I didnt Know Orion So BAD

Pablo660

I didnt Know Orion So BAD

Postby Pablo660 » May 20th, 2005, 8:17 am

Well i have an orion 5.500 Cobalt now and it bad
I was driving my treo ss 12 with a mmats 700.1 at 1 ohm stable and i had to send it to repair cause a leaking transistor in PS exhibited a distortion in the FM band( all mosfets good though)
So i decided to try the sub channel for the treo, jus for a little bass
People I CANT tell the difference in the bass and it running in total 4 ohm stable And the treo RUMBLING
Fellas who know my bass line it sounds the same
700rms from mmats compared to I think about 2-300 rms from Orion
I think of selling the mmats and buying Orion Bass line
The SQ from the amp is incredable :shock: :shock: :shock:
I got my deck repaired yesterday so know i know :twisted: :twisted: :twisted:
[/url]

Postby SR » May 20th, 2005, 8:23 am

i have always said the orion amps were good and underated :twisted:

~snYper~

Postby ~snYper~ » May 20th, 2005, 8:42 am

^^ Especially the old school ones!

nigel1977

Postby nigel1977 » May 20th, 2005, 9:20 am

^^ 2 big orion junkies talkin eh

Amit3

orion all the was

Postby Amit3 » May 20th, 2005, 11:37 am

:D orion is d best

TK!

Postby TK! » May 20th, 2005, 11:42 am

orion is sheit... dey amps does bun dong :-P

Postby SR » May 20th, 2005, 12:11 pm

ha ha ha
dais when dey eh know what dey doin
and when dey tryin to get more than what the amp can give

like tryin to get a 1 ohm amp to bridge at 1/2ohm instead

ShaKarz

Postby ShaKarz » May 20th, 2005, 12:28 pm

aye orion is the best thing since pyle driver...seriously Orion subs ,amps components r gr8

fuzz_174

Postby fuzz_174 » May 20th, 2005, 2:30 pm

The cobalt gives 175 rms@ 4ohms i believe...daz why i always say ORION all the way :mrgreen:

TK!

Postby TK! » May 22nd, 2005, 12:50 pm

SR wrote:ha ha ha
dais when dey eh know what dey doin
and when dey tryin to get more than what the amp can give

like tryin to get a 1 ohm amp to bridge at 1/2ohm instead

hehe ... before ppl get the worng idea when reading this thread, lemme say that this is a private joke between SR and mehself eh.

orion cool.

Terabyte

Postby Terabyte » May 25th, 2005, 6:08 pm

remember the ofrion fella??

Postby SR » May 25th, 2005, 6:18 pm

yuh mean d man from santa cruz who use to bun dong amps

TeamH2O

Postby TeamH2O » May 30th, 2005, 7:31 am

orion is one of a kind

Black Lancer

Postby Black Lancer » June 10th, 2005, 12:12 pm

Orion HCCA is boss!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

_santa_

Postby _santa_ » June 11th, 2005, 7:06 am

before allyuh men get horny all over the orion...
is the sub channel 1 ohm stable?
If it is then orion rel bad!
If not well it's just another normal amp..i wouldn't say sheit cuz it still performs for the price....
if two ohm stable...as pablo said 200-300 rms so lewwe say 250 rms average
Matts 700.1..ONE OHM STABLE...so 700rms at 1 ohm, 350rms at 2 ohms...matts specs are rated at 14.4 volts so lewwe say bout 300 rms average...
so wow 50 rms is such a big difference? and that makes it the best and one of a kind as some said? :shock:

Postby SR » June 11th, 2005, 7:22 am

here's a review on the 250G4

Reviewed by: rwillis23 willis, from Stl, MO, USA
Model: 2001 HCCA 250g4
Price Paid: $350 at online
Summary:
I was looking in the reviews for the HCCA series amplifiers and saw that this beautiful piece of work had no reviews. So here we go: I bought an HCCA 225g4 around Christmas time to run my 2 alpine type r 10's, I didn't know if it woulod be enough power. Oh my god, it absolutley killed those 10's. I sold it to a friend in need (trying to get it back now) and I bought the 250g4 a little over a month ago. I have it hooked up to an Image Dynamics IDMAX (ridiculous SQ/spl sub) and it is oh so loud. I have one 12 ported in 2 cuft. with this HCCA and I murdered my buddy with 2 12" RF He2's and a 700S amp. The HCCA line is my favorite line of amps of all time. The put out SO SO SO much power. 250g4 rated @ 800 watts w/ 12volts. BUT this amp is actually louder than my Crossfire BMF1000D I had hooked up to my idmax before. I've heard this thing push 2 15w3's like they were tissue paper. I love it SO much , I bought another. Soon I'll have 2 250g4's on 2 IDMAX's, that should be blissful :).

