Have your audio professionally installed?

wickedbreed

Re: Have your audio professionally installed?

Postby wickedbreed » March 17th, 2014, 10:48 am

EXODUS wrote:Spoken like a true cool-e

Thank you...taken as a compliment on my ancestral roots... :lol:

carfreak1024

Postby carfreak1024 » March 17th, 2014, 11:47 am

self repost
Last edited by carfreak1024 on March 17th, 2014, 12:04 pm, edited 2 times in total.

wickedbreed

Postby wickedbreed » March 17th, 2014, 11:58 am

wait na ah man quote he self dey? dawg we read it the first time...

carfreak1024

Postby carfreak1024 » March 17th, 2014, 12:05 pm

wickedbreed wrote:wait na ah man quote he self dey? dawg we read it the first time...

laptop going crazy dawg!

wickedbreed

Postby wickedbreed » March 17th, 2014, 1:30 pm

ohho word word...carfreak...you the guy I met in mk photoshoot in Maraval?

Postby Aaron 2NR » March 19th, 2014, 10:17 am

ImageUploadedByTriniTuner1395238608.528626.jpg

This was done by a very popular shop in south ;)

wickedbreed

Postby wickedbreed » March 19th, 2014, 10:24 am

Aaron 2NR wrote:

This looking like something that Smalls Elec.....ummmm yea, would do..lol :drinking:

Lance

Postby Lance » March 19th, 2014, 10:58 am

Aaron 2NR wrote:

Assuming that's a ground connection.

What's wrong with it?

wickedbreed

Postby wickedbreed » March 19th, 2014, 11:00 am

Man talking bout how the wire wrapped in tape...I lold at the fact that the ring terminal didnt look like it was crimped nor was it soldered...

Lance

Postby Lance » March 19th, 2014, 11:04 am

It's seemed crimped well enough... Could probably use some solder though.

wickedbreed

Postby wickedbreed » March 19th, 2014, 11:08 am

Lance wrote:It's seemed crimped well enough... Could probably use some solder though.

Look closely at end if crimped it isnt tight. Seems as 1 tough pull and it will come out... :|

Postby Aaron 2NR » March 19th, 2014, 11:08 am

ImageUploadedByTriniTuner1395241713.824437.jpg

kavaninho

Postby kavaninho » March 19th, 2014, 11:48 am

Ok first thing i see there is the distro and fuseblock. Wouldn't the wires be moving if the backrest is raised/dropped, that can definitely come loose .

!!!!! Is that box on the left his battery area? Is it sealed and vented??

kavaninho

Postby kavaninho » March 19th, 2014, 11:51 am

oh and those crimp terminals, once done with the right tool the right way, they is no need for solder, hence the name crimp terminals. I' ve noticed people here using solder on almost all sizes of their crimp terminals, this is not supposed to be.

wickedbreed

Postby wickedbreed » March 19th, 2014, 12:35 pm

kavaninho wrote:oh and those crimp terminals, once done with the right tool the right way, they is no need for solder, hence the name crimp terminals. I' ve noticed people here using solder on almost all sizes of their crimp terminals, this is not supposed to be.

Look at name of ched again...but I kno most technicians put the solder as a failsafe/backup incase...

kavaninho

Postby kavaninho » March 19th, 2014, 12:43 pm

^^ ah glad you said that, so therefore most audio installers locally have lack of tools?
Comes back again to say a jigsaw and a screwdriver doesn't make you an installer.

wickedbreed

Postby wickedbreed » March 19th, 2014, 12:54 pm

Sometimes it seems so, but then I hear installers talking bout..they working according to how customers paying...I have no idea what kinda mentality this is...

bluespeed

Postby bluespeed » March 21st, 2014, 1:37 am

ok guys, with all the beat up talk, who is a certified installer? I have a DD system to install and don't want no fcuk up to install it. who allyuh can recommend?

rane

Postby rane » March 21st, 2014, 7:04 am

Sound extreme harry
764 7239
He'll fix u up real boss

wickedbreed

Postby wickedbreed » March 21st, 2014, 8:21 am

Will vouch for my installer...Kapil Deonarinesingh-Audio Ripple
798-3884

Has all the tools and equipment you can think about to tune and prepare your vehicle. Give him a call, you will be surprised...

Postby Aaron 2NR » March 21st, 2014, 9:17 am

rane wrote:Sound extreme harry
764 7239
He'll fix u up real boss

can you show a proper sq system done by harry that wasn't loudspeakers....

roger

Postby roger » March 21st, 2014, 12:22 pm

reading thru this thread reminds me of:

1. why I install for myself and why I tune for myself.
2. why I install for no-one and tune for few

I have had a sq oriented install done many, many years ago by Sound Extreme, and it was actually well done. That was because I knew what I wanted and stayed with my car throughout the build to ensure it was done to my satisfaction.

I have also seen installs - both sq and street typed - done very suspect.

noelsook

Postby noelsook » March 21st, 2014, 3:20 pm

Oh Fadda, and here I thought only in Guyana does an installer get bashed suh.....We have all the same problems that are highlighted here hence I do what Roger said....I install myself and I tune myself with lots of advise from you guys here on tuner :D

Postby gastly369 » March 21st, 2014, 5:11 pm

noelsook wrote:Oh Fadda, and here I thought only in Guyana does an installer get bashed suh.....We have all the same problems that are highlighted here hence I do what Roger said....I install myself and I tune myself with lots of advise from you guys here on tuner :D

hey man i would like to know if allyuh does have bax on hood like we have borx on hood in cyar shows

rane

Postby rane » March 21st, 2014, 7:05 pm

Hahahah

pjfred

Postby pjfred » March 21st, 2014, 7:15 pm

Too much smart man here yes! Seriously audio fanatics, please have a qualified technician install your acoustic equipment.

Postby Aaron 2NR » March 21st, 2014, 8:15 pm

Only people I can speak about for quality work is

Dinelle
Mobile audio concepts
Loudsounds

I think a lot of shops are limited wrt tuning since most are really unsure whay it should sound like in the first place....

From my knowledge I have never seen a gallery system from sr and dinelle and I share the view that pro audio sneakers should not be in a car....a lot of people are of the opinion that sq means loud and clean forgetting the real reproduction of music....

That being said people get the install they pay for

Firewall

Postby Firewall » March 22nd, 2014, 12:01 am

Aaron 2NR wrote:I share the view that pro audio sneakers should not be in a car..

What are your views on these for car use?

jbl 2118
b&c 8ndl51
Audax
Fountek
Image dynamics compression drivers

Lance

Postby Lance » March 22nd, 2014, 4:43 am

And what about "home" audio in a car?

I have no problem with the "type" of speakers you use or the ultimate goal of your system. Just do the damn thing correctly.

Soundstream_626

Postby Soundstream_626 » March 22nd, 2014, 11:39 am

Lance wrote:And what about "home" audio in a car?

I have no problem with the "type" of speakers you use or the ultimate goal of your system. Just do the damn thing correctly.

I got 8 ohm pro audio speakers in my kick panels, 8 ohm home audio midbasses in my doors, 6 ohm tweeters in my A pillars and 2 "normal car audio" subs in the back. They all work very well together. I think some people just use the "pro" speakers improperly.

Also this irks me but Techflex and heatshrink etc doesn't make an install professional/more professional. Once the install is safe, secure and pleases the customer, well hey, to each his own.