SQ songs?

silent_riot

Re: SQ songs?

Postby silent_riot » April 23rd, 2012, 8:02 am

There are good sounding tracks, and well recorded music.

To evaluate the sound quality of a system, however, a well recorded track that you know what to listen for is all you need.

It can even be a nobody just hitting drumsticks against drums in the most discordant manner, or even a recording of someone just speaking plainly.

Postby nervewrecker » May 3rd, 2012, 10:25 pm

do the following songs even qualify:

orgy - blue monday

the fray - look after you

santana feat rob thomas - smooth

SQ songs?

Postby Hook » May 4th, 2012, 1:42 am

^^^ It depends on what you're looking for in the recording.

Sometimes I look for a tambourine rhythm panned far left or right, or a bass note that shouldn't drop off too quickly, or a cymbal pattern played with a wood-tip stick, or ghost notes on a snare drum, or a discernible difference between "fff" and "sss" sounds, or a "buh" sound that doesn't molest my midbass speakers.
Once you're familiar with what you're listening to, any well-recorded piece of music will do.

The "Smooth" is a nice track for the castanets in the verses and Santana's tones that haven't changed in over 3 decades. Familiarize yourself with what the instruments are supposed to sound like and decide which songs u prefer to use.

Postby nervewrecker » May 4th, 2012, 8:41 am

I think the version of smooth that I have seems to have some distortion in it but apart from that it sounds pretty good.

Blue monday I use for left and right sepeartion and if I am hearing correctly the drums progress from the right to the lef in the starting.

The Fray - look after you, well this was one of the songs I demoed in jeff's van and I can say that the ears really decieve the eyes. If you close your eyes and lean back you can swear the drums are coming from in front the bonnet and a few feet to the left and right of the vehicle.

Hotel California (live) which should be no stranger to this thread. At 0:54I could have sworn the guitars at that point came from the left in jeff's van or does my memory not serve me correctly? It comes from the right in my car 0.o

Postby nervewrecker » May 4th, 2012, 8:47 am

that "fff" and "ss" you speak of is not Sybilencebtw Hook?
I hate to hear it but I am not sure if its the actual songs itself, I am getting quite a bit of it from Mirandas Cosgove's - Kissing you mp3 but none in Evanescence's - My Immortal (live) from an original CD.

Postby gt4tified » May 4th, 2012, 11:54 am

nervewrecker wrote:that "fff" and "ss" you speak of is not Sybilencebtw Hook?
I hate to hear it but I am not sure if its the actual songs itself, I am getting quite a bit of it from Mirandas Cosgove's - Kissing you mp3 but none in Evanescence's - My Immortal (live) from an original CD.

I think Hook's saying that he looks for a discernible difference in them through the instruments in the recording and not vocals??? If it's vocals he's referring to then the question of sibilence definitely is valid.

However, it may be something more like the first set sounds in Sade's Sweetest Taboo, but that more chhh & tssss I guess, but u get the drift.

Postby nervewrecker » May 4th, 2012, 11:56 am

I meant my immortal (acoustic) lol.

Postby gt4tified » May 4th, 2012, 4:08 pm

Oh, lol....scene.

Postby sMASH » July 29th, 2012, 8:11 am

what do u guys think about this for highs, then i believe there are some lows....

kimron

Postby kimron » June 7th, 2015, 10:29 pm

Anymore to add t the list?

Postby gt4tified » July 15th, 2015, 1:29 am

What do you guys think about Cheerleader by OMI? That trumpet...wow!

Postby kurpal_v2 » July 15th, 2015, 9:10 am

gt4tified wrote:What do you guys think about Cheerleader by OMI? That trumpet...wow!

First time I heard it, totally caught off guard and my frontstage reproduced it with authority right there on the dash. Top ten weirdest hardons swear.

INHUMAN

Postby INHUMAN » July 22nd, 2015, 11:07 am

Background audio supercedes the vocals in that song tho.

Postby gt4tified » July 26th, 2015, 10:24 pm

INHUMAN wrote:Background audio supercedes the vocals in that song tho.

True. But that trumpet..... :lol:

EYEandEYE

Postby EYEandEYE » June 27th, 2020, 9:57 pm

What tracks you guys using to tune/ demo these days? Anything new?

Postby Rovin » June 28th, 2020, 12:42 pm

look how much technology has changed during d 15yrs ago when this topic was made

gonna sound like a grandpa here but very few modern popular songs do much for me "SQ wise" so past few yrs i have actually gone back into time re-listening carefully to oldddd songs i took for granted as a kid on d radio or on whatever lame system we had back then

70s music & recordings are just a different , hundreds of songs u can listen to & hear specific things in those recordings if u really sit in ur car by urself u can really appreciate what they did back then

same if u listen to Motown era of songs

try listening to what was referred to as "big bands" orchestras from d 60s , not much bass far less sub in those days but wow at instruments, talent & arrangement

want something really distinctive to listen to ? - ancient timeless sometimes over 100yrs old classical music like these which are eye\ear openers that are still often being used today in tv shows\movies ...

