SQ songs?

Postby X_Factor » October 9th, 2005, 10:50 am

how about la lsla bonita...frozen

depeche mode---policy of truth

celine dion --think twice....most of her songs

there is a song.,...annie lennox--love song for a vampire
if u eva hear the low deep bass on that!!

alanis morissette --univited

is prodigy good or a bit 2 noisy?
Last edited by X_Factor on April 21st, 2009, 12:33 am, edited 1 time in total.

MBC Autotronix

Postby MBC Autotronix » October 9th, 2005, 12:43 pm

some indian music (film songs) have PLENTY to look for in music .
ask SR

nigel1977

Postby nigel1977 » October 9th, 2005, 12:45 pm

celine - call the man
tears for fears - woman in chains, everybody wants to rule the world
fleetwood mac - landslide
madonna - holiday, lucky star, like a prayer, .....
genesis - land of confusion, mama
julio inglesias - moonlight lady
dire straits - money for nothing, brothers in arms
godsmack - spiral
eagles - life in the fast lane
sublime - mucho gusto :mrgreen:
metallica - no leaf clover, enter sandman - both from the s&m cd set.
sade - no ordinary love, pearls
gypsy kings - bumbuleo
journey . too much to mention...
sting - englishman in new york

i'l put some more later

fuzz_174

Postby fuzz_174 » October 9th, 2005, 1:29 pm

no doubt-hella good

a couple michael jackson songs- thriller, the way u make me feel, the earth song

sarah brightman-Deliver me

Roxette-listen to your heart

Enigma- Once in a lifetime

Postby VexXx Dogg » October 9th, 2005, 6:20 pm

i like

madonna - frozen, this used to be my playground
enya - orinoco flow
eagles - hotel california (live version. 7:02 minutes)

and a couple from them fellas^^

Postby X_Factor » October 9th, 2005, 7:09 pm

sarah brightman-Deliver me

great song

duran duran--come undone

nigel1977

Postby nigel1977 » October 9th, 2005, 9:59 pm

m.j. - ds, money, billy jean, thriller, off the wall, smooth criminal
steel pulse - king james version, roller skates, bodyguard
sarah mclachlan - adia, angel, fubling towards ectacy, building a mystery
roxette - joyride
311 -

SnipeR

Postby SnipeR » October 9th, 2005, 11:39 pm

X_Factor wrote:
great song

duran duran--come undone

BIG TUNE THERE!! 8)

redsupra101

Postby redsupra101 » October 10th, 2005, 12:16 am

well iiii kinda new in the sq business but

i like this indian song.. iz have the words 'yeh vadda' and 'ill b there for u' in it.. i not sure what the name is ( i thought it was yeh vadda ) its a kinda technoy indian thing?

and.. yall saw the fifth element? remember the part where the blue lady was doing her opera song? i like that one 2

plus

sarah mclachan - building a mystery, the one that goes 'cuz we are born, innocent'
sting - englishman in new york
alanis - un invited

Anton

Postby Anton » October 10th, 2005, 8:00 am

there is a song.,...annie lennox--love song for a vampire
if u eva hear the low deep bass on that!!

That song is one of my favourites!

Postby SR » October 10th, 2005, 8:32 am

leh meh add some more there

dire straits sultans of swing........listen to the guitars close to the ned of the track
fleetwood mac silver springs live from their last live cd/dvd actually the entire cd is great
listen to lindsey buckingham guitar......acoustic giutar on big love especially

madonna...............nuff said from her first album to her most recent great recordings..........
same for michael jackson albums

in indian music................taal soundtrack great for testing mids and midrange amplifiers

roxette live...................great acoustic work

eurythmics live...........here comes the rain again

sarah mclaughlin live any album

carly simon greates hits

toto..........greatest hits

i could go on and on with this list

actually i think i will do a sound q test list when i get back for you guys

DONT rip from mp3's try and get it from the original cd's as much as possible and not burnt copies unless you are sure of the quality of the burnt cd

~snYper~

Postby ~snYper~ » October 10th, 2005, 9:39 am

adding one more to the set...

KASSAV... Live

nigel1977

Postby nigel1977 » October 10th, 2005, 9:57 am

original cd's yeah!!!!!!!!
for the guys who say that an audible difference cant be heard from a copied or ripped cd... yuh system eh ready. dun talk!!!!

kai

Postby kai » October 10th, 2005, 11:43 am

The lion king soundtrack
Madonna - I'm going bananas
Madonna - He is a man
Jennifer Warnes - The hunter
Beverly hills cop theme song
Alka Yagnik and Shaan - kuch to hua hai
Broken arrow's theme song - Hans zimmer
Anne lennox - a whiter shade of pale
Last edited by kai on October 10th, 2005, 6:18 pm, edited 2 times in total.

~snYper~

Postby ~snYper~ » October 10th, 2005, 5:08 pm

nigel1977 wrote:original cd's yeah!!!!!!!!
for the guys who say that an audible difference cant be heard from a copied or ripped cd... yuh system eh ready. dun talk!!!!

moreso the digitally remastered versions are waaaaay kool 8)

Postby VexXx Dogg » October 10th, 2005, 8:00 pm

if u cant get original is mp3 192 kbps up or wma @ 192 kbps
at least for me any way...
but then again i am not active in the SQ scene i just like my music CLEAN.

