Car audio advice thread

Re: Car audio advice thread

Postby timelapse » March 5th, 2022, 8:18 pm

Rovin wrote:what d directions on d can say ?

dunno why u cant use a normal small paint roller even if u have to thin it a lil bit ...
Paint shop guy said it too stiff to work properly with a brush or roller.What I looking for is Duratex which is an entirely different product

Postby *KRONIK* » March 5th, 2022, 9:04 pm

timelapse wrote:

dunno why u cant use a normal small paint roller even if u have to thin it a lil bit ...
Paint shop guy said it too stiff to work properly with a brush or roller.What I looking for is Duratex which is an entirely different product
What u wanna paint?

david12

Postby david12 » March 5th, 2022, 9:11 pm

timelapse wrote:

https://youtu.be/ZoqGGsnOpiU

Check this out

Postby rollingstock » March 5th, 2022, 9:14 pm

Use truck bed liner aerosol spray

Postby timelapse » March 6th, 2022, 6:30 am

*KRONIK* wrote:
timelapse wrote:

What u wanna paint?
Fiberglass sub box

Postby *KRONIK* » March 6th, 2022, 7:39 am

timelapse wrote:
*KRONIK* wrote:
timelapse wrote:

What u wanna paint?
Fiberglass sub box
There is canned rubberized undercoating
If is just the texture you want, duplicolor has a textured VHT paint
Also they have the bed armour which gives a nice lightly textured finish

If not, drop it by a auto body shop and carry the gravitex, let them spray it for you
Most of them have the gravitex gun

Postby timelapse » March 6th, 2022, 9:35 am

*KRONIK* wrote:
timelapse wrote:
*KRONIK* wrote:
timelapse wrote:

What u wanna paint?
Fiberglass sub box

If not, drop it by a auto body shop and carry the gravitex, let them spray it for you
I have the rubberized undercoating.I probably using it wrong,but it peeling off

Postby Dave » March 6th, 2022, 9:51 am

Surface must be clean and a bit rough for good adhesion.

Postby *KRONIK* » March 6th, 2022, 10:10 am

timelapse wrote:
*KRONIK* wrote:
timelapse wrote:
*KRONIK* wrote:
timelapse wrote:

What u wanna paint?
Fiberglass sub box

I have the rubberized undercoating.I probably using it wrong,but it peeling off
You may need to usr an adhesion primer and or adhesion promoter

Postby Gladiator » March 8th, 2022, 8:30 pm

rollingstock wrote:Use truck bed liner aerosol spray

Hi.. do you know where selling this currently? Thanks...

Postby rollingstock » March 8th, 2022, 8:46 pm

Allied have. Bought a tin recently.

Postby *KRONIK* » March 9th, 2022, 6:57 am

Question:
Is wire being sold undersized now?

I bought a yard of 4awg OFC stinger the other day, i put a 4awg terminal lug on it, the ting slack.
Try a different style 4awg terminal and that slack too, then i try a ring terminal thats labelled as 6awg from the same kit and that was a good fit.

Is it that the wire coming smaller?
Or my terminal ends mislabelled?

Postby Dave » March 9th, 2022, 7:23 am

Did some ferrules on some 4 ga and fit was good. Stinger Ofc also

kavaninho

Postby kavaninho » March 9th, 2022, 7:31 am

*KRONIK* wrote:Question:

I bought a yard of 4awg OFC stinger the other day, i put a 4awg terminal lug on it, the ting slack.
Try a different style 4awg terminal and that slack too, then i try a ring terminal thats labelled as 6awg from the same kit and that was a good fit.

While alot of the generic brands are a bit undersized, I noticed alot of the 'china type' ring terminals are a bit oversized. I too use the 6 awg where it fits better. If I recall, I use the 6awg die more often on the crimp tool than the 4 awg.

