WTK PIONEER VS ALPINE

SanjayBasdeo

WTK PIONEER VS ALPINE

Postby SanjayBasdeo » September 29th, 2005, 9:36 am

OK I HAVE A FRIEND INTERESTED IN MY DECK

HE WANTS KNOW WHICH IS BETTER

..............PIONEER PREMIER 860.....................

VS

...............ALPINE 9815......................

SO LETS HEAR IT

~snYper~

Postby ~snYper~ » September 29th, 2005, 9:39 am

steups tell him he wasting he time to compare (ent roger) :lol:

Postby SR » September 29th, 2005, 10:25 am

860 has a 13 band eq.............................

Neo

Postby Neo » September 29th, 2005, 11:33 am

hahaha tell them nah plus the 860 could self adjust the whole sound system itself by pluging in the mic and many more other features

evo-STI-k

Postby evo-STI-k » September 29th, 2005, 11:37 am

:roll: steups :roll:

Neo

Postby Neo » September 29th, 2005, 11:40 am

sii_co_dan wrote::roll: steups :roll:

what kind of mc reply is that?

nigel1977

Postby nigel1977 » September 29th, 2005, 12:50 pm

9815 has 5 band parametric eq. 6 ch time aligmment, zero bit mute, 24db.oct 3 way crossover, user presets 6 slots each for time alignment, eq and xo.

~snYper~

Postby ~snYper~ » September 29th, 2005, 1:20 pm

Neo wrote:
sii_co_dan wrote::roll: steups :roll:

what kind of mc reply is that?

nigel1977 wrote:9815 has 5 band parametric eq. 6 ch time aligmment, zero bit mute, 24db.oct 3 way crossover, user presets 6 slots each for time alignment, eq and xo.

thaas y :lol:

Postby SR » September 29th, 2005, 1:38 pm

PIONEER feaures
Premier™ CD Receiver with Customizable Multicolor Organic EL Display, Auto Slide Flap Face, MP3/WMA/WAV Playback, Built-in DSP with 13-Band Graphic EQ, Auto-EQ and Auto Time Alignment, Burr-Brown DAC's, BMX Digital Compression, MOSFET50, XM-Ready, Supertuner® IIID™, IP-Bus System Control, 10-Key Remote, Rotary Volume Control, Detachable Face Security™, and Hi-Volt Preouts

MP3 and WMA Playback
Don't let your favorite music downloads languish on your computer hard drive. Burn them to a CD-R or CD-RW and play them on one of our MP3 and WMA compatible headunits. Each disc you burn has the capacity to hold up to ten complete albums of MP3 music and twenty for WMA discs. Trust us, that's a lot of music. And since these CDs hold so much data, you'll be happy to know that Pioneer MP3 headunits also include a random play mode. You'll also be pleasantly surprised to find that our players support ID3 Tags and WMA text, which display artist, title, track and album information, just like your computer.

Multicolor OEL Display with Screensavers
The DEH-P860MP’s Multicolor OEL (Organic Electroluminescent) display lets you customize the look of your dash with color and motion. It can actually play movies, animations, and pictures. It comes with screensaver movies, a level indicator, background animations, and background pictures. Customize your screen with fresh background pictures or screensavers, or create your own from your digital pictures or home movies, using the FREE Pioneer OEL Screensaver Studio software! Just download Pioneer’s free OEL Screensaver Studio software and follow the easy instructions.

This display also provides you with way more music information. For viewing MP3 information, the DEH-P860MP supports both ID3v1 tags and the more current ID3v2. Up to 16 characters can be shown on the display at one time, vs. 8-10 characters on most competitors’ models… meaning that you can see most artists’ full names, not some funky abbreviation.

Auto-Flap Motorized Face
Loading a CD into the Auto-Flap Motorized Face is actually fun. Push the OPEN button and the motorized face plate slides out of the way to expose the CD slot, and back again when the CD’s loaded. Just for fun, do it again. And when you leave the vehicle, the face can go with you. Just push the OPEN button, pull the face toward you, and pop it into the included face case. And out you go. Another advantage with this design: the face protects the CD slot from dust.

Auto EQ
Finding the "sweet spot", or optimal listening position, is complicated by sound's reflection and damping, as well as variable speaker positioning in the irregular shaped confines of a car. Such conditions tend to degrade frequency characteristics. Auto EQ automatically fine-tunes the entire range of the music's frequency bandwidth, using 13-band graphic equalization for front and rear speakers. Simply plug in the included microphone and let the frequency band fine-tuning go to work. It;s like having a sound engineer customize your in-car sound system.

Auto Time Alignment
Pioneer's innovative Auto Time Alignment automatically shifts the soundstage in front of the listeners, bringing out the vocals in the process, to create the optimal in-car reproduction of your music. Using the included microphone, it estimates the delay from each speaker to the listening position and adjusts the speaker sound output timing accordingly. The output timing for each speaker is adjusted precisely so that the sound from each speaker, wherever it is installed, reaches the driver's ears at the same time, thus optimizing the listening experience.

Hi-Volt (6.5V) Pre-Outs
If you decide to connect an amplifier to the DEH-P860MP, its three Hi-Volt (6.5V) pre-outs will deliver a clean, powerful signal path. The higher the volts that a pre-out provides, the better the signal strength to your amp, and then your amp doesn’t have to work as hard. These Hi-Volt pre-outs help give you better dynamics, crisper highs, and big, deep bass.