Postby X_Factor » June 28th, 2020, 1:27 pm

I always say that is why "sq" systems are on the decline because modern recordings are not made the same way

And a high percentage of those systems( probably 90%) will be owned by someone over 30yrs old

Postby shake d livin wake d dead » July 2nd, 2020, 8:30 pm

What tracks you guys using to tune/ demo these days? Anything new?[/quote]

In the end remix
I dont care- ed sheeran
Koffe- toast
Collie budz- reggae

These are just to name a few. The vocals from these simply amazing. I digging up on youtube and found sounds dubbed in FLAC quality...so I tested the billie jean and my o my

kavaninho

Postby kavaninho » July 3rd, 2020, 5:02 pm

^ most of those songs are highly electronic and when played on my system does not sound natural especially the collie buddz and that version of "in the end". Is it a gallery system you got there?

Postby Rovin » July 3rd, 2020, 6:41 pm

^^i wud have to somewhat agree with him , not to discourage yuh shakes from posting but yea those wouldnt fit into d criteria

music thats "sounds good" or is very popular wouldnt necessarily be considered SQ type songs

i by no means am a authority on d subject to lecture anybody but what SQ enthusiast look for is trying to reproduce in ur car [given all its limitations] what live natural music in a concert\event with real actual instruments & singing sounds like in front of u as if ur right there in d audience listening to it

watch & listen to a few examples of live even though YT quality is compressed\poor

imagine urself sitting there in d audience taking it in

without seeing any pics or video in ur car of d above or while ur listening to studio recorded music : ur ears shud be able hear everything so it can help ur brain picture\tell where d instruments & singer\s are actually located , left right center .... there are plenty other adjectives that are used to described what ur hearing but lets keep it simple for now [if ur system LRC is mismatched ,unbalanced or in mono then forget about hearing some of this]

this is what SQ guys try to reproduce as best as possible while sitting INside ur car ... i hope this helped

u shud attend a sq event to get a feel of it ... or sit in somebody's car whose systems is sq oriented

Postby shake d livin wake d dead » July 4th, 2020, 2:42 pm

kavaninho wrote:^ most of those songs are highly electronic and when played on my system does not sound natural especially the collie buddz and that version of "in the end". Is it a gallery system you got there?

Gallery yes :oops:

I had to real search for good quality and get them at 320kpbs... but I think the sounds in FLAC quality would feature for the SQ men

Eventually id do a sq and see what happens

Postby SR » July 7th, 2020, 12:00 pm

https://youtu.be/PbdCvzF4qqw

Analog bizness with good centre and stereo separation

If your sub is setup incorect bass guitar sounds like sheit

Postby Rovin » June 30th, 2021, 10:32 pm

thread revival

he used some nice songs here - yall can shazam them, looks like he is recording with a normal cellphone & it still sounds quite good even thru my normal tv speakers ... it sounds fairly loud too with doors open

evolution7tt

Postby evolution7tt » July 1st, 2021, 1:27 pm

Step 1: Don't use any YouTube music to evaluate your system.

Dreadlock Holiday as posted above is an excellent track!

If you're considering downloading any Il Divo tracks to demo / evaluate, don't bother. It's probably one of the WORST recorded / mastered I've ever heard. Yes. I have one of the original CDs.

If system evaluation is the goal (and not just daily listening / listening to what sounds entertaining), then the safest place to start are the car audio competition discs, Focal Demo discs, Chesky Labs, Sheffield Labs, Marantz, Denon, etc, etc.

Do I listen to those daily? Of course not..

Postby ruffneck_12 » July 1st, 2021, 2:41 pm

Overall tonality : Dawn Penn - No No No
She has a very annoying voice, plus the horns can be annoying as well. Good test for mids too tell if you're sounding honky.
(Not many trini systems will pass this, one setta flickin mids)
Just overall good recording/mixing.

Bass Distortion test: Run the Jewels - Oh my darling
This song is on the upper end of how much bass you can cram in a song without it sounding boomy. Highlights problems in your tuning REAL quick

Dynamics/space/bass : Craig Armstrong - Weather Storm
Not a lot of instruments, lots of bass and reverb.
You can tell if your bass is distorting easily since it's basically a pure tone.

Clarity: Any well recorded rock/metal song, I have no favorite here
If your system can reproduce a kick drum/bass guitar AND you can hear vocals clearly, you've done something right.

Postby Rovin » July 1st, 2021, 6:52 pm

i often tell ppl YT quality not good & if they want to know why : youtube it ... but some ppl love d novelty to jes type any song & watch d music video

i actually bought celine dion ultimate essential collection double cd when it came out , not much of a II divo fan but i like 1 or 2 of their songs

this guy had a nice video & some of d stuff he has that i am familiar with i actually agree with some of his opinions ...

Brian Steele

Postby Brian Steele » July 1st, 2021, 10:21 pm

"A British Audiophile" is one of the better Youtubers out there. I came across his channel several months ago.

Postby rollingstock » July 2nd, 2021, 11:34 pm

Michael Jackson dirty Diana has always been one of my go to.

And surprisingly older Bollywood show tunes.

kamakazi

Postby kamakazi » July 3rd, 2021, 3:36 pm

Wale - love hate thing
Marvin gaye - I want you (from the jmlabs Focal demo disc)
Lil John - get low
Guns and roses - welcome to the jungle
Lindsey Stirling - Crystallize Orchestral version
Huey Lewis and the news - it's alright

Postby Rovin » July 4th, 2021, 7:13 pm

kamakazi wrote:Wale - love hate thing
Marvin gaye - I want you (from the jmlabs Focal demo disc)
Lil John - get low
Guns and roses - welcome to the jungle
Lindsey Stirling - Crystallize Orchestral version
Huey Lewis and the news - it's alright

an interesting list there - what shud we be specifically looking for in each song ? ... :|