Oh yeah, with my 4 volt preout, my gain is at 1/3, so not even 1/2.

Strengths:
I've heard of these things being current hogs, but I have a 75amp alternator and I run a alpine 757 to my front comp. along with this amp with NO problems.
POWER, and then some......Even more Power
IntelliQ is AWSOME, I allows me to give my sub a nice 6 db boost around 32 hz and I bet I could make a girl oragasm when it drops low, and I am SO serious. Audibly makes my sub hit lower than my Crossfire (rated for 1000 watts) did. IntelliQ also acts as a subsonic filter to protect your sub from unloading under the tuning freq.

Heavy duty connectors, and 50x2 comp. rating!!!!!100 watt amp, putting out close to 1KW.
For the competitor: with bigger fuses and strong elec. system you can burp them under 1 ohm mono. Heard one burped @ .67 ohms MONO, JESUS....even MORE power.

Weaknesses:
This thing is an absolute BEAST. Only weaknesses would be, it isn't the easiest amp to install (FOR BEGINNERS), if you've done it even once before you'll breeze through it. It does get a little hot after long hours of play, but it is running @1 ohm mono (.5 ohm stereo!!), how many amps do you know that can do that. It doesn't dare shut off on me. Recommend strong elec. system, more power you give it, the more it will put out.

I had to nit pick to find a weakness. It is the best amp I have ever used, period.

Similar Products Used:
alpine 757 (totally different class)
RF 700S (NOT EVEN CLOSE)
Crossfire BMF1000D (excellent amp, but I likes the HCCA better--has IntelliQ, rated @ 50x2, looks better, and has the ability to run spe

Black Lancer

Postby Black Lancer » June 11th, 2005, 4:36 pm

one thing though.......is it supposed to run so hot????......cuz my own runnin rel hot...and de gain not even half jed.....the Intelli Q set near 10db though 8)

but de amp is boss 8) ...cuz i still doh even notice a difference in de performance even though it running hot............but i studying it might be the design of the amp cuz is a kinda slim line thing though, the heat might obviously be felt on the surface....

fuzz_174

Postby fuzz_174 » June 11th, 2005, 6:05 pm

black lancer....how long does it take for the amp to run hot?

fuzz_174

Postby fuzz_174 » June 11th, 2005, 6:14 pm

well here;s a review for the orion hcca subwoofers..

Reviewed by: TrueRMS
Year: 2000
Model: Orion HCCA 12
Price Paid:
Summary:
(This review is actually for the HCCA 15D)

Well you've all read the countless other reviews on HCCA subs, and the hype about this sub is true! But what no-one seems to talk about is why this subwoofer, released 5 years ago is so much better than the competition, even today!!

It is the efficiency of the woofer that allows such modest wattages to outpump the competition. The first series of 15D’s released in 1999 boasts an SPL sensitivity of 99dB @1w@1m while the year 2000 revision actually downgraded this to 96dB. This was Orion’s response to so many damaged subwoofers being returned from people putting too much power into them (the spider’s and surrounds would rip and become unglued), so the next year Orion released a more resilient revision which had slightly less efficiency but took more than the recommended 600WattsRMS without issues. The 600WattsRMS rating is based on longevity, but the subwoofer will competently handle burst’s- not peak- of 1200WattsRMS CLEAN power without question.

Most people seem to get conned when shopping for SPL subwoofers by looking for a high wattage rating first, and so companies have responded by making high power-handling, chrome plated boot ornaments to satisfy this market demand. This is one of the reasons why the old school Orion went broke and was forced to merge with DEI a couple of years back. They underrated their expensive but quality US made gear and received limited sales as few people ever saw past their competitors marketing garbage. Orion has since stopped manufacture in the USA opting in favour outsourced production to Asia. The new line of H2 subwoofers have inferior SPL to the HCCA even when powered with their rated wattages (2000WRMS vs. 600WRMS)

When looking for high dB readings people will typically go for products such as Fosgate, Kicker, JL, Phoenix Gold, