Which 8" Sub is the best? (4.75" mounting depth)

brakefluid

Which 8" Sub is the best? (4.75" mounting depth)

Postby brakefluid » August 8th, 2015, 12:00 pm

Hi all,

I am looking for the best 8" sub to fit behind the back seat of a pickup.
I want the loudest possible sub with a mounting depth ideally 4.5" I can adjust to 4.75" MAXIMUM. This is the only constraint.

As is the norm, the dealers of a particular brand will rate theirs' and bash the other brands.

I have heard a demo of the MMATS P208D 300rms and the DD500 300rms. The MMATS was more impressive.

However the other brands that I have been made aware of are
1. Sundown SD 2 400rms
2. Skar (i wouldnt bother)
3. JL W3v3 250 RMS

What are your views?

brakefluid

Re: Which 8" Sub is the best? (4.75" mounting depth)

Postby brakefluid » August 8th, 2015, 12:11 pm

Someone said that no owner ever complained about JLs, is that true?

brakefluid

Postby brakefluid » August 8th, 2015, 12:23 pm

JL and Sundown actually state that a small enclosure is required

INHUMAN

Postby INHUMAN » August 9th, 2015, 12:10 pm

What wrong to d skar? You eh have space to even begin with ent? Lol. Go with dd...errbody goin with dd. Space > quality is the case here anyways

Postby nervewrecker » August 9th, 2015, 12:55 pm

brakefluid wrote:Someone said that no owner ever complained about JLs, is that true?

All owners complain about the suspension rot issue.

Whats wrong with the skar though? Just asking

JBL is a nice addition to your list btw:

http://www.crutchfield.com/S-fPKRd40Jsm ... TO804.html

Postby meccalli » August 9th, 2015, 8:11 pm

3v3's suspensions and w6's still disintegrating after all these years? The above as well as the infinity 850/860w are great subs. The v3's are great sounding subs imo but the above are much more bang for buck and sensitivity is higher.

Postby Ted_v2 » August 9th, 2015, 9:08 pm

Who sells the mmats?

pmar88

Postby pmar88 » August 9th, 2015, 11:41 pm

What's wrong with skar??? I currently have a 8".

brakefluid

Postby brakefluid » August 10th, 2015, 12:16 am

I have never heard of skar being the prefered choice in a line up with other brands. So the question i now ask is how will a skar compare to the other models?

INHUMAN

Postby INHUMAN » August 10th, 2015, 1:10 am

What abt the dc 8? Jed jus google best 8" sub and ur parameters...

Aimar

Postby Aimar » August 10th, 2015, 3:54 pm

Most JL subs have rubber surrounds. That includes W3v3 and W6v3.

Jl Audio never let me down over the years.

fareed7298

Postby fareed7298 » August 10th, 2015, 4:44 pm

What vehicle u putting it in?

OffshoreMarketing

Postby OffshoreMarketing » August 10th, 2015, 4:56 pm

ide put skar 8's up against any 8 in this group but its all good ..maybe the vd-8 might work for u

bonzo28

Postby bonzo28 » August 10th, 2015, 7:26 pm

Sundown SD 8 is a great sub, those the job like a boss. I personally did a fiber glass box in a ranger (2010 model). Great sub that's well built, cast frame and very heavy for and 8 inch.

Postby nervewrecker » August 10th, 2015, 7:45 pm

The newer JL subs use rubber, havent heard anything about them yet.

The DC, Infinity and I assume Sundown cant work because of the space (depth) constraints.

Havent looked at the depth of the Alpine, Image Dynamics and RE audio 8's but they can be nice addition's to the list. Heard both and they were great performers.

bonzo28

Postby bonzo28 » August 11th, 2015, 12:01 am

Actually the sundown sd 8 is 4.75''.

brakefluid

Postby brakefluid » August 11th, 2015, 11:28 pm

The most convincing thing for me would be to hear it under user conditions and not frighten to raise d volume.

INHUMAN

Postby INHUMAN » August 12th, 2015, 1:13 am

Well chum...fish around to see who has 8's in their vehicles, shops in a similar box to get a variety of demos n make ur choice cus u jes expecting ppl to read ur mind with what u want and taste in music reproduction. Simple