BMX (Bit Media eXpander) Digital Enhancement
Compressed file formats such as MP3 and WMA are now as common as the Internet. But there are people who feel that compressed music sounds thin, flat and short of depth. This is because the data representing a delicate sound barely over the threshold of perception is essentially ignored during compression.
To correct this common problem, Pioneer developed BMX technology. BMX studies what's left of the delicate sound frequencies that are usually ignored and makes the necessary adjustments. This improves the shape and overall depth of sound, which results in enjoyment to the ears, especially in the noisy car environment.
- BMX1 enhances the depth and width of the sound field, making music sound really lively.
- BMX2 improves the sense of presence.

Satellite Radio Ready? Ready.
Satellite Radio. It’s digital, high-quality programming beamed from satellites. And the signal that doesn’t fade, no matter where you drive. It offers commercial-free music of nearly every genre, plus talk, news, sports, weather, and more. There are two companies that offer this great product — XM Radio and Sirius Satellite Radio — and the Premier DEH-P860MP is compatible with both of these subscription-based services. So you choose. You’ll just need a Pioneer digital satellite tuner to match the satellite service you select.

iPod Adapter Ready!
Attention current and future iPod owners: this deck can be your gateway to taking your iPod music collection on the road! The new Pioneer CD-IB100 iPod Adapter is now available to add to your Pioneer headunit. Once you connect this adapter, you can control your iPod through the headunit and even view album, artist, and other music info on its display. The Pioneer iPod adapter powers your iPod and even re-charges its internal battery. Just think: now you can play all of your iPod tunes via a powerful Pioneer mobile audio system!

Premier® Two-Year Warranty
The warranty on this model is two years — double the warranty period of most headunit models currently on the market.

Alpine features 9855 as the 9815 is no longer made
• 50W MAX x 4 High Power Amplifier
• 3 PreOuts (4V)
• SwingFace GlideTouch Mechanism
• SAT Radio Ready
• Ready for iPod®
• Bass Engine Pro™
- 6-Channel Digital Time Correction
- 6-Position HP/LP Digital Crossover
-Subwoofer Level Control
-Subwoofer Phase Selector
-Bass Focus
• 5-Band Digital Parametric Equalizer
• 3- Way or 2-Way Digital Channel Crossover
• Media Xpander™
• CD-R/RW Playback
• MP3/WMA Decoder/Playback
• MP3 Text Information Display
• QuickSearch Function (MP3 Files)
• CD Text, CD Text Display, CD Text Scroll
• CD Shuttle Control Function
• Versatile-Link™ Ready
• MaxTune SQ Tuner
• Regulated 1-Bit DAC
• Wireless Remote Control Included
• OEM Steering Remote Ready
• Detachable Trim Plate
• Anti-Theft Detachable Front Panel

pioneer uses BURR BROWN DAC's
13 band eq over a 5 band parametric
6.5 volt over 4 volt out

so its up to the buyer to decide

my own opinion is the alpine time alignment is better that the pioneer's in this product range

alpine's sub out voltage is not as high as pioneer's
pioneer's fm reception is BOSS

just my opinion on the 2 head units

Postby SR » September 29th, 2005, 1:39 pm

Postby SR » September 29th, 2005, 1:41 pm

pioneer has a swing face alpine has a motorised face

also the new slide menu feature makes it easier to scroll thru menu's on the alpine

Neo

Postby Neo » September 29th, 2005, 2:27 pm

so SR which one you would recommend to a friend?

evo-STI-k

Postby evo-STI-k » September 29th, 2005, 3:00 pm

:roll: steeeeeeeupssssss :roll:

Postby SR » September 29th, 2005, 3:09 pm

depends on what your friend is looking for
both are great decks
if your freind is using an after market eq then the time alignment and xover features and eq's are not used on either head unit
so take thos features away then compare

motorised face over swing face
smooth graphics display over el type display
slide button
6.5 volts over 4
burr-brown dac's

so now decide
both decks sound great its the balance of features you now have to look at based on application

Sully

Postby Sully » October 2nd, 2005, 12:36 pm

From this post it sounds as though sr is selling pioneer head units.

fuzz_174

Postby fuzz_174 » October 2nd, 2005, 2:31 pm

actually he's sellin Alpine units... :mrgreen:

Sully

Postby Sully » October 2nd, 2005, 11:43 pm

^^ Give it time, then see what happens.

MBC Autotronix

Postby MBC Autotronix » October 3rd, 2005, 12:03 am

Sully wrote:From this post it sounds as though sr is selling pioneer head units.

my sentiments exactly Sully

SR leaning plenty towards pioneer these days

Postby SR » October 3rd, 2005, 8:40 am

allyu find so eh
but people does buy decks just cause of how much features it has or how it looks when they actually do not use most of the features in the deck

so it comes down to application based on the system design

especailly if you already have a systems and are just replacing the deck

i like both alpine and pioneer they both have thier strong and weak points however for most of the systems i do either brand will have a model that will work well with the system design

the original question was which was better premier 860 or alpine 9815
difficult to choose between as they are both different types of decks
and the alpine 9815 is not made anymore

premier has a 13 band eq so this will eliminate the need for an ext eq
alpine eq processing is quite good so you may not require further equalization
both decks have time alignment
premier has a higher voltage out..this is always good
alpine is know for a lower voltage out on the sub output however the signal out on the remaining outputs tend to be a but cleaner than the premier....this may not be noticeable to some people due to their own degredation of hearing due to temp or permanent hearing damage from listening to music for long periods at high volume levels..........MOST people who sit in these loud playing gallary vehicles suffer temp or permanent hearing loss........THATS A FACT
lsitneing to music above 120 dB will cause temp hearing damage
lots of these systems play above 140dB which is 6 times louder than 120dB

so for some people the quality difference between the head units may not be heard due to their already damaged hearing ability