Rising costs of MDF, plywood & other materials for speaker boxes ...

Postby Rovin » December 16th, 2021, 4:33 pm

Today somebody on FB showed a picture of a bill for a sheet of 3\4 inch mdf $310 they bought from Bhags [not singling them out since other hardwares also raised too] , other ppl said plywood also went up too

after covid began last year & into earlier this year in d usa they had a wood\lumber crisis which started to ease up & was declining to pre-covid times but it look like its starting to rise here due to increased ocean freight with imported sheet goods mostly imported from south america

so how much shud speaker box enclosures sell for now ?, carpet, glue, screws all went up too - lets sensibly discuss it ... :agrue:

i havent raised prices on boxes i built that i have in my store since i havent bought new sheet wood as yet but when u tell somebody $500 for a very nice neat solid box is like u cuss them .... :?
Last edited by Rovin on June 9th, 2022, 8:10 pm, edited 3 times in total.

jnelo

Re: Rising costs of MDF, plywood & other materials for speaker boxes ...

Postby jnelo » December 16th, 2021, 8:20 pm

So wait...ppl out here selling enclosures for less than $500? Because I would think 500 is more than reasonable as a pre covid price.

kavaninho

Postby kavaninho » December 17th, 2021, 7:29 am

One thing for sure, I cannot present a subwoofer box for near $500.00. The material cost alone will be much more. That being said, how much markup/profit is there to to be had with this, given this takes 8 hours upward?
I notice there are a lot of local box builders that are putting out descent fabrication work but are however selling themselves short by reducing their prices to undersell another builder. This undermines the industry, but more seriously it undermines yourself, digging yourself into a regrettable pit you cant escape.

Postby timelapse » December 17th, 2021, 7:45 am

There are also box 'factories' selling generic boxes using mass production.That is why some people feel that boxes are cheap.I went to Rovin's shop this week.The boxes there are far better quality than the generic 'raj' boxes out there that are usually tuned to 55Hz upwards.And still,he has them cheap.

david12

Postby david12 » December 17th, 2021, 7:50 am

For a simple enclosure I've gotten quotes from $650-$750. I would consider this the average price that most people are accustomed to. Rising material costs will drive this upwards and you know the sound people like to complain when price gone up. This can go 2 ways, it's either installers leave their price but there will be less of a profit margin to enjoy or they raise the price but loose customers as those customers would hunt for a cheaper alternative.

The raised price has already started. I contacted an installer in August and he quoted $750. The same enclosure as of 2 months ago is $850.
Last edited by david12 on January 27th, 2022, 3:56 pm, edited 1 time in total.

Postby Rovin » December 17th, 2021, 12:28 pm

kavaninho wrote:One thing for sure, I cannot present a subwoofer box for near $500.00. The material cost alone will be much more. That being said, how much markup/profit is there to to be had with this, given this takes 8 hours upward?
I notice there are a lot of local box builders that are putting out descent fabrication work but are however selling themselves short by reducing their prices to undersell another builder. This undermines the industry, but more seriously it undermines yourself, digging yourself into a regrettable pit you cant escape.

great point man, well said ... some newbs enter d game hot n sweaty with a "bess quality, built to specs, low prices" slogan trying to get a lil piece of d pie barely making much $ for their energy\work\time put out , some of them their design & certain other small stuff i notice not all that great but to a others it bess

have some handymen mass producing batches of boxes with 5/8 or damaged low grade 3/4 mdf doing undersized cuft & high tuning\small ports, no paint in port etc to cut cost , sells cheap but sounds like toots - keep far from those

i do see some nice looking work out there - some fellers getting good at d pretty stuff, but as for how it sounds for me personally i not sure as i am very picky ... many ways to wrap carpet & do pretty stuff , all this takes alot of time & work , cost has to be adjusted

a man has to put a appropriate value on d amt of work & quality that he puts out too , all these yrs i doing boxes i doubt remembering anybody asking bess price for a custom job cause they know what they getting & i dont overkill ppl with prices like some of d big name installers\shops do - this might surprise some ppl but some of those guys simply outsource it & make a decent markup without dirtying their hands & they take all d credit for work done by somebody else

when i go to buy mdf i always buy few sheets so i dont have to go back often , last time i bought was during d lockdown iirc was around $240-250 sheet ... now its $300+ & carpet has gone up a couple 100s for a roll too .. [b4 anybody ask me to box build i only do it for products bought from my store]

Postby shake d livin wake d dead » December 23rd, 2021, 1:54 am

Rovin I piggy backing off yuh thread lil bit...doh kill meh.

In addition to rising cost of material to build boxes etc, Im seeing some RIDICULOUS prices on various products. B&C is MR B&C come next year. Not to mention orion, just to name a few.

david12

Postby david12 » December 23rd, 2021, 6:05 am

shake d livin wake d dead wrote:Rovin I piggy backing off yuh thread lil bit...doh kill meh.

