Re: WTK options of 4ch amp to run ID xs 6.5 comps

Postby speedmelter » May 20th, 2014, 9:56 pm

not finding too many detailed reviews on the jbl

carfreak1024

Postby carfreak1024 » June 1st, 2014, 6:07 pm

I have had many hours of seat time with the both subs you looking at.

My first pair of subs ever that i used in my accord were the JBL W10GTi.... they literally destroyed my car. I'm talking roof flexing to the point where the roof metal broke in the center and the back glass started to leak from it lifting off the seal. They stretched to about 3.5" easily in linear cone movement and it was impossible to bottom them out due to their motor geometry even in a way oversized box tuned mid 30s.

They took that abuse well and i would play them full tilt anywhere that i went. They were running off of a JBL BPX2200.1 which suit them perfectly. However, while the JBL was capable of decimating your brains it also has a much more docile side. It is decently fast and responsive in a smaller sealed enclosure but if you want it louder it can drop seriously low in a ported box that doesn't have to be super low tuned either. I'm talking Rob Dugand low in a daily driving style box. Great sub in my opinion and every time i change subs, it crosses my mind to put them back.

Now the Image Dynamics IDQ subs are nowhere near as rugged. They have a smaller voice coil, less venting, and radiating structure and thus take less power. However, they are so well suited for SQ in that they can be extremely fast, drop real low, and play into the lower midbass region while in a REALLY tiny enclosure. Now from experience i know what the XS components sound like. They are not designed to play heavy midbass, they are designed for midrange performance and thus they can give you the impression that something is missing if your sub is really bottom heavy like a GTi is.

In conclusion, all things considered... I would go with the IDQ 12 because it is going to play just as low as the GTi but it is also going to play better up into the midbass region, the box is going to be just as small or smaller, and due to the IDQ having an edge on cone area and efficiency it is going to be louder as well. If you had a bigger amp somewhere around a true 1000RMS and components that would play lower into the 70s with authority like the Image Dynamics CXS Components can I would have recommended the GTi or an IDMAX.

Another benefit is that you can buy it locally for about the same or less than it would cost you to bring it in without having to wait a day to get it.

PS. I have the tweeters from the XS Component set in my car right now off of 100RMS daily. In their current configuration they are crossed at 7.5kHz and they obviously dont break a sweat taking the power. I did have them at 2.5kHz for a while and they handled it decently there but would break up if played too loud. the aim of my present build is to play too loud so i put them back to 7.5k and 3 way.

speedmelter

Postby speedmelter » June 1st, 2014, 10:26 pm

darn.... carfreak

i made the purchase already of the Gti 10 inch. Itl be here in about a month or sooner hopefully. will have to make the combo work somehow.

on the upside wrt the dangers of the Gti to the car :lol: , im only giving it the 600watts in a sealed enclosure. maybe ill build a ported later on depending on the initial outcome. so i don't think the glass will be popping off with that modest amount of power.

i could buy the pdx 1000 seeing that i already have the 600watt pdx mono here and a buddy of mine wants it. i was thinking of that plus the Gti 15", didnt go that way because i highly doubt the components would be able to keep up with that.

didnt realise that the chamelon set of the image comps u mentioned there played that lower into the midbass region compared to the xs. I went for the xs because it was more costly and has the neo motor. i assumed the sq was superior due to it costing considerably more.

Postby nervewrecker » June 1st, 2014, 10:50 pm

Install is the key.

Arent you the same one with the 80prs? I does get mix up with you and a next tuner.

Play with those xover slopes and blend it in nicely. I have read of men crossing subs over 50 and getting good results. I'm crossed at 50 or 63 and its blended pretty alright. Need those holes sealed up on the doors before I really crank it.

speedmelter

Postby speedmelter » June 1st, 2014, 11:24 pm

yea i just have the 80prs for processing, it would have to do for now. I am buying a bulk pack of dampening this week. i looked up the specs for the chameleon set and the xs set. they both rated down to 55 hz.

Postby nervewrecker » June 1st, 2014, 11:27 pm

Whatcha bought?

You have plenty processing power there man.

speedmelter

Postby speedmelter » June 1st, 2014, 11:39 pm

i have the:

DEH80PRS,
Alpine PDX-m6,
Image Dynamics XS65,
Zero Gauge Wiring, cables etc.

ordered:

JBL W10 MKIIGti,
Alpine PDX-f6,
New RCA and a few miscellaneous stuff for the install.

Postby nervewrecker » June 1st, 2014, 11:48 pm

What dampening man.

speedmelter

Postby speedmelter » June 1st, 2014, 11:56 pm

trying to make up my mind :D

is 40 sq ft going to be enough for two doors and trunk area?

Postby nervewrecker » June 2nd, 2014, 12:02 am

Yup, that ought to be sufficient for your application.

Sully

Postby Sully » June 3rd, 2014, 6:36 am

speedmelter wrote:trying to make up my mind :D

is 40 sq ft going to be enough for two doors and trunk area?

For proper damping you may run a tad short.

speedmelter

Postby speedmelter » June 3rd, 2014, 1:47 pm

guess the plan have to be to do the doors really good and the trunk area ill buy extra when needed.

speedmelter

Postby speedmelter » June 22nd, 2014, 8:35 pm

bumping this for some support.

my items are coming soon, had a bit of a delay with shipment of some other things ordered.