Postby *KRONIK* » March 9th, 2022, 7:37 am

kavaninho wrote:
*KRONIK* wrote:Question:

While alot of the generic brands are a bit undersized, I noticed alot of the 'china type' ring terminals are a bit oversized. I too use the 6 awg where it fits better. If I recall, I use the 6awg die more often on the crimp tool than the 4 awg.
Ok
Noted

Postby *KRONIK* » March 9th, 2022, 7:39 am

Dave wrote:Did some ferrules on some 4 ga and fit was good. Stinger Ofc also
I should have test fitted a ferrule before i crimped
Didnt think about that

Oh well, maybe some other time

Postby Dave » March 9th, 2022, 8:02 am

Yes rings don't fit as they used to. Smaller ones do fit good. The few bigger ones not so great so crimp and solder.

Postby Rovin » March 9th, 2022, 11:26 am

i dont think they under sizing d wire of reputable brands but its coming very compressed in d insulation jacket but like said above d ring terminals are a lil thing bigger so it fits slack, when crimped it works though ...

Postby Gladiator » March 11th, 2022, 4:01 pm

rollingstock wrote:Allied have. Bought a tin recently.

Thanks man...

I ended up using a can of Flex Seal (knockoff version) and the finish was surprisingly incredible. The texture was spot on and the feel was like it was wrapped in rubber. The box size is only 0.35cu ft sealed... It was a low budget build but the results came out awesome.

Postby Rovin » March 11th, 2022, 6:03 pm

^^^ post some pics man ...

Postby *KRONIK* » March 11th, 2022, 7:54 pm

Rovin wrote:^^^ post some pics man ...
Co-signed

Postby Gladiator » March 14th, 2022, 8:56 am

*KRONIK* wrote:
Rovin wrote:^^^ post some pics man ...
Co-signed
1647262416134.jpg
1647262416137.jpg

Postby timelapse » March 15th, 2022, 9:38 pm

That scraping off with your finger nails?

Postby Gladiator » March 18th, 2022, 10:21 pm

timelapse wrote:That scraping off with your finger nails?

No... it dried very solid, not rock hard but like a hard rubber

Postby Rovin » March 19th, 2022, 11:49 am

so OP we eh hearing u, u gt with dem headrest raj boxes ? ....

Jeremy09

Postby Jeremy09 » March 24th, 2022, 3:39 pm

Rovin wrote:so OP we eh hearing u, u gt with dem headrest raj boxes ? ....
A.a as you talk about that... thing slamming lol but i does catch myself listening my doors more. Ended up getting a pair of those deafbounce sylvesters sqls, not the faitals, they sound nice to be honest. Phone eq them lol. I threw in the arc tweets for the while in the box until. I know them fellas say pair it with the dd silks but the spec of the arc and the dd close to same. But the sylvesters loud and clean, hardly getting the highs from the arcs with it being so and well i dont want to give the arcs more power an fry them.

Postby Rovin » March 24th, 2022, 6:04 pm

man once u happy with ur thing doh study eet ....

Postby timelapse » March 25th, 2022, 9:46 am

Jeremy09 wrote:
Rovin wrote:so OP we eh hearing u, u gt with dem headrest raj boxes ? ....
A.a as you talk about that... thing slamming lol but i does catch myself listening my doors more. Ended up getting a pair of those deafbounce sylvesters sqls, not the faitals, they sound nice to be honest. Phone eq them lol. I threw in the arc tweets for the while in the box until. I know them fellas say pair it with the dd silks but the spec of the arc and the dd close to same. But the sylvesters loud and clean, hardly getting the highs from the arcs with it being so and well i dont want to give the arcs more power an fry them.
How Ravi B sounding on it?
Is it Budow worthy?

Postby Rovin » March 25th, 2022, 10:31 am

maybe he is a kartel kinda raj ... :mrgreen:

Postby *KRONIK* » March 25th, 2022, 10:36 am

Rovin wrote:maybe he is a kartel kinda raj ... :mrgreen: