Re: Car audio advice thread

Postby Rovin » October 18th, 2022, 10:31 am

it looks awkwardly place though ...

Jeremy09

Postby Jeremy09 » October 18th, 2022, 11:03 am

Fellas, what could happen if you set your crossover below tuning frequency for a ported mids box? Eg. Box tuned to 200hz but you set your hpf at 160hz.

Postby timelapse » October 18th, 2022, 9:18 pm

Jeremy09 wrote:Fellas, what could happen if you set your crossover below tuning frequency for a ported mids box? Eg. Box tuned to 200hz but you set your hpf at 160hz.
Is mids.People do that all the time.You might get a smoother roll off on the low end, depending on vehicle acoustics.Only one way to find out how it sounds.

Postby sMASH » October 18th, 2022, 9:31 pm

Below tuning frequency the driver would be unloaded and its Excursion could go past mechanical limit, and burn or mash up.
Essentially, it would be like playing free air.

Brian Steele

Postby Brian Steele » October 18th, 2022, 10:21 pm

Jeremy09 wrote:Fellas, what could happen if you set your crossover below tuning frequency for a ported mids box? Eg. Box tuned to 200hz but you set your hpf at 160hz.

Most likely nothing. That HPF is close enough to Fb that you'd have to feed those mids some serious power for them to start distorting due to over-excursion, and that over-excursion is as likely to happen above as well as below Fb.

Postby timelapse » October 19th, 2022, 6:56 am

I find you overthinking this Raj setup.This supposed to be tuned while drunk and roasting a baigan

Postby Rovin » October 19th, 2022, 10:57 am

jerajme look at d freq response graph for ur speaker & high pass it to suit

what i expect is at moderate vol it will be ok but at top vol it may start to distort a bit ... but then again dise how alot of rajs does like it once it barking while rum running too

Jeremy09

Postby Jeremy09 » October 19th, 2022, 3:04 pm

Haha alyh does kill me yes.

kavaninho

Postby kavaninho » October 19th, 2022, 5:32 pm

Jeremy09 wrote:Haha alyh does kill me yes.

that loud music is the killer

Brian Steele

Postby Brian Steele » October 19th, 2022, 7:14 pm

This is what the driver's excursion looks like in a vented box. Notice that, while excursion increases below Fb (50 Hz in this case, the driver is still within its excursion limits (5mm) down to about 42 Hz. This suggests that the HP filter can be set at 42 Hz or even slightly lower, depending on how steep the HP filter is.

And this is a theoretical situation. In practice, excursion will be less linear at higher power levels and you could likely get by with an even lower HP filter frequency.

2022-10-19 (1).png

Jeremy09

Postby Jeremy09 » October 20th, 2022, 9:22 am

So I've been doing a bit of research and from what i can see online (not sure how accurate) but sealed enclosures have a natural roll off off 12db and vented 24db. How accurate is this statement and in terms of my ported mid box, If i use a 24db slope, stacked with the "natural roll off" wouldnt that equate to 48db?

Postby timelapse » October 20th, 2022, 4:55 pm

Jeremy09 wrote:So I've been doing a bit of research and from what i can see online (not sure how accurate) but sealed enclosures have a natural roll off off 12db and vented 24db. How accurate is this statement and in terms of my ported mid box, If i use a 24db slope, stacked with the "natural roll off" wouldnt that equate to 48db?
Most mids speakers are designed to run open baffle.You will not kill them once you don't over power them.Yuh head hard yuh know raj.

Set proper gain with multimeter.
Set crossover points.Do subs first- low pass( because bass is the most important thing,high mids are for zesser setups,you are a Raj),then highs high pass,then mids- bandpass if possible
Eq overall system with rta
Adjust eq according.
If you missing entire bands of frequencies, adjust crossover to accomodate.
Use pink noise for this.

Listen for overdriven speakers.That means you didn't follow instructions.

Play Lalana Khoosie.

Fin

Postby Rovin » October 21st, 2022, 11:56 am

mamoo times boof up nephew raj ... :lol:

e harden ent, like e wa some belt ... :lol:

raj, d man giving u decent advice for what ur doing ... 8-)

Postby timelapse » October 22nd, 2022, 7:55 am

Rovin wrote:mamoo times boof up nephew raj ...

e harden ent, like e wa some belt ...

raj, d man giving u decent advice for what ur doing ... 8-)
Belt,nah.
He need some puncheon and chase with cutlass.

david12

Postby david12 » October 22nd, 2022, 9:42 am

No Puncheon, look the propa thing here XD
Screenshot_20221022-094109~2.jpg

Postby timelapse » October 22nd, 2022, 10:20 am

david12 wrote:No Puncheon, look the propa thing here XD
Screenshot_20221022-094109~2.jpg
JW could keep on walking .
Real Raj jink puncheon daroo

EYEandEYE

Postby EYEandEYE » November 2nd, 2022, 6:57 am

Hey guys
Not to sure if this is the correct thread for this. But I heard a flyer floating around on fb that there's gna be an event on the 12th. A sq oriented event where vehicles can be evaluated??? Does any in here have anymore info/ details on it???
Thanks

