- Rovin's car audio - wrote:ur going to get comments from ppl who have never ever owned nor worked with any DD sub , some ppl will post about they hear this & that 1 or from ah padna & from xyz in carshow blah blah
also u will see ppl posting & pming ay doh buy DD : buy my lame brand etc
if u are thinking of buying it from me all u have to do is come into my store & i will explain everything to u & advise u accordingly
u will also get to listen to demos b4 u buy , then i will like u to come back here & reply what u heard from "40hz boxes" .....
spaceman24 wrote:Those dd s is good to throw away , plays loud tho, but not lasting quality , they ain't all that good at 29 hz , look at another speakers fs that gives you a idea on how low they play
TiidaBanton wrote:Goodday Tunerland
So payday is fast approaching lol and i will be buying a DD510 10" sub for my car after reading all the reviews both online and trinituner. I have a couple questions however;
1. what enclosure should i use?-i checked the dd box specs online and it worked out that those boxes are tuned to about 40hz. Is that too high? i Listen to alot of hiphop/rap and dancehall and i like low rumbling bass.
2.- how does one break in a sub? I am seeing all kinds of crap ie. Its a myth, play a sine wave, hit it with full gain, "free air" it. No straightforward answer
thanks
thanks to this guy for pointing this out . no one has done more test than the manufacturer. True talk and if they are to be placed in a box tuned for 40 hz then they know best . true fact is that they are very loud bass and loud bass is a common high fs above 38 hz . so even if you get a box to go as low as 30 am sure it ain't gonna be doing it for long .Lol to besides true dd is made in the USA .not China .check online . my choice would never to buy a speaker with a stutter for a name ! Buy true brands .review your options .there are better brands that require lower freq box tuning for bassSR wrote:TiidaBanton wrote:Goodday Tunerland
So payday is fast approaching lol and i will be buying a DD510 10" sub for my car after reading all the reviews both online and trinituner. I have a couple questions however;
1. what enclosure should i use?-i checked the dd box specs online and it worked out that those boxes are tuned to about 40hz. Is that too high? i Listen to alot of hiphop/rap and dancehall and i like low rumbling bass.
2.- how does one break in a sub? I am seeing all kinds of crap ie. Its a myth, play a sine wave, hit it with full gain, "free air" it. No straightforward answer
thanks
then there are the local experts who know better than the manufacturer
this guy can't make up his mind . stiff soft parts .Lol which 1?meccalli wrote:Sure you'll get lf response from a 40hz tune. When you factor in the car environment, its a different ballgame. That being said, dd's have extremely stiff soft parts allowing major leeway for below tuning. They're designed like that, to soak up the juice to get moving while getting low in smaller enclosures. But again, you cant have it all, you sacrifice efficiency. No matter what sub it is, my mantra, build big, tune low- that's the way i like it.
meccalli wrote: play well below tuning frequency in a vented enclosure past the point of air coupling.
haha this guy will go to any length to prove he is right .lolz is he working for the company ? Am asking myself !meccalli wrote:You understand what soft parts are in a transducer right? DD's don't have to depend on an enclosure's size parameters and inherent 'air spring' to control cone excursion thanks to that factor as well as a low moving mass and high motor force- thus allowing their subs to perform in situations that would easily bottom out a regular subwoofer, i.e play well below tuning frequency in a vented enclosure past the point of air coupling.
spaceman24 wrote:haha this guy will go to any length to prove he is right .lolz is he working for the company ? Am asking myself !meccalli wrote:You understand what soft parts are in a transducer right? DD's don't have to depend on an enclosure's size parameters and inherent 'air spring' to control cone excursion thanks to that factor as well as a low moving mass and high motor force- thus allowing their subs to perform in situations that would easily bottom out a regular subwoofer, i.e play well below tuning frequency in a vented enclosure past the point of air coupling.
Brian Steele wrote:meccalli wrote: play well below tuning frequency in a vented enclosure past the point of air coupling.
Why on earth would anyone want to do that?
Distortion increases significantly below Fb for any vented alignment.
.lolz is he working for the company ? Am asking myself !