Random Stuff in Car Audio ...

Postby Rovin » January 6th, 2022, 12:50 pm

i hope mods allow this, it may not be a purely technical subject but learning can still be had from it

this thread for that odd weird stuff u hear ppl talking about, doing, heard or saw

this is NOT for bashing anybody ways or products

ex:

u often hear ppl used d word "heights" to describe high freqs in audio or "crips" to mean crisp

how do ppl listen normal to a loud tweeter inside a car that u can hear passing by 50ft away

ever hear anybody talk about a "voice amp", saw that on fb recently, leave it to trinis to come up with that term

last wk my worker answered d phone & somebody was asking for a "bass coil" she told person no we dont sell parts thinking meant a coil for a subwoofer, now it could be a hpf inductor coil for mids\tweeters but who calls it that, most wud say a condenser so i cant give her wrong for thinking that

i can go on & on but lets hear some more stuff from yall ..... 8-)
Last edited by Rovin on January 16th, 2022, 6:53 pm, edited 1 time in total.

david12

Re: Random Odd stuff in car audio ...

Postby david12 » January 6th, 2022, 1:11 pm

I liking this thread already, here's a very popular local term that's used..

Last night I was talking to a friend and he was talking about upgrades to his raj mids box setup with the big big sub making plenty ole noise. So I told him that I was planning to do some upgrades to my home system, specifically my sub setup. I said: "I want dynamic, smooth low frequency, now it's just to find the perfect driver."

Instantly he said:
"Driver? I don't understand how a driver does play lows."
"A driver does play heights"

Took me atleast 5 minutes to realise that "driver" meant compression driver.

So people who may have been in my position, now you know lol.
Last edited by david12 on January 6th, 2022, 1:11 pm, edited 1 time in total.

Postby timelapse » January 6th, 2022, 2:05 pm

Rovin wrote:i hope mods allow this, it may not be a purely technical subject but learning can still be had from it

this thread for that odd weird stuff u hear ppl talking about, doing, heard or saw

this is NOT for bashing anybody ways or products

ex:

u often hear ppl used d word "heights" to describe high freqs in audio or "crips" to mean crisp

how do ppl listen normal to a loud tweeter inside a car that u can hear passing by 50ft away

ever hear anybody talk about a "voice amp", saw that on fb recently, leave it to trinis to come up with that term

last wk my worker answered d phone & somebody was asking for a "bass coil" she told person no we dont sell parts thinking meant a coil for a subwoofer, now it could be a hpf inductor coil for mids\tweeters but who calls it that, most wud say a condenser so i cant give her wrong for thinking that

i can go on & on but lets hear some more stuff from yall ..... 8-)
A voice amp is a PA amp.
Bass coil is indeed an inductor coil.I use that term sometimes

Postby Rovin » January 13th, 2022, 12:15 pm

so 1 week passed, 120 views & only 2 ppl cared to post something ......... :|
Last edited by Rovin on January 14th, 2022, 11:05 am, edited 1 time in total.

david12

Postby david12 » January 13th, 2022, 5:46 pm

Car audio wtf thread?
Screenshot_20220113-174549_Facebook.jpg

kavaninho

Postby kavaninho » January 13th, 2022, 8:55 pm

david12 wrote:Car audio wtf thread? Screenshot_20220113-174549_Facebook.jpg

Over my years in car audio I am certain that repaired and busted sh*t has more demand than new items.

Postby nervewrecker » January 13th, 2022, 11:42 pm

Condenser for tweeters

Old school equalizers, commanders and pyramid eq with spectrum analyser

Power Acoustik spare tyre amplifier

Wasa pipeline for making Bazooka subwoofer type enclosure

Passive radiators in old school stereos people mistook for a speaker

Also, finally found out the combo my grandfather had

got it off one of the white guys in the oilfield days before they left.

Postby timelapse » January 14th, 2022, 7:28 am

Wow.That is head unit

david12

Postby david12 » January 14th, 2022, 9:23 am

I seeing plenty people doing this because they don't have a spot to mount tweeters. Any opinions on this? Not gonna do it, just want to hear some thoughts.
Screenshot_20220114-091018_Facebook.jpg

Postby timelapse » January 14th, 2022, 10:12 am

david12 wrote:I seeing plenty people doing this because they don't have a spot to mount tweeters. Any opinions on this? Not gonna do it, just want to hear some thoughts.
Screenshot_20220114-091018_Facebook.jpg
There are component speakers that convert to coax.Best of both worlds if you don't have a mounting spot for the tweeters.You can run it active
Once it not rattling ,it should be fine.

Postby Dave » January 14th, 2022, 10:32 am

There was a set, believe it was Jensen 6.5 that had a removable tweeter that clipped to the speaker or mounted separately.

Postby Rovin » January 14th, 2022, 11:19 am

kavaninho wrote:

Over my years in car audio I am certain that repaired and busted sh*t has more demand than new items.

fb market place has lead to a boom in this, everybody feel buying used is a bess deal, say for ex a pair of faital 6.5 is 600 pair bnib but somebody put up a used pair for 400-500 some ppl feel dise something worth buying, u dont know how long or how much lix\repairs\sh1t ppl do with those even though it might appear to be looking ok

dont even talk about subs "it like new jes d dustcap was glued back or changed" , d amt of rebuilt better than d original sub posts i see, "it sounding real bess inno but i upgrading" , ppl dont know d slightest change u make to a sub even a dustcap d T\S parameters changes, do these speaker repairmen even have a DATS results to give customers when they fix over their speakers

only used car audio gear i ever bought was a few old skool amps ppi & usamps yrs ago which i didnt keep long, other than that i will always buy new ... save up ur $ & buy ur stuff

Postby Rovin » January 14th, 2022, 11:23 am

david12 wrote:I seeing plenty people doing this because they don't have a spot to mount tweeters. Any opinions on this? Not gonna do it, just want to hear some thoughts. Screenshot_20220114-091018_Facebook.jpg

99% of speakers used on that application is a pro audio mid so ppl install a tweeter near it to act like a coax to get some highs ... personally i wud not choose to put my tweeter by my feet, i want some resemblance of stage height so tweeter must be up high

Postby Rovin » January 14th, 2022, 11:27 am

Nerve around what year wud that combo be ?

... i have a pio gm120 amp & deck combo from 1982 that my older bro bought when it came out [it will never be for sale so nobody doh even ask] ....

david12

Postby david12 » January 14th, 2022, 5:09 pm

Rovin wrote:
kavaninho wrote:

fb market place has lead to a boom in this, everybody feel buying used is a bess deal, say for ex a pair of faital 6.5 is 600 pair bnib but somebody put up a used pair for 400-500 some ppl feel dise something worth buying, u dont know how long or how much lix\repairs\sh1t ppl do with those even though it might appear to be looking ok

dont even talk about subs "it like new jes d dustcap was glued back or changed" , d amt of rebuilt better than d original sub posts i see, "it sounding real bess inno but i upgrading" , ppl dont know d slightest change u make to a sub even a dustcap d T\S parameters changes, do these speaker repairmen even have a DATS results to give customers when they fix over their speakers

only used car audio gear i ever bought was a few old skool amps ppi & usamps yrs ago which i didnt keep long, other than that i will always buy new ... save up ur $ & buy ur stuff
You touched on a good point there. The fellas who building these "monsters" that looking real crazy and have no idea what the parameters are. You said this but I had to mention it, I love how some people say that they building it better than the manufacturer. A next thing since we on the parameter talk, I swear some people buy speakers just because of brand and power rating and have no clue what T/S Parameters are or how to view a sheet.

Postby Rovin » January 15th, 2022, 11:12 am

well said with brand followers, everybody running down d popular kid\s on d block brands because they seeing it around without any clue about T\S & box programs

they see\hear abc brand & it sound good to them or meh padna buy 1 so i buy it or 1 of d most convincing reasons ppl buy stuff is cause d installer say dis\dat wukkin rel bess cause they trust him more than a store owner ... they dont know installer pushing it cause he getting it wholesale price so in addition to getting paid to box build or install he getting bonus $ from product profiting

Postby nervewrecker » January 15th, 2022, 9:31 pm

Rovin wrote:Nerve around what year wud that combo be ?

... i have a pio gm120 amp & deck combo from 1982 that my older bro bought when it came out [it will never be for sale so nobody doh even ask] ....

From before I was born, 1984.

All I know it was loud and my family sold the car with it. They insist is junk.

Never found out what happened to it.

Then again, they sold a 280zx as junk also. 3.0L engine, owner was an uncle my aunt took in the divorce settlement. My uncle really appreciates that at least one family member grew to knew what it was.

david12

Re: Random Stuff in Car Audio ...

Postby david12 » January 21st, 2022, 1:47 pm

Since you all were on the subject of old school, back in the day what was the process of building a sub enclosure like? Nowadays you plug your figures into a calculator, get net volume, tuning frequency, port area per cubic foot etc. get a cut sheet and boom, a box appears. How much more difficult was it to get calculations etc? I not around audio for that long maybe the last 7-8 years so what I said is what I know just curious to see what was the process back then.

Postby timelapse » January 21st, 2022, 6:53 pm

david12 wrote:Since you all were on the subject of old school, back in the day what was the process of building a sub enclosure like? Nowadays you plug your figures into a calculator, get net volume, tuning frequency, port area per cubic foot etc. get a cut sheet and boom, a box appears. How much more difficult was it to get calculations etc? I not around audio for that long maybe the last 7-8 years so what I said is what I know just curious to see what was the process back then.
In my days, was an average box specs.One size fit all.
12*12*14 for a 10 inch
14*14*14 for a 12 inch.

Buy two 3" ports and glue them back to back .

Postby Rovin » January 21st, 2022, 7:09 pm

car audio wasnt as prevalent as it is say over last 10-15 maybe 20yrs, b4 it was an expensive hobby with not as much brands around & no or almost no internet, then came dial up days ... When u wanted to see anything car audio besides going foreign u had to buy books, magazines & catalogs ... it blew up exponentially when china mastered mass production say 20-25yrs ago along with technology making things easier\cheaper to produce ... then all d numerous non mainstream brands started being born because of china mass production making things far more affordable than long time

alot of ppl didnt have a pc back then cause it was very expensive like 10-20k so ppl didnt have easily available car audio education [besides books] or pc access to linear x or winisd in d early days , like i said no internet back then too .... so long story short : ppl depended on recommended sub user manual specs or simply making guess enclosures by copying a factory box or what somebody sub happen to sound good in or play around with cuft or port tuning by ear according to what u thought sounded good to u .... all these methods some ppl still use today

Postby Rovin » January 21st, 2022, 7:44 pm

i sure d 1st sub alot of us sound boys cud afford to buy in our early days was a pioneer 12" & b4 most of us had a pc, net, knowledge or box programs we used specs from d user manual which iirc was around 1.65cuft with a short piece of 3" pvc pipe [which we didnt know at d time tuned about low to mid 40hz ] i bet alot of us thought sounded good to our mind cause we built it according to company specs & who knew better than d company right ?

then somebody probably miscalculated & built a oversized cuft box which sounded better or by mistake used a longer piece of 3"pvc since they found a piece & didnt cut it but just stick it in & stumbled across something that sounded better than factory specs

then came internet & "free" box programs so ppl at least had an idea what they were doing rather than lucky guesswork like what they used to do in d past .... :lol:

david12

Postby david12 » January 21st, 2022, 8:01 pm

I heard back in the day you could pay a car audio guru to teach you everything that they knew (well, in the States). But it's good to hear how it was back in the day. I've become so accustomed to designing enclosures that I rarely take a look at what the manufacturer recommends so I forgot that they even put something in the owner's manual lol. My current sub that I have for maybe 4 months didn't even come with a piece of paper, everything is online. Even online they just give you a ported volume range and port area per cube range, no measurements to build an enclosure.

