Sealed box build thread Fiberglass

Postby timelapse » September 17th, 2021, 5:07 pm

I had a massive box in my trunk that took up all the space.I decided to go the fiberglass route and use up some otherwise useless space in the corner of the trunk.
Choice of Sub was a JL Audio10w1 v 3.2
Reasons being :
1.Small enclosure size of .55 cu ft
2.I wanted a full sized sub as opposed to a flat sub
3.Affordable quality
4.I preferred a 2 ohm sub to maximize my amp output
5.I am a JL fanboy lol
Now excuse the messy car, its a daily driven work horse.

I misplaced some pics of the process, but this is what is missing:Three layers of masking tape were spread across the area where the enclosure was to be going.Everything else covered in plastic bags and tape.Two layers of fiberglass went into the spot to make a shell of the back of the box.This car has a lot of pocket spaces and these were incorporated for more enclosure space.Two rings of Mdf were cut to support the speaker
IMG_20210823_114224.jpg

Re: Sealed box build thread Fiberglass

Postby timelapse » September 17th, 2021, 5:10 pm

I hot glued some pvc support braces to hold the speaker rings in place.

Postby timelapse » September 17th, 2021, 5:12 pm

Speaker carpet was glued on to create a mold for the front .A layer of resin and hardener was brushed on to create a shell.Reason I did this in smaller pieces was that i removed most of it after and bulked up with more fiberglass.
IMG-20210823-WA0002.jpg

Postby timelapse » September 17th, 2021, 5:14 pm

Whole front and sides covered in carpet.
IMG_20210827_111752.jpg

Postby timelapse » September 17th, 2021, 5:16 pm

As I ripped off carpet and added more fiberglass,I leggo filler on it to hold the shape
IMG-20210904-WA0000.jpg

Postby timelapse » September 17th, 2021, 5:18 pm

Sanding, filler, more fiberglass on the inside
IMG-20210910-WA0000.jpg

Postby timelapse » September 17th, 2021, 5:19 pm

Test fit
IMG_20210911_183200.jpg

Postby timelapse » September 17th, 2021, 5:19 pm

Covered in cheap black leatherette
IMG_20210915_170953.jpg

Postby timelapse » September 17th, 2021, 5:22 pm

I ended up getting about .6 cuft including speaker space.I am by no means a professional installer.Just thought I'd share the experience

Postby timelapse » September 17th, 2021, 5:29 pm

Also, le door speakers.JL as well
IMG_20210914_104230.jpg

Postby *KRONIK* » September 17th, 2021, 5:30 pm

#feelinginspired

Postby timelapse » September 17th, 2021, 5:38 pm

Thanks bro

Postby sMASH » September 17th, 2021, 5:58 pm

Was waiting on the thread.. Now waiting on the demo vid

Postby timelapse » September 17th, 2021, 6:15 pm

Wait until I done tuning nah boy.

Postby Rovin » September 17th, 2021, 6:32 pm

i like d unc door speaker

looks good

i go take a demo when ur finished ... 8-)

Postby timelapse » September 17th, 2021, 6:53 pm

Yessir.
Have to rep Couva North yo

david12

Postby david12 » September 17th, 2021, 7:07 pm

Sweet Install, nice to see another JL fanboy :D
Last edited by david12 on September 17th, 2021, 7:07 pm, edited 1 time in total.

Postby X_Factor » September 18th, 2021, 12:30 pm

Drop in about 1/2lb of polyfill in the enclosure

evolution7tt

Postby evolution7tt » September 26th, 2021, 8:31 am

Looking good!!

Postby timelapse » October 14th, 2021, 4:54 pm

Tweeter pods glassed and wrapped
IMG_20211014_165102.jpg

Postby timelapse » October 14th, 2021, 4:54 pm

Aimed at rear view mirror

Postby Rovin » October 15th, 2021, 11:54 am

nice man u barely even noticing it even there ...

