alpine HU - wth?

Postby VexXx Dogg » April 13th, 2018, 4:31 pm

Guys,
I've had my 149bt for about 5 years.
Last year the sub preout took a sheit, started playing scratchy then stopped. Luckily my 5 channel amp can handle 4ch in and do summing so I got back bass.

Last week I noticed my mids were audibly abnormal. Realized that front left speakers were silent.

Started at the amp, speaker and rca connections were fine, deck rca connections were fine.
Isolated using the bal/fader and jiggled everything to see if there was a short or something.
When I was putting in the face back, my hand hit a couple buttons and the EEPROM reset and the silent channel came back on.

What's up with that?

I don't really care for alpine anymore.

Re: alpine HU - wth?

Postby nervewrecker » April 13th, 2018, 7:01 pm

You have seen the light. 80prs or nothing

Postby VexXx Dogg » April 13th, 2018, 8:58 pm

nervewrecker wrote:You have seen the light. 80prs or nothing
Is there a double din equivalent? Next car system getting planned. This van will be my weekend / backup ride. Doh care to sell it tbh

Postby nervewrecker » April 13th, 2018, 9:34 pm

Truth be told im not a double din fan so never really look them up but im sure there is one. I know I saw one already

Postby ruffneck_12 » April 21st, 2018, 7:39 pm

Some possible explanations.

1. The firmware was poorly coded.
2. The hardware storing the firmware is malfunctioning
3a. It's actually a problem with the amplification stage and it coincidently fixed itself when u reset the deck
3b. Obeah

Keep monitoring the problem, if it comes back reset the deck again and see if that solves the problem again.

nick639v2

Postby nick639v2 » April 21st, 2018, 11:13 pm

VexXx Dogg wrote:
nervewrecker wrote:You have seen the light. 80prs or nothing
Is there a double din equivalent? Next car system getting planned. This van will be my weekend / backup ride. Doh care to sell it tbh

Well any higher end pioneer ddin would offer crossovers, network mode etc.

I have a nex-2300. And that is after 80prs days in my last car.

It does the job well, no complaints 4 months in.. but boy do i miss the 80prs