david12

Postby david12 » January 21st, 2022, 8:05 pm

Rovin wrote:i sure d 1st sub alot of us sound boys cud afford to buy in our early days was a pioneer 12" & b4 most of us had a pc, net, knowledge or box programs we used specs from d user manual which iirc was around 1.65cuft with a short piece of 3" pvc pipe [which we didnt know at d time tuned about low to mid 40hz ] i bet alot of us thought sounded good to our mind cause we built it according to company specs & who knew better than d company right ?

then somebody probably miscalculated & built a oversized cuft box which sounded better or by mistake used a longer piece of 3"pvc since they found a piece & didnt cut it but just stick it in & stumbled across something that sounded better than factory specs

then came internet & "free" box programs so ppl at least had an idea what they were doing rather than lucky guesswork like what they used to do in d past ....
Lol I think everyone's first sub that they bought is a Pioneer. I'm guilty! Apart from the box talk, the type of music that was available wasn't any violent low rebassed stuff. Probably the old dub, club music etc. An enclosure tuned to 40hz was handling all that.

Postby Rovin » January 21st, 2022, 8:29 pm

very true regarding d type of higher notes songs back then so 40hz tuning or even higher wud suffice for most, unless u were running an epi

modern recent rap\hiphop & rebassed songs even though some dont care for it :roll: [but i love a well done very low rebassed :D ] imo is what has breathe alot of new life into car audio [& ordinary songs] since alot of ppl watching YT or going to carshows in d usa or around world wanted to know how girls hair were flying up so violently & wanted to experience that then build their own systems to try to do d same ... with so much competition in audio brands & again because china made it affordable more average earning ppl nowadays can afford only what rich ppl had in d early 80s\90s

Postby timelapse » January 22nd, 2022, 8:56 am

My first 'subs' were a pair of 10 inch Funky Pups in an uncalculated sealed wedge box with two rectangular tweeters .head unit was a pyramid cassette deck with the 5 band eq.Amp, 4 channel pyramid, crossover pyramid

david12

Postby david12 » January 22nd, 2022, 10:09 am

My first sub was a Planet Audio Anarchy 8 (still have it). Ran it on a 150 watt RF 2 channel at 8 ohm mono so nothing too high powered. The box was 1 cube tuned to 35hz. It was real decent for maybe 100 watts. Ended up selling that 2 channel and getting a RF 500 watt mono and yeah I used to put maybe 4 times as much power to that 8 than what's recommended. Used to get down!

Postby Rovin » January 23rd, 2022, 1:31 pm

i know most ppl wont watch a 2.5hr long video but if some of u have d time take a listen [take it in 2 or 3 sessions] cause there is a TON of info about stuff in d car audio industry inside this casual discussion ... especially from kip of kicker but they all bring something to d table

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=yZIVicFqQ4g&t=5590s

david12

Postby david12 » January 23rd, 2022, 1:49 pm

I really like how Kip and by extension Kicker are reaching out to the community with their Unmasked live streams. Every Tuesday I make sure to watch Unmasked. It's like television but for us car audio folks.

Postby Rovin » January 25th, 2022, 11:28 am

i have watched that a few times, kip cud realllllly talk, its informative but not my cup of tea as it mainly revolves around kicker products as expected

if u look at hifi vega & dean on "reverse polarity" that is a good show which is very light mood & not so biased on brands

12volt talk with hifi vega & big D is another good show ...

david12

Postby david12 » January 25th, 2022, 11:51 am

Yup 12v talk and Reverse polarity are really good. I used to watch Reverse Polarity religiously last year but I haven't watched it in a while. 5 star is a go to. I've learned so much from Dean and Fernando and also Hifi Vega when it comes to installation. I've won giveaways from Hifi already and we message each other ever so often.