In addition to rising cost of material to build boxes etc, Im seeing some RIDICULOUS prices on various products. B&C is MR B&C come next year. Not to mention orion, just to name a few.
Sundown stuff just going up and up

Postby timelapse » December 23rd, 2021, 7:34 am

JL already went up.

Postby Rovin » December 25th, 2021, 3:04 pm

8-) seasonings greeting & happy bassing to all of us regulars who hang out in this section 8-)

no scene if yall want to talk about other car audio goods rising too

already mentioned was lack of head units , certain amps & processors due to a worldwide chip shortage over a year ago yet some ppl still dont know .... viewtopic.php?f=3&t=761600

covid even impacting on car audio worldwide too, alot of ppl getting less work , had no\less income coming in or some totally lost their steady jobs so everybody had to tighten their belts.

From what i heard : products itself didnt go up too much but container shipping costs increased by big leaps ... i want to figure its due to less consumerism so shipping companies jacked up shipping costs by 2-5 times to make up for lack of less goods being shipped ... this cost obviously cant be simply absorbed by importers so it has to be spread across & added into products

if u compare what car audio retails for in d usa : i personally think its not so bad here, [those of us who around car audio over 20+yrs ago will tell u how expensive it used to be b4 nearly everybody went full china manufacturing & from all d brands that were born out of china mass production] in fact some items locally retail cheaper here & u have to factor in s\h costs, local custom fees, retailer has to make a living with minimal profits especially when rent, workers, insurance, security & all other expenses have to be met

those who operating online only & sell by d road from their car especially as a sideline hustle or from properties their family owns wont feel d expense as much & will obviously enjoy bigger profit margins ...

Re: Rising costs of MDF, plywood & other materials for speaker boxes ... * also other car audio goods rising too

Postby Rovin » June 9th, 2022, 8:09 pm

so 6mths later & 3/4 mdf still holding steady above $300 , 3/8 is $180

today i was in bhags, a gallon of evostik contact cement is now $495- :shock: ... i think thats more double what it used to be , i always use dunlop which still affordable at $150 gallon

1.5" mdf screws was around $15-18 about 2 wks ago i stopped by a hardware its now $28\pk of 100 ...

david12

Postby david12 » June 10th, 2022, 7:24 am

^Not really a box builder so to speak but those price increases sounding dread.

Postby shake d livin wake d dead » June 10th, 2022, 12:44 pm

david12 wrote:^Not really a box builder so to speak but those price increases sounding dread.

Just imagine the cost to do a relatively big build now

Postby timelapse » June 17th, 2022, 2:25 pm

shake d livin wake d dead wrote:
david12 wrote:^Not really a box builder so to speak but those price increases sounding dread.

Just imagine the cost to do a relatively big build now
Concrete your trunk!

Postby ruffneck_12 » October 7th, 2022, 3:42 pm

if only wood grew on trees huh

Postby Rovin » October 7th, 2022, 3:58 pm

container shipping cost went up 4-5 times d usual amt in d past 2-3 yrs since covid, i heard it went down a lil but went back up some so box materials & everything car audio related keep rising to suit ...

Postby adnj » January 25th, 2023, 11:46 am

Worldwide container shipping costs are falling.

Postby Rovin » January 25th, 2023, 1:21 pm

just 2 wks ago a padna paid $395 for a sheet of 3\4 mdf ... up to a mth ago around xmas time various hardwares all over were advertising it around same price

Postby shake d livin wake d dead » February 11th, 2023, 1:17 pm

adnj wrote:Worldwide container shipping costs are falling.

That doh apply to trinidad. Nothing goes down here

Postby ruffneck_12 » February 14th, 2023, 12:55 pm

Fax, once XYZ product reach a price, men will keep it at that price just because people was willing to pay for it at that price in the past

What needs to happen is for one man to lower his prices appropriately and advertise it, then boom everyone going by him. Then others will follow suit

But nooooooo, Trinis too greedy

Postby Rovin » July 24th, 2023, 4:01 pm

gallon of dunlop contact cement $162 by bhags, $120 by radica ... wda

from d numerous ads on fb i notice some businesses getting into d importing ply\mdf game so for a very long time i seeing 3/4" mdf drop below d $300 mark, lowest i seen is $260 but i havent gone to check out d quality ...

Postby Gladiator » July 29th, 2023, 5:15 pm

Rovin wrote:gallon of dunlop contact cement $162 by bhags, $120 by radica ... wda

from d numerous ads on fb i notice some businesses getting into d importing ply\mdf game so for a very long time i seeing 3/4" mdf drop below d $300 mark, lowest i seen is $260 but i havent gone to check out d quality ...

Got 3/4 MDF from Ramlagans for $275 a sheet. Good quality