Help with enclosure for Infinity 860w

turbonator

Help with enclosure for Infinity 860w

Postby turbonator » July 6th, 2015, 6:44 am

I'm trying to add a little bass to the sound system in my car. Nothing too over the top, just enough for inside the car. The sub I am going to use will be the Infinity 8" 860w (250 wrms). Can anyone offer some advice WRT building the enclosure? The following are the specs from Harman:

http://www.caraudio-image.ru/manuals/Infinity/REF860W.pdf

Re: Help with enclosure for Infinity 860w

Postby ruffneck_12 » July 6th, 2015, 8:48 am

Know someone with that same sub in the recommended ported enclosure on that link.
It's good enough for what you looking for

What you want help with? the actual woodworking?

turbonator

Postby turbonator » July 6th, 2015, 9:17 am

Well from the spec sheet it says that the ported enclosure should have a volume of 0.6ft^3 but is this gross volume or net (taking into account the volume of the woofer and port)? Also I tried plugging in the woofer's parameters into winISD pro and came up with this:

I know the port length is ridiculous but I guess it can be reduced by reducing the port area, but will this increase/cause any port noise? The more research I do on this the more I'm feeling that I should just carry it by someone to build :oops: .

Postby ruffneck_12 » July 6th, 2015, 5:37 pm

turbonator wrote:Well from the spec sheet it says that the ported enclosure should have a volume of 0.6ft^3 but is this gross volume or net (taking into account the volume of the woofer and port)?

The volume in the spec sheet doh take the volume of the sub/port into account. You will have to compensate for that

turbonator wrote:I know the port length is ridiculous but I guess it can be reduced by reducing the port area, but will this increase/cause any port noise? The more research I do on this the more I'm feeling that I should just carry it by someone to build

a 4" port seems a bit overkill for a 8" sub, when you factor in the mounting ring/suspension, you have about a 6" diameter of piston area anyhow lol

try a 3 inch or a 2.5 for the least

Is a good learning experience, doh carry it by anyone mane :)

Postby nervewrecker » July 6th, 2015, 5:41 pm

Remodel it with a 3" pipe.
If you can't find d 3" pipe I have like 36" of pipe you can have for free. Located south.

Plot looks good but port too big hence the insane length. If you need help after the remodel I'll chime in.

Nice sub BTW.

Sent from my Nexus 7 using Tapatalk

Postby nervewrecker » July 6th, 2015, 5:42 pm

Post the ts parameters while you at it.

Sent from my Nexus 7 using Tapatalk

Postby ruffneck_12 » July 6th, 2015, 8:57 pm

nervewrecker wrote:If you can't find d 3" pipe I have like 36" of pipe you can have for free. Located south.

OP , be cautious of strangers on the internet offering free pipe

nervewrecker wrote:Post the ts parameters while you at it.

TS specs in the link he linked

http://www.caraudio-image.ru/manuals/In ... EF860W.pdf

Postby meccalli » July 7th, 2015, 9:56 am

Not sure what space you're working with. But if you go with a slotted port, I roughed up a 24w x 11h x 17d enclosure with a tuning around 25.6 hz minus woofer displacement. 14 sq inches of port. 1.5w x 9.5h x 28.5 l.
Here's the cut sheet.
top and bot- 24 x 17 (2)
left side- 16.25 x 9.5
right-15.5 x 9.5
Back-24 x 9.5
Front-21.75 x 9.5
L port- 14 x 9.5 (2)
Didn't model it but I can guess it has a lot of ass lol. You can model it and see if it works out for you.

turbonator

Postby turbonator » July 21st, 2015, 10:05 am

Thanks to all who took the time to offer some help. Well in the end I had the enclosure built buy someone. The guy didn't build it to the exact size that harman listed, instead he used the specifications of the sub to design his own enclosure. I'm no expert but the results were really surprising, it has a really flat response and it does get really low for a $595.00 sub. I'm really impressed by the sound quality. The builder listened to what I wanted and delivered exactly that and more. I will ask him if I can post his contact info, I will also post some pics of the finished product.

Postby - Rovin's car audio - » July 21st, 2015, 11:04 am

^was it u who called me & its d guy i sent u to ? ...

turbonator

Postby turbonator » July 21st, 2015, 6:18 pm

- Rovin's car audio - wrote:^was it u who called me & its d guy i sent u to ? ...

Yeh, I'm the one that called you. And it is the same guy you sent me to, thanks for the link.

Postby - Rovin's car audio - » July 21st, 2015, 10:29 pm

no problem , i refer alot of customers to him

he out here long time & does good work

i told him he shud start to advertise on fb ...

Postby Ted_v2 » July 22nd, 2015, 1:00 am

Whose that bhai?