Car audio advice thread

Jeremy09

Re: Budget 6.5/ Now car audio advice thread

Postby Jeremy09 » December 22nd, 2021, 10:23 am

rollingstock wrote:Or there's an idq 12 in the classified for 1500 still in plastic
i saw it, i think the rockford p3 looks better built in my opinion

Postby timelapse » December 22nd, 2021, 10:52 am

Rockford: Now u talking

Postby timelapse » December 22nd, 2021, 10:58 am

Also...
Screenshot_2021-12-22-10-57-33-979_com.android.chrome.jpg

kavaninho

Postby kavaninho » December 22nd, 2021, 11:18 am

Jeremy09 wrote:
rollingstock wrote:Or there's an idq 12 in the classified for 1500 still in plastic

Of the two, the IDQ has a solid edge over the RF P3 in terms of Sound Quality. Th RF is good with aesthetics for sure but sounds like the average consumer grade sub.

Postby rollingstock » December 22nd, 2021, 11:19 am

Jeremy09 wrote:

Both are well built subs. RF would be louder and punchier, the id plays lower and smoother.

Jeremy09

Postby Jeremy09 » December 22nd, 2021, 12:12 pm

Jeremy09 wrote:

Both are well built subs. RF would be louder and punchier, the id plays lower and smoother.
I did some digging up on those idq sub just now. Multiple sites different people were claiming they are over rated subs with weak frames and weak cones

Postby rollingstock » December 22nd, 2021, 12:40 pm

They are not. They are however extremely smooth with no mechanical noise, if tuned badly due to its soft parts will easily reach its mechanical limit and tear itself apart. The spider and surround are not glued but screwed down. Very easy to recone.

Postby rollingstock » December 22nd, 2021, 12:42 pm

I use an idq8 for home theatre in the bedroom, tuned low. It is however not a gallery type sub.

Postby Rovin » December 22nd, 2021, 1:32 pm

mths ago jeremy say he coming by me for a p3 12 but like he changing mind about subs like he changing out drawers :poke:

well no offense but i wud have to disagree with yall opinion on RF p3 12

alot of ppl tune that sub too high & with too small of a cuft [i dont like their factory rec specs] did 1 yrs ago tuned in d 20s that can drop nasty lows, i even tried for kicks a pio 12 in that same box - smoothest pio i ever heard

IMO i wud class it against IDQ but it has more output, neither ID or RF i wud use as a gallery sub though ppl do it, i will call it more of a in car lows sub ....

Postby rollingstock » December 22nd, 2021, 1:57 pm

Yeah RF and Id are great reputable subs. RF more output id smoother on the lows. People piss on pioneer but they are great subs for the price. I had a 2000 SPL tuned low 20's and it did justice. And a pair of the 3004 that felt like it would shake the car apart.

Postby Dave » December 22nd, 2021, 2:09 pm

Arrr efff... someone call meh name!

Jeremy09

Postby Jeremy09 » December 22nd, 2021, 2:10 pm

Rovin wrote:mths ago jeremy say he coming by me for a p3 12 but like he changing mind about subs like he changing out drawers :poke:

well no offense but i wud have to disagree with yall opinion on RF p3 12

alot of ppl tune that sub too high & with too small of a cuft [i dont like their factory rec specs] did 1 yrs ago tuned in d 20s that can drop nasty lows, i even tried for kicks a pio 12 in that same box - smoothest pio i ever heard

IMO i wud class it against IDQ but it has more output, neither ID or RF i wud use as a gallery sub though ppl do it, i will call it more of a in car lows sub ....
Aye aye. I big up the P3 eh. Well yall know i looking for something deep sounding for in and right around car. Plus to work well with that 900rms to. I feel that ia or something like that would give me what i looking for, but is to get one

david12

Postby david12 » December 22nd, 2021, 2:32 pm

Surprisingly I've only ever listened to one sub from the RF punch series and that's the P3 10. It's a smooth sub and could drop low very easily. I would actually say that it's one of the better subs in its class in terms of quality (build and sound). I might not put 1000 RMS to it and abuse it but I'm not doubting that it may handle it. It's a very average sub imo. Nothing too special but it's from a reputable company and will give you years of play.

The IDQ however is something special. Output from those subs are smooth and deep. They never miss a note. Again I might not put 1000 RMS to it but I'm not doubting that it can take it. Imo the best option for you is the DD612d or DB Machete Fight. Both of those subs will take gobs of power and are built to be abused and withstand it.

Another suggestion is the RS Entry 12. Forget about the stamped frame and how plenty other brands use it. The sub is all go no show. It has a 3 inch vc and 17mm of xmax from a cheaper "500" watt 12. I would definitely recommend it. Currently I have the 10 on 600 RMS and it definitely gets the job done. Very nice output and for the price you can't go wrong.

The three options I gave you are under your budget but will definitely fit your requirements

Postby Rovin » December 22nd, 2021, 2:35 pm

i had 1 of these back in d day , iirc d fs on it was around 26hz

https://www.pioneerelectronics.com/PUSA ... S-W3002SPL

had 1 tuned 33hz in a big box, it shake out meh y11 trunk keylock completely , when ppl in d front seat ur voice sounded like talking in front a fan , rel liked that sub , traded it to a customer for a 12 atomic 500rms model which was a different kind of monster

premier 12 5000spl model performed nice lows too for a killer loud sub ...

Jeremy09

Postby Jeremy09 » December 22nd, 2021, 2:35 pm

david12 wrote:Surprisingly I've only ever listened to one sub from the RF punch series and that's the P3 10. It's a smooth sub and could drop low very easily. I would actually say that it's one of the better subs in its class in terms of quality (build and sound). I might not put 1000 RMS to it and abuse it but I'm not doubting that it may handle it. It's a very average sub imo. Nothing too special but it's from a reputable company and will give you years of play.

The IDQ however is something special. Output from those subs are smooth and deep. They never miss a note. Again I might not put 1000 RMS to it but I'm not doubting that it can take it. Imo the best option for you is the DD612d or DB Machete Fight. Both of those subs will take gobs of power and are built to be abused and withstand it.

Another suggestion is the RS Entry 12. Forget about the stamped frame and how plenty other brands use it. The sub is all go no show. It has a 3 inch vc and 17mm of xmax from a cheaper "500" watt 12. I would definitely recommend it. Currently I have the 10 on 600 RMS and it definitely gets the job done. Very nice output and for the price you can't go wrong.

The three options I gave you are under your budget but will definitely fit your requirements
Am a big resilient sounds fan.. unfortunately that entry lvl 12" only comes in dual 4

david12

Postby david12 » December 22nd, 2021, 2:38 pm

Oh shucks boy look how I forget about that. Disregard that then. You can check the other 2 suggestions then.

Postby rollingstock » December 22nd, 2021, 2:41 pm

DD 612d then. I have the 8's to this and they dig low and takes a lot of clean power. My pair on a Orion xtr 1500.1dz that doing over 2200wrms on the birthsheet

Postby rollingstock » December 22nd, 2021, 2:49 pm

The 8's, enclosure was tuned 36hz at the time. That was a bass modified song @22hz. Excuse the crickets, they own the property.

Jeremy09

Postby Jeremy09 » December 22nd, 2021, 2:54 pm

Triple r sours me with that 612e yes. Another sub i heard and was very impressed with was a alpine type r 12. I dont mind running 1 in that

david12

Postby david12 » December 22nd, 2021, 2:56 pm

you can get the 612d, it's under budget and will take licks. It'll eat all 900 watts you gonna throw at it.

Jeremy09

Postby Jeremy09 » December 22nd, 2021, 2:59 pm

david12 wrote:you can get the 612d, it's under budget and will take licks. It'll eat all 900 watts you gonna throw at it.
Becides taking lixks. Is if it will sound good, dig deep. I know dd has a tendency of just being loud and not sounding deep and good. I could be wrong though

david12

Postby david12 » December 22nd, 2021, 3:08 pm

You saw rollingstock's vid for a kinda reference. But I think DD gets a bad rep because of the people that use it. The car show fellas that love their 60hz enclosures. DDs play low and dig deep with great musical quality. If you need some reassurance go on YouTube and see the kinda systems that foreigners use DD audio to build.
Last edited by david12 on December 22nd, 2021, 3:08 pm, edited 2 times in total.

Postby rollingstock » December 22nd, 2021, 3:21 pm

Jeremy09 wrote:
david12 wrote:you can get the 612d, it's under budget and will take licks. It'll eat all 900 watts you gonna throw at it.
Becides taking lixks. Is if it will sound good, dig deep. I know dd has a tendency of just being loud and not sounding deep and good. I could be wrong though

Deep and good is what DD does best. Locally people use it in high tuned box and throw 3 and 4 times their rated power at them just for loudness sake.

I would rate my old DD 510b top 3 in the most musical subs I owned. Only the phoenix gold and the Id would beat it.

Postby timelapse » December 22nd, 2021, 4:57 pm

Those DDs sound really accurate in the proper enclosure.Is the raj boxes that makes them sound terrible

david12

Postby david12 » December 22nd, 2021, 9:25 pm

So Jeremy, with all the options that everyone gave you, you think you settled on one sub?

Jeremy09

Postby Jeremy09 » December 23rd, 2021, 8:05 am

david12 wrote:So Jeremy, with all the options that everyone gave you, you think you settled on one sub?
I guess ill have to hold out for the while. Rovin them said the ia li is a really good contender for my application. Jdm said he may get back in late jan, if not, i know triple r always stocked on dd so the 612 for it. If anything pops up that would work, yall let me know.

Jeremy09

Postby Jeremy09 » December 26th, 2021, 10:54 am

Those faital pro 6fe200. Where do you all set the lpf at to start the tweets from? Where sounds clean with no beaming ect.

kavaninho

Postby kavaninho » December 26th, 2021, 12:17 pm

Jeremy09 wrote:Those faital pro 6fe200. Where do you all set the lpf at to start the tweets from? Where sounds clean with no beaming ect.

4kHz and under.

Jeremy09

Postby Jeremy09 » January 1st, 2022, 8:43 pm

Ok so i doing some tuning tomorrow for a pair of faital 6fe200, 4ohm wired in stereo. They will be seeing clean rated 130rms each. I saw the fs on the 6" is 120hz. Whats a safe, nice roll off that could be turn to max for the hpf to set on the 80prs? Was thinking 160hz with 24db slope or 200hz with a 12db?

Postby X_Factor » January 1st, 2022, 10:06 pm

Jeremy09 wrote:Ok so i doing some tuning tomorrow for a pair of faital 6fe200, 4ohm wired in stereo. They will be seeing clean rated 130rms each. I saw the fs on the 6" is 120hz. Whats a safe, nice roll off that could be turn to max for the hpf to set on the 80prs? Was thinking 160hz with 24db slope or 200hz with a 12db?
Start at 200 @ 12 and work from there
If it is installed in your door....you should cut around 2k and work from there