Postby timelapse » November 9th, 2021, 8:11 pm

Upgraded to a set of c 2s a while back.
Got me a cheap processor . Tuning all over again from scratch.Also have to do some re wiring and a new amp rack as I now have more gear to fit .Going the stealth route
IMG-20211012-WA0001.jpg

Postby timelapse » November 9th, 2021, 8:14 pm

Had to move some of the sound deadening to fix a window bracket, and I misplaced my small roller.Will fix it tomorrow.I know allyuh fellas does notice these things

Postby timelapse » November 19th, 2021, 4:49 pm

Amp and processor got moved as well from under the front seats.In the process of neatening up and configuring
IMG-20211117-WA0010.jpg

david12

Postby david12 » November 19th, 2021, 7:24 pm

Any reviews on the processor? Was always intrigued by the Expert brand especially the X4/6/8 Air models

Postby timelapse » November 20th, 2021, 8:18 am

On a comparison, the Air models have less EQ features,but it physically smaller.

Review of PX 2.:
For the price, it does everything that I wanted to.Has all the usual features of more expensive brands, time alignment, an overall eq and a per channel eq, user specified crossover points and slopes and a limiter.Stick a pin in the limiter for now.

The best part I find is the app.You can configure to your heart's content in the preferred listening position, even if is outside of your car,once the Bluetooth picking up.If you into gallery type stuff,it makes it easier to sort out your eq and stuff from a listening position outside of the vehicle.It beats the hell out of using buttons on the unit like other DSPs in the price range.Theres an RTA on the app as well

Limiter:
I didn't see the value in this until I used it.For one, if someone plays around with your volume knob on your head unit, the limiter puts a cap on the voltage going to your amp and will prevent clipping and damage to your speakers.It is a beeyotch to calculate,so I ratched it by trial and error with a voltmeter.Other use of this, if you are using multiple speaker set ups.Lets say you have a sq sub, and a hard pong sub that you interchange.You can set up a separate profile for each, limiting the voltage going to the amp.No need to adjust the physical gain settings on the amp.

Also useful feature, theres a pink noise generator on the unit, but it not accessable via the app.

Postby Rovin » November 20th, 2021, 7:55 pm

u install d foam water protection cups yet ?

too bad i couldnt take d demo yesterday as i had to go for goods but i shud be free during next wk ...

david12

Postby david12 » November 20th, 2021, 9:48 pm

timelapse wrote:On a comparison, the Air models have less EQ features,but it physically smaller.

Review of PX 2.:
For the price, it does everything that I wanted to.Has all the usual features of more expensive brands, time alignment, an overall eq and a per channel eq, user specified crossover points and slopes and a limiter.Stick a pin in the limiter for now.

The best part I find is the app.You can configure to your heart's content in the preferred listening position, even if is outside of your car,once the Bluetooth picking up.If you into gallery type stuff,it makes it easier to sort out your eq and stuff from a listening position outside of the vehicle.It beats the hell out of using buttons on the unit like other DSPs in the price range.Theres an RTA on the app as well

Limiter:
I didn't see the value in this until I used it.For one, if someone plays around with your volume knob on your head unit, the limiter puts a cap on the voltage going to your amp and will prevent clipping and damage to your speakers.It is a beeyotch to calculate,so I ratched it by trial and error with a voltmeter.Other use of this, if you are using multiple speaker set ups.Lets say you have a sq sub, and a hard pong sub that you interchange.You can set up a separate profile for each, limiting the voltage going to the amp.No need to adjust the physical gain settings on the amp.

Also useful feature, theres a pink noise generator on the unit, but it not accessable via the app.
Thanks for the detailed review. If it doing everything you want, it's probably more than enough for me. I just want simple things like bandpass filters and equalization.

Postby timelapse » November 21st, 2021, 9:11 am

Rovin wrote:u install d foam water protection cups yet ?

too bad i couldnt take d demo yesterday as i had to go for goods but i shud be free during next wk ...
You know how I am.Those already installed as soon as I got home.As for the midbass issue, I tried it both ways, with a big hole and with a tiny hole for the wire . Neither my ears nor the RTA noticed a difference.I eventually cut a big hole in the second one because OCD.We will link up again soon.Hopefully I will finish cleaning the car by then.lol.