what else can they add to a head unit ...

Postby Rovin » October 8th, 2020, 11:16 am

as we on d topic of decks better than d ageing 80prs in somebody thread , i was watching this last night just for knowledge

most ppl wont spend this much $$$ but its amazing how far technology has come ... :shock:

see what i was saying once u get a double din with touch screen u dont even want see a single din again ...

pio 8600NEX is a next 1 packed with features ...

kavaninho

Re: what else can they add to a head unit ...

Postby kavaninho » October 8th, 2020, 6:45 pm

$1200 USD. I wont hang my hat where I cant reach

Postby Rovin » October 8th, 2020, 8:36 pm

d pio down here already priced low 9s , 99prs was 9k too a few yrs back

there are audiophiles who will buy it but i wont spend that on a deck for my car, i draw a line at something maybe 3k

its just amazing to see where technology reach seeing that about 12yrs ago usb far less BT didnt exist on car decks ...

Brian Steele

Postby Brian Steele » October 9th, 2020, 3:21 pm

I won't spend that much on a deck either.

All I need in my case is something like the 80PRS with better BT (support for v5, for example), because that's primarily the way I play music these days. (using Deezer and cached music on my phone).

"Nice to haves" would be parametric EQ (like what they had on the old DEH9200), and the ability to "mirror" the deck to the phone via an App, so I can make adjustments from the phone.

Rage Warrior

Postby Rage Warrior » October 11th, 2020, 10:56 am

Distortion clip light on output signals

Postby Gladiator » October 16th, 2020, 11:08 pm

Optical/Digital out
Bluetooth AptxHD/AptxHD Adaptive
FLAC Hi Res Support

A HU with those would be the bomb...

Postby SR » October 17th, 2020, 7:04 pm

Pioneer smart app already allows full adjustments from your phone. Opens up features on the deck thata not accesable from the deck face like a ful 30 band eq. Even on their low end models

Postby Ted_v2 » November 14th, 2020, 9:32 pm

thats really a great feature, but i think once the phone removed some of the settings does change up, at least that what it sounds like to me. i save the settings on the deck manually but IDK yet

kavaninho

Postby kavaninho » November 15th, 2020, 10:13 am

Ted_v2 wrote:thats really a great feature, but i think once the phone removed some of the settings does change up, at least that what it sounds like to me. i save the settings on the deck manually but IDK yet

I noticed this same thing the one short time I had with this. I can be wrong however. I hope someone can confirm.

Postby SR » November 15th, 2020, 1:02 pm

Didnt have that problem when i played with the a unit.

Issue i had was somtimes the smartsync had problems connecting to the deck.kept having to re sync the bluetooth connection even though it worked fine for phone calls.

Postby Ted_v2 » November 15th, 2020, 9:19 pm

my bluetooth doesnt automatically connect even tho its stored on my iphone. have to always accept the pin on both phone and deck before it works till its disconnected

Postby Rovin » February 5th, 2022, 11:49 am

so i just realised d 2 decks i mentioned in this thread has gone up by us300 so now locally pio 8600nex retailing for tt$11,500 & highend kenwood\jvc is tt$12,500 :shock: :shock: :shock:

best u do like doug soundman on YT & run ah IPAD in ur car ... could even add a dsp to it & still come out cheaper

i still running a 10yr old pio dvd deck in my car ...
Last edited by Rovin on February 5th, 2022, 12:01 pm, edited 1 time in total.

david12

Postby david12 » February 5th, 2022, 11:59 am

Jensen has one that retails for about $400 USD if you don't want to spend kidney money. Of course you get what you pay for.

Postby Rovin » March 19th, 2022, 11:47 am

so anybody else notice hpf & lpf on decks apparently recently going below d 50hz standard they had forever, its now adjustable to 30 & 40 hz

prolly wont make any difference to typical typical trini kiran\kwame who like "bass" 60-150hz & mids playing from 120hz up ...

kavaninho

Postby kavaninho » March 19th, 2022, 4:52 pm

Rovin wrote:so anybody else notice hpf & lpf on decks apparently recently going below d 50hz standard they had forever, its now adjustable to 30 & 40 hz

prolly wont make any difference to typical typical trini kiran\kwame who like "bass" 60-150hz & mids playing from 120hz up ...

I'm pretty sure only 1% of the users will use/appreciate the function.

Brian Steele

Postby Brian Steele » March 19th, 2022, 7:40 pm

Hey, I have my the deck's subwoofer LPF set to 125 Hz. :-)

The electrical filter point doesn't mean squat anyway. It's the acoustic x-over point that counts.

I have mine set pretty high because there's no way that a door-mounted 6.5" is going to handle any amount of decent power below 100 Hz...

Postby timelapse » March 19th, 2022, 8:42 pm

Brian Steele wrote:Hey, I have my the deck's subwoofer LPF set to 125 Hz. :-)

The electrical filter point doesn't mean squat anyway. It's the acoustic x-over point that counts.

I have mine set pretty high because there's no way that a door-mounted 6.5" is going to handle any amount of decent power below 100 Hz...
I have mine at 100 Hz on the processor, after following your recommendations and using an rta app on my phone.It good enough for my daily listening at this point, though I would like to get it done with a proper RTA

Postby timelapse » March 19th, 2022, 8:43 pm

What they could add as regular features are bandpass filters

evolution7tt

Postby evolution7tt » March 22nd, 2022, 5:10 pm

kavaninho wrote:
Rovin wrote:so anybody else notice hpf & lpf on decks apparently recently going below d 50hz standard they had forever, its now adjustable to 30 & 40 hz

I'm pretty sure only 1% of the users will use/appreciate the function.

No way I'd cross a typical midbass that low either. As Brian said, no way they'll handle decent power at that frequency.

I have 8" subs in my doors and still highpass them at 55Hz.