Car audio advice thread

Jeremy09

Re: Car audio advice thread

Postby Jeremy09 » August 5th, 2022, 10:46 am

Rovin wrote:hmmm i hadda google whats a maxfax , besides d cost dat eh sounding nice nuh - allyuh bad lucky boi ...
I having issues with the 2 bottom wisdom but aparently he saying that all 4 has to be taken out.

Postby Rovin » August 5th, 2022, 10:49 am

dise presha ...

Postby shake d livin wake d dead » August 5th, 2022, 12:31 pm

Rovin wrote:hmmm i hadda google whats a maxfax , besides d cost dat eh sounding nice nuh - allyuh bad lucky boi ...

Maxillofacial specialist...only 2 in the country...you have to study medicine, then dentistry , then specialize....but judging from what Jeremy is describing ,a maxfax is best to go by to avoid complications from normal dentists. Been down that road already

nick639v2

Postby nick639v2 » August 5th, 2022, 12:49 pm

Shakes what’s the latest with your big bad boy build??? Everything up and fyahz givin?

Postby Rovin » August 5th, 2022, 1:46 pm

all dem carshows & u eh seeing d orion monster in any pics\video, like he build it for his private use only ? ... if dise d case cant blame u cause is only stacks of mids box & ole noise i seeing out here

Jeremy09

Postby Jeremy09 » August 5th, 2022, 3:17 pm

shake d livin wake d dead wrote:

Maxillofacial specialist...only 2 in the country...you have to study medicine, then dentistry , then specialize....but judging from what Jeremy is describing ,a maxfax is best to go by to avoid complications from normal dentists. Been down that road already
Dr. Marcus daniel is the man doing the procedure. An aparently i got a discount lol

Jeremy09

Postby Jeremy09 » August 5th, 2022, 3:18 pm

shake d livin wake d dead wrote:
Jeremy09 wrote:
Rovin wrote:buh u hav good ting , wam u fed u with it or yuh bamsee scratching to try something new ....
Impacted wisdom teeth surgery...16k bud

That means you going by a maxfax. ....I had a similar surgery that cost 21k....took out 3 one shot....if you're not going by maxfax, I suggest you do.

That being said, what you selling :oops:
2 deafbounce M60SQL 6.5" and 2 arx audio x2 silks

Postby X_Factor » August 5th, 2022, 5:05 pm

Jeremy09 wrote:
I having issues with the 2 bottom wisdom but aparently he saying that all 4 has to be taken out.

was quoted 12k to take out two from candy narayansingh

Postby shake d livin wake d dead » August 5th, 2022, 9:56 pm

nick639v2 wrote:Shakes what’s the latest with your big bad boy build??? Everything up and fyahz givin?

Up and running, about 90% completed.....finally got around to adding the 1" units, so I'm doing that atm. Not liking the bass to much so we making some port adjustments and may very well do a mono box.
Went a few small shows, won a couple trophies. Only a handful of men would appreciate that 36hz baseline. I could boast about my mids though. Men would kill me with loudness!! I will destroy them with quality :angel:

eitech

Postby eitech » August 6th, 2022, 5:55 pm

Can the wires on a car electronic antenna be extended by splicing and attaching the extra wires or is there a special extension for it?

Postby adnj » August 6th, 2022, 6:24 pm

eitech wrote:Can the wires on a car electronic antenna be extended by splicing and attaching the extra wires or is there a special extension for it?
Most vehicle aerials use a coaxial cable and connection. You cannot easily splice coaxial but you can use a jumper. The downside is that the longer cable and jumper connection increases the cable impedance and decreases the antenna signal gain.

eitech

Car audio advice thread

Postby eitech » August 6th, 2022, 8:02 pm

adnj wrote:
eitech wrote:Can the wires on a car electronic antenna be extended by splicing and attaching the extra wires or is there a special extension for it?
Most vehicle aerials use a coaxial cable and connection. You cannot easily splice coaxial but you can use a jumper. The downside is that the longer cable and jumper connection increases the cable impedance and decreases the antenna signal gain.

I probably didn’t explain clearly. My existing antenna jacks into the rear of my deck. The electronic antenna is like the one in the pic i want to replace it with. That connection is coaxial? Problem is where i route the cable it a bit short.

Postby adnj » August 6th, 2022, 9:45 pm

The ring terminal should be attached to a nearby location (the metal will act as the ground plane of the antenna). You CAN solder in a longer piece of wire and terminate with almost no effect. Make certain that you solder.

The other connector requires a coaxial cable splice or a jumper.

Coax jumper

Ring terminal

Last edited by adnj on August 7th, 2022, 12:11 am, edited 1 time in total.

eitech

Postby eitech » August 6th, 2022, 11:57 pm

adnj wrote:The ring terminal should be attached to a nearby location (the metal will act as the ground plane of the antenna). You CAN solder in a longer piece of wire and terminate with almost no affect. Make certain that you solder.

The other connector requires a coaxial cable splice or a jumper.

Coax jumper

Ring terminal

Great. Thanks for that info

Postby adnj » August 7th, 2022, 12:09 am

You're welcome.

Postby adnj » August 7th, 2022, 12:10 am

david12

Postby david12 » September 8th, 2022, 10:35 am

Fellas, anybody could recommend someone to build a sub enclosure that I designed? Preferably in the north or maybe central.