Postby Rovin » November 2nd, 2022, 10:49 am

EYEandEYE wrote:Hey guys
Not to sure if this is the correct thread for this. But I heard a flyer floating around on fb that there's gna be an event on the 12th. A sq oriented event where vehicles can be evaluated??? Does any in here have anymore info/ details on it???
Thanks

apparently this is d unofficial RAJistan thread

but here is d info u looking for ... 8-)

https://www.facebook.com/photo/?fbid=10 ... 4462831950

kavaninho

Postby kavaninho » November 2nd, 2022, 11:34 am

EYEandEYE wrote:Hey guys
Thanks

Hi yes this is being hosted by the MSQA group. It is open to the public, and as well free to all members to have evaluations done.
All SQ and car audio enthusiasts in here are welcomed.

EYEandEYE

Postby EYEandEYE » November 2nd, 2022, 11:51 am

Very interesting
Thanks very much guys.

kavaninho

Postby kavaninho » November 2nd, 2022, 12:52 pm

EYEandEYE wrote:Very interesting
Thanks very much guys.

No problem, You can contact the guys on the flyer or myself here if you have any questions.

Postby Rovin » November 2nd, 2022, 2:49 pm

until i saw that ad last night i never heard of this MSQA group - i looked it up on fb & just now asked to join, request is pending

so if yall dont mind me asking here : who are these ppl behind this group or fb page ? ...

kavaninho

Postby kavaninho » November 2nd, 2022, 3:43 pm

Rovin wrote:until i saw that ad last night i never heard of this MSQA group - i looked it up on fb & just now asked to join, request is pending

so if yall dont mind me asking here : who are these ppl behind this group or fb page ? ...

Initially the MSQA was a whatsapp group of local SQ enthusiast and competitors. It was evolved into a more formal association which is governed by a management committee voted in via a General meeting. Thus far the MSQA hosted 2 events earlier this year, one being a meet and greet interactive demo session at the San Fernando Yacht club and the other being a formal SQ Competitors training with both IASCA and MECA. The organization is non-profit and has more events in the pipeline including the Clinic attached on the prior post.

EYEandEYE

Postby EYEandEYE » November 2nd, 2022, 5:45 pm

Oh woow..
Didn't know all these things are taking place locally.
Seems alot has been going on in sq. This is good. Infact this is great. So I'm guessing new persons or persons who'd like to know about this sq can join in??

Postby Rovin » November 2nd, 2022, 6:39 pm

^^^ well same sentiments here - i didnt know too so i sure there are others like us

hope u guys add me in whatever groups so i can be aware of whats going on

long b4 i ever competed in spl\gallery\carshows just for fun i was into sq-like INside listening systems & how car audio used to be, d days of magazines & books before d internet became easily available to everybody, it so happens over 20ys ago i used to buy those magazines from a bookstore inside d very same building in later yrs that my store is currently in, so i out here a while ... 8-)

kavaninho

Postby kavaninho » November 2nd, 2022, 6:54 pm

EYEandEYE wrote:Oh woow..
Didn't know all these things are taking place locally.
Seems alot has been going on in sq. This is good. Infact this is great. So I'm guessing new persons or persons who'd like to know about this sq can join in??

Correct, the clinic particularly is geared toward novices and beginners. Being around, we have noticed there are alot of enthusiasts who are DIYers that shy away. There is no competition at this event, it is strictly geared toward system improvement.

EYEandEYE

Postby EYEandEYE » November 2nd, 2022, 8:42 pm

I think it was RIK bookstore?? iirc.
This is a fantastic initiative. I particularly like the fact that it welcoming the beginners and the DIYers that "shy away"

Postby Rovin » November 2nd, 2022, 10:29 pm

^^^yes man u well know , it was either d RIK brand or 1 of of their family members who had a branch there

well said

i fully support this effort too, in spite of how typical local car audio culture is, there are some conservative ppl who prefer IN car listening than typical out of car hearing [not dissing anybody preferences] & they wud gladly like to come see\listen to fellow enthusiast, some may feel ahow that they dont have any fancy expensive equipment or feel others will move snobbish & look down at ppl but they wud be surprise its a cool scene & what low cost well installed\tuned systems can do

too bad its on a saturday cause i have to be in my store if was sunday i would have come for sure ... :(
Last edited by Rovin on November 8th, 2022, 12:38 pm, edited 1 time in total.

Postby nervewrecker » November 2nd, 2022, 10:41 pm

Rovin wrote:^^^ well same sentiments here - i didnt know too so i sure there are others like us

hope u guys add me in whatever groups so i can be aware of whats going on

long b4 i ever competed in spl\gallery\carshows just for fun i was into sq-like INside listening systems & how car audio used to be, d days of magazines & books before d internet became easily available to everybody, it so happens over 20ys ago i used to buy those magazines from a bookstore inside d very same building in later yrs that my store is currently in, so i out here a while ... 8-)
Just asked them to add you.

Postby Rovin » November 2nd, 2022, 10:44 pm

nice man - thanks ....... 8-)