Soundstream_626

Postby Soundstream_626 » October 10th, 2005, 9:23 pm

anna nalick - breathe
khabi khushie khabi gham soundtrack - suraj hua maddham <......try dat biatch das a bess song

Postby Hook » October 10th, 2005, 11:17 pm

so with all these tunes u folks call...the only person who explained why he chose some of them was SR...why do u guys like these songs for SQ?

my personal favourites are:
Toto:
Rosanna (for the ghost notes on the snare drum)
Africa (for the cow bell in the original version on the far right)

Rush:
Show Don't Tell (for the roto-tom intro...but basically all Rush songs have very busy basslines that a good system should keep up with)

Sarah McLachlan (Mirrorball):
Sweet Surrender (pinch harmonics on the intro)
Fear (extreme left/right panning on the back-up vocals near end of intro and hi-hat tapping before the verse)
Posession (plenty to listen to there...esp two stick clicks before drum fill intro)

Sade:
Ordinary Love (lead vocal is dead centre and bass sounds 'bubbly' with the synth)
Cherish the Day (from the Lover's Live album...bass creeps in at the middle of the first verse...a proper EQ/XO setting won't get the fade from front stage to sub on the bass fill)
Pearls (voice/synth and EQ on her voice on the album can highlight the faults in ur high-mid settings)

Nirvana (Unplugged...entire album, Cobain's voice is dead centre and everything else pans out)

Roxette:
Listen to Your Heart (low bass note before the verse is easy to muddy up)

The Carpenters:
I Need to Be in Love (for the harp and flute on the intro)

Fourplay:
any song, any album...lots to listen to...very processed instruments but their percussion line is busy enough to keep u listening out for stuff

thas about all I can remember off the top of my head, but thas the bulk of it

Postby VexXx Dogg » October 11th, 2005, 12:54 am

well anyone willing to make a SQ mp3/wma CD?
top quality stuff?
willin to pay!

nigel1977

Postby nigel1977 » October 11th, 2005, 5:51 am

ban mp3's!!!!!!!!!!!!!! :lol:

adam_ant_tt

Postby adam_ant_tt » October 11th, 2005, 1:39 pm

i rip my own original cd's at wma 192kbps..... to me it really really clean. i cant yet tell the difference.. thing is you need to know where it came from... i only trust stuff i ripped myself.

~snYper~

Postby ~snYper~ » October 11th, 2005, 3:59 pm

^^ amm no matter what rate you rip a cd to convert to MP3 format, you WILL loose quality.

There are programs which claim to loose virtually no quality, but they are not stored in MP3 format :idea:

adam_ant_tt

Postby adam_ant_tt » October 11th, 2005, 8:56 pm

i am aware of this, all is sayin is that the wma 192kb is reel damn good...
wma is WAY better than mp3 for a few reasons... one of them being that mp3's cut off the "inaudible" frequencies as part of their compression method... wma does not do this....
anyway until my system can differentiate, i using the 192 wma's :mrgreen:

Postby Hook » October 11th, 2005, 10:35 pm

mines can differentiate the 192 mp3's from original discs so even tho space is compromised, ripping at 256/320kb gives me a bit of both scenarios...better than 192kb but I can still store multiple albums on one disc...the VBR WMAs have their merits but...*sigh* y can't they invent a *.ape disc player jed?!

but still, nobody answered my question...why are these songs ur fav SQ tunes? u can't tell me (being much more serious SQ folks than myself and investing all this in ur system) and u posting up a song list because is "real bad tunes"...let's hear y u like these songs for SQ

~snYper~

Postby ~snYper~ » October 12th, 2005, 7:43 am

mines can differentiate the 192 mp3's from original discs so even tho space is compromised, ripping at 256/320kb gives me a bit of both scenarios...better than 192kb but I can still store multiple albums on one disc...the VBR WMAs have their merits but...*sigh* y can't they invent a *.ape disc player jed?!

showoff :lol:

Postby Hook » October 12th, 2005, 8:13 am

^^^ lol..hear dis man nuh :lol:

nigel1977

Postby nigel1977 » October 12th, 2005, 8:35 am

godsmack, gypsy kings, steel pulse, - grrreat percussion
sting - i eh sure if is dem big ass violin thingy, but it sure sounds smooth
madonna - fantastic vocals. really good recording by maverick.
sade - vocals and percussion
celine - thats one singer whose voice can go real low and then hit some real high notes
mj- i feel maverick would have done a better job than epic with the mastering.
dire straits - mark knopfler is a boss. air studios, so sad to loose yuh. if you listen to the lyrics, its a bucnh of redneck but i can tell you, its sounds like big band music. tons of instruments, and very well recorded.
just got a copy of nina simone. - missisippi god damn, aunt sarah, sinnerman, powerful lyrics, her imaging seemed to move around a lot, but was always well defined wherever it was.

Postby ~Vēġó~ » October 15th, 2005, 6:37 pm

madonna - frozen, this used to be my playground
enya - orinoco flow
eagles - hotel california (live version. 7:02 minutes)

I agree wholeheartedly with these choices!!!!

De IMPERIAL

Postby De IMPERIAL » October 15th, 2005, 9:17 pm

ub40 kingston town
yuh char touch da one

nigel1977

Postby nigel1977 » October 16th, 2005, 11:02 am

i think what we are getting at, is what you like about the songs.
the purpose of that is to engourage the people to critically listen to the music now, and look for the instruments and the quality of the recordings that you were overlooked before.

its a good idea that encourages awareness that something cant only sound "good" but now can be tonally accurate as well as be staged and iimaged properly.

and to do this, and i've seen international judges do this,..... is to close youre eyes when you listen. so that means dont listen when youre driving... when you close your eyes, only your ears are used to tell where the music is coming from. there are no distractions and you get a better listening experience.
try it.