Postby Rovin » September 8th, 2022, 10:42 am

if is d RF send me a whatsapp & i will send pics when i go to my workshop of d 1 i was telling u i had built for that sub & u will see if that will work for u ...

david12

Postby david12 » September 8th, 2022, 10:55 am

Rovin wrote:if is d RF send me a whatsapp i will send pics when i go to my workshop of d 1 i was telling u i had built for that sub ...
That one sorted out, I was supposed to message you and tell you about it but I ain't really get time to actually listen to it. But so far it real performing especially for a shallow sub. I know you might not build a box for my sub so that's why I didn't message you directly. Unless you have a big 10 inch box tuned real low :D

The box is for my Resilient Sounds RS10.

Postby Rovin » September 8th, 2022, 11:28 am

oh ok np ...

david12

Postby david12 » September 26th, 2022, 1:33 pm

Anyone knows where I can buy Duratex? Also, what's the average price of a quart?

Thanks in advance.

Postby Rovin » September 27th, 2022, 11:38 am

duratex is a company brand name eh so if ur looking for cabinet coatings or bed\tray liner\undercoat as its called in american lingo : ask for it like that

timelapse had that same problem going around asking for duratex & he say store workers watching him funny cause they dont know it as that

check any good autobody paint supplies store ...

david12

Postby david12 » September 27th, 2022, 12:24 pm

Rovin wrote:duratex is a company brand name eh so if ur looking for cabinet coatings or bed\tray liner\undercoat as its called in american lingo : ask for it like that

timelapse had that same problem going around asking for duratex & he say store workers watching him funny cause they dont know it as that

Thanks always for the help Rovin. I'm looking for Duratex in particular since it's the correct thing for the application. If I can't get it, then I'll consider using bed liner like Gravitex. I just can't think of anywhere that might sell the Duratex.

Postby timelapse » September 28th, 2022, 2:29 pm

david12 wrote:
Rovin wrote:duratex is a company brand name eh so if ur looking for cabinet coatings or bed\tray liner\undercoat as its called in american lingo : ask for it like that

Thanks always for the help Rovin. I'm looking for Duratex in particular since it's the correct thing for the application. If I can't get it, then I'll consider using bed liner like Gravitex. I just can't think of anywhere that might sell the Duratex.
https://m.facebook.com/profile.php?id=100054566824420

Last authorized dealer
Allan Kissoon AudioProTT

david12

Postby david12 » September 28th, 2022, 4:01 pm

timelapse wrote:
david12 wrote:

https://m.facebook.com/profile.php?id=100054566824420

Last authorized dealer
Allan Kissoon AudioProTT
Hey, thanks for the info bro!

Jeremy09

Postby Jeremy09 » October 13th, 2022, 12:47 pm

Alright, so i bumping up this here...best way to loose weight is mouth surgery lol
My raj build done. "takes licks all how"
it consist of a pair of faital pro 6fe300 and a pair of skyhigh car audio titanium dome tweets. I added the head rest box's specs to winisd and got a tuning of 200hz (trini customs told me 150hz) anyway, the faital playing 200hz to 4khz and tweets 4khz-20khz.
1. I have to set the gains for the tweeters, i know some recommend using music an setting by ear. what are some good songs to test/set tweets?
2. this for a loud daily and not sq, i have one of those free apps for an RTA, what type of graph to aim for when tuning?

Thanks fellas, "takes more licks in advance"

Postby timelapse » October 13th, 2022, 1:21 pm

Jeremy09 wrote:Alright, so i bumping up this here...best way to loose weight is mouth surgery lol
My raj build done. "takes licks all how"
it consist of a pair of faital pro 6fe300 and a pair of skyhigh car audio titanium dome tweets. I added the head rest box's specs to winisd and got a tuning of 200hz (trini customs told me 150hz) anyway, the faital playing 200hz to 4khz and tweets 4khz-20khz.
1. I have to set the gains for the tweeters, i know some recommend using music an setting by ear. what are some good songs to test/set tweets?
2. this for a loud daily and not sq, i have one of those free apps for an RTA, what type of graph to aim for when tuning?

Thanks fellas, "takes more licks in advance"
Problem with loud,is where are going to rta from?Driver seat ,in the car,out of the car,how far from the car? Questions a raj should ask himself.Why RTA at all?
Now if you can find a singular listening point young Raj, because you will not get the same RTA from different listening positions.RTA curves may change at different volume levels also.Choose wisely.

When you figure all this out over a bowl of dhal and a nip of puncheon with medium pepper, try this curve with white noise at -3 db(you can find this online).This is for your entire system, not just the tweeters.
Tweak from there using Jab Kisiki by Kumar Sanu or Musafir by whoever covered it last.
Extra tweaking can be done using Lalana Khoosie by Sam Boodram.

Happy Rajing
EQCURVE-Paint2-e1410219551133.jpg

Postby timelapse » October 13th, 2022, 3:37 pm

I forgot before.Use ear protection if you blasting white noise.It annoying af afterwards

Postby Rovin » October 13th, 2022, 6:33 pm

:changes:

Brian Steele

Postby Brian Steele » October 13th, 2022, 10:01 pm

White noise?

Pink noise is usually used for measurement purposes.