound so good ...

Postby timelapse » February 27th, 2022, 10:03 am

Nick, porn isn't allowed here

david12

Postby david12 » February 27th, 2022, 4:01 pm

nick639v2 wrote:
IMG_0669.JPG
IMG_0668.JPG

Lovely looking amps here, quality components and tested for ‘SQ’… not many know of the Stereo Integrity line
*drooling*

Postby Rovin » March 2nd, 2022, 11:35 am

random rant :

if u curious to see what is utter madness, rajness & zesserness check out what goes on in local "car audio" fb groups ...

Postby sMASH » March 2nd, 2022, 3:46 pm

timelapse wrote:
Rovin wrote:this kind of install is inspirational ...................... ^^^ i cant remember if u said ur car has a pull over cover to hide whats in d trunk but if u have d time to spend then bling it tastefully & pull d cover so nobody will see what u have there until u show it off
I going to need another car just for that.My trunk usually has tools and pooches.But that is the kind of install I wish I could have
Nav
Ar
A

Postby sMASH » March 2nd, 2022, 3:58 pm

Brian Steele wrote:Last time I checked, pianos aren't amplifiers... :)

Cheap pothounds sound different to expensive dogs too :)
Hmmm. Listen for the dollars....

When u watch barevids Amp repair vids, u see thr out pit on the o scope, ad u see the noise some amps and bad components introduce.

It doesn't have to be most expensive, but as steel said, we'll built and not meeting the max limits, it will give what signal it gets.

U could get a way with just not maxing out a budget Amp and still ahve good sound reproduction.

Postby timelapse » March 2nd, 2022, 6:47 pm

sMASH wrote:
timelapse wrote:
Rovin wrote:this kind of install is inspirational ...................... ^^^ i cant remember if u said ur car has a pull over cover to hide whats in d trunk but if u have d time to spend then bling it tastefully & pull d cover so nobody will see what u have there until u show it off
I going to need another car just for that.My trunk usually has tools and pooches.But that is the kind of install I wish I could have
Nav
Ar
A
Raj
va
ra

More to my liking
Mazda-Truck-05-1200x800.jpg