SQ songs?

kamakazi

Re: SQ songs?

Postby kamakazi » July 5th, 2021, 4:51 am

Who knows...

In the Wale tune I like how the repeating chorus blends in.
Guns and roses to hear how it deals with fairly fast paced rock music and the voice of Axl

The remixed Marvin tune. I have to preface this one by saying I'm not an audiophile and I don't pretend to be. This demo song is remixed and cleaned up, that all the "authenticity" goes right out the window. But what they have created sounds so good. They play his voice over his voice that makes it sound like a duet. Isolating the vocals, removing a lot of other melodies and increasing the size of the sound stage. I just love it.

Lil John get low - not the bassist tune by any means but will push the bass in most systems.

I generally like orchestral pieces to see if I can identify instruments. The Lindsey Stirling piece cause I also like a country sounding violin

Huey Lewis - not exactly sure if it is mid bass(not sure if it is all vocals) or what is creating it but I like how the vocals blend with it

Postby Rovin » July 6th, 2021, 2:12 pm

thanks for taking d time at nearly 5am to explain

never heard d 1st song

have marvin's collection so i will have to give that song a run to refresh my memory

lil jon song 18yrs old already, good for lows to shake d place once ur sub & enclosure able, i wouldnt call it sq but it does gives ur sub a workout

i only discovered Lindsey about a mth back, its different but nice, dynamic song

occasionally i play huey whole album in front my store , good 80s music not necessarily what i wud think of us sq reference stuff but thats just me ...

Postby Gladiator » July 6th, 2021, 9:19 pm

Natalie Merchant - Maggie Said, Ladybird, Texas
Jenifer Warnes - Bird on a Wire
Yao Si Ting - Yesterday Once More, Unchained Melody, Speak Softly Love, You rise me Up, (Endless Love Collection)
Micheal Jackson - Liberian Girl
Yello - Planet Dada
Sara K - Stars
Dire Straits - Your Latest Trick
Anges Obel - Dorian

Postby ruffneck_12 » July 6th, 2021, 10:25 pm

rollingstock wrote:Michael Jackson dirty Diana has always been one of my go to.

And surprisingly older Bollywood show tunes.

Yeah old Bollywood songs can really test the annoying frequencies QUICK

One setta high pitched something, doh even know the instrument.

Postby SR » July 7th, 2021, 6:27 am

Dreams Fleetwood Mac

Bass guitar should not sound as if its comming from the sub but the front of you or at least from the front doors. Good track to check your tuning settings on midbass and sub bass. Also proper installation on the front doors and choice of speakers.

Postby X_Factor » July 7th, 2021, 7:56 am

Shallow---at 18 and 38sec there is a very subtle drum bass

Postby Rovin » July 9th, 2021, 6:59 pm

3 songs imo that will test d range, depth, tightness, accuracy of ur sub, enclosure design & how well it blends with ur front stage

1st time i heard this in my workshop sub it shake galvanise roof in such a way i really tort was thunder like if rain coming before realizing its d song

a ballad that has some nasty low notes, her voice will test ur front stage too

this heartbeat pulsing beat has a wide dynamic range ...

Postby Rovin » February 18th, 2022, 12:08 pm

what u guys using these days ?

i know this is olddddd stuff ppl been using for donkey yrs but for those who never heard or pay attention to PINK FLOYD's nearly 50 yr old album from 1973, DARK SIDE OF THE MOON ... very unique stuff, doesnt make sense talking about it so go listen on ur sq system

Postby timelapse » February 18th, 2022, 1:20 pm

Rovin wrote:what u guys using these days ?

i know this is olddddd stuff ppl been using for donkey yrs but for those who never heard or pay attention to PINK FLOYD's nearly 50 yr old album from 1973, DARK SIDE OF THE MOON ... very unique stuff, doesnt make sense talking about it so go listen on ur sq system
Crosses, Johnny Cash, Marilyn Manson last album.

Postby rollingstock » February 18th, 2022, 1:41 pm

I rather pelt my equipment is a dirty drain than listen to Manson.

evolution7tt

Postby evolution7tt » February 18th, 2022, 2:18 pm

rollingstock wrote:I rather pelt my equipment is a dirty drain than listen to Manson.

Same here.

Postby Rovin » February 18th, 2022, 2:34 pm

manson is considered to be SQ music ??? - i dunno about that 1

i like hard rock & metal from late 60s to mid 90s after then i didnt care much about those new artists, MM i prolly hear a few songs but not my cup of tea

JC i mighten class it as sq but yea good stuff, didnt know it had a band name crosses existed ... :|

Postby sMASH » February 18th, 2022, 7:21 pm

evolution7tt wrote:
rollingstock wrote:I rather pelt my equipment is a dirty drain than listen to Manson.

Same here.
After the Bible is Manson...then ramstein.

Postby rollingstock » February 18th, 2022, 9:04 pm

Rather eat ramen.
That genre of rock does cause ear fatigue.

I class that with them new gunman in yuh hole kinda music

altec

Postby altec » February 18th, 2022, 9:43 pm

still enjoying Spanish Harlem Rebecca Pidgeon
https://youtu.be/_RMTEWsGGEg

david12

Postby david12 » February 19th, 2022, 7:07 am

There is this "flac" yt channel that has alot of old pop songs, rock etc. Not bad for the average person.

For me Hotel California will always be the first song that I play when I finish an install.

Brian Steele

Postby Brian Steele » February 19th, 2022, 11:06 am

Postby timelapse » February 19th, 2022, 6:41 pm

Postby timelapse » February 19th, 2022, 6:47 pm

Postby timelapse » February 19th, 2022, 6:49 pm

https://youtu.be/o0MIFHLIzZY
Listen for chains in this one

Postby timelapse » February 19th, 2022, 6:51 pm

Postby Rovin » February 19th, 2022, 7:33 pm

what are we looking for in this track ? ... :|

Brian Steele wrote:

Postby timelapse » February 20th, 2022, 7:42 am

Rovin wrote:what are we looking for in this track ? ... :|

Brian Steele wrote:
The tonality of the background drums I think.There is a distinct spacial difference in the cymbalwork.

Brian Steele

Postby Brian Steele » February 20th, 2022, 9:16 am

timelapse wrote:
Rovin wrote:what are we looking for in this track ? ... :|

Brian Steele wrote:
The tonality of the background drums I think.There is a distinct spacial difference in the cymbalwork.

What he said :).

Postby rollingstock » February 20th, 2022, 10:04 am

De left/right doop doop?

Postby Rovin » February 20th, 2022, 11:52 am

why i asked not really a fan of wknd & many of these modern artists who imo doesnt make music of much substance so i never really listened to his stuff other than what i hear constantly being played on radio stations ... did d\l some of his songs few days ago just to play in front my shop so i may put it in a flashdrive & take a listen in my car

Postby timelapse » February 20th, 2022, 5:10 pm

rollingstock wrote:De left/right doop doop?
Nah ,de ching chicka ching.
On my system,it comes from an elevated position, above the vocals.I might have this wrongside:
You can hear the high hat sizzle coming from slightly to the right, a ride/crash cymbal a little more to the right and higher than the hats.To the left is another ride/crash and a smaller cymbal, probably a smaller ride,a splash or a china.Drummers would know better.If that's not a real drum set for those parts, the programmer know what he's doing.

Postby timelapse » February 20th, 2022, 5:17 pm

These
IMG_20220220_171621.jpg

Brian Steele

Postby Brian Steele » February 20th, 2022, 6:43 pm

Rovin wrote:why i asked not really a fan of wknd & many of these modern artists who imo doesn't make music of much substance so i never really listened to his stuff other than what i hear constantly being played on radio stations ... did d\l some of his songs few days ago just to play in front my shop so i may put it in a flashdrive & take a listen in my car

TBH, I wasn't much of a fan of The Weeknd too... until he released "Blinding Lights", and being a child of the 80s. I really liked the 80s vibe of that track, and of course when the bass line turned Matilda into a massage machine, I liked it even more :).

This time I actually like the remixes a bit more than the originals. In this case, Swedish House Mafia did a remix of The Weeknd's "Sacrifice" that IMO turned out to be pretty awesome (to date, it's the only track I've played in my car where a nearby driver Shazam'd the track and started playing it in his car too, LOL). It has a bit of that MJ's "Thriller" period to it, the top end sounds crystal clear and IMO fantastic, and the bass doesn't have that overly-compressed mushy sound that has come to feature many pop tunes released these days.

altec

Postby altec » February 22nd, 2022, 12:29 pm

Really digging the weekend.....much 80s love