ISSUE
made an error and ordered the W15 MKII Gti instead of the 10 inch.. im over it now wrt messing up on that. I sold the alpine m6 and bought an m12 to play the 15.

i would like to know if:

1) the bass produced by the one 15 inch sub on 1200 watts pdx in a sealed enclosure would negate my midrange of the 6.5 inch components having 300 watts a side?

2) if i attempt a ported enclosure, would the 1200 watts be too much for the sub? also too loud for the midrange.

thanks for any responses.

Soundstream_626

Re: Matching bass to mids (Help on page 2)

Postby Soundstream_626 » June 23rd, 2014, 12:13 pm

When you have everything hooked up, just adjust your gains and signal levels to the amps to suit. You`ll be fine.

speedmelter

Postby speedmelter » June 23rd, 2014, 1:27 pm

ok man, will try a sealed box first and see the outcome. may attempt a build log and all :lol:

evolution7tt

Postby evolution7tt » June 23rd, 2014, 6:03 pm

I have a W12GTi, 600 watts and I absolutely love it in the factory spec ported enclosure. Ran it sealed at first, wanted more.

I second Soundstream 626 comments. Once you set gains properly, you have nothing to worry about,

speedmelter

Postby speedmelter » June 23rd, 2014, 6:52 pm

i read alot alot on various forums of the gtis, while they are good in sealed boxes, in a ported box with intelligent high pass on the bass, they are alot more efficient and get much louder without sacrificing cone control etc. so i have decided to simplify my install by installing the amps under the seats and going with the giant ported box.

Q.
guys where can i put the passive xovers seeing that there wont be room under the seats for them after i put the amps there?

OR, should i just put them away in the house and go active? (i just have the PRS 80 for now to provide processing.)

finally is this factory spec. for enclosure good?

sealed:

ported:

evolution7tt

Postby evolution7tt » June 23rd, 2014, 11:23 pm

I would say go active. Also, if you can sacrifice the space for the ported enclosure, do it. You will not be disappointed.

blaine

Postby blaine » June 24th, 2014, 12:26 am

evolution7tt wrote:I would say go active. Also, if you can sacrifice the space for the ported enclosure, do it. You will not be disappointed.

Agreed! You have enough processing there.
Currently I'm running the XS set active of the PDX F6 and it handles it nicely . But I'm running 8500bhs > JBL MS8> PDX F6> XS Comps.
I also have the 80PRS in my other vehicle and the processing is more than you'll need. Set your crossover points and adjust your gains to suit and you're ok.
Btw I'm using a SA12 in a ported enclosure, 2.5cuft, tuned to 30Hz and its more bass than you'll ever need, One 15" ported... :shock:

Postby 3stagevtec » June 24th, 2014, 1:48 am

Sweet sub you bought there! Go ported, follow the factory specs and just adjust your gains to suit your listening tastes..

Throw up some pics of that beast while you're at it!

speedmelter

Postby speedmelter » June 24th, 2014, 1:02 pm

ok i will do a mini build log right in here. thanks for all the help guys, i can see things coming together nicely now.

speedmelter

Postby speedmelter » July 5th, 2014, 7:12 pm

got the floor of the trunk done over this weekend. thanks to my buddy noise_maker for helping me make the floor and doing all the work of covering it up and making it neat. the idea is to access the spare tyre as i dont want to do too much of modifications to the normal setting of the trunk.

subwoofer and monoblock is on the port, should get it this week to come. will make measurements tomorrow to see if its possible to go ported with the 15 in the trunk.

speedmelter

Re: JBL W15MKIIGti small build (pg 2) (snail got off the lin

Postby speedmelter » July 12th, 2014, 8:50 am

hi guys.. a few of my stuff got here. im a bit busy with some other things. hoping to get things going with the sub box and amp install soon. still waiting on the pdx F6

altec

Re: JBL W15MKIIGti small build (pg 2) (90% equipment gathere

Postby altec » July 12th, 2014, 2:11 pm

that is my ultimate sub. Over on the diyma site they are saying that it is probably the best around sub. it just does everything well. I had to settle for a P1222 12 inch as is was available here.

speedmelter

Postby speedmelter » July 12th, 2014, 4:52 pm

its really nice to touch and hold :lol:
i mean the materials look and feel really quality

sadly it cant fit in my car trunk ported unless i remove my spare and put a huge box. considering using a 10 inch type r and leaving this sub for when i change my car.......but..... bleh..

sealed box for it yes.

Postby 3stagevtec » July 12th, 2014, 5:29 pm

^ that sub eh good.. offer me a price, i'll take it off your hands.. lol

Firewall

Postby Firewall » July 12th, 2014, 5:44 pm

Sold mine just recently because I wasnt willing to give up the space.

speedmelter

Postby speedmelter » July 12th, 2014, 9:13 pm

firewall u wont believe, i feel like selling my car to get a wagon because of this sub lol!!

butt.... 1200wrms in sealed enclosure should do justice to the xs comps upfront

Postby nervewrecker » July 12th, 2014, 10:02 pm

3stagevtec wrote:^ that sub eh good.. offer me a price, i'll take it off your hands.. lol

:lol: :lol: :mrgreen:

Firewall, pained me to see it up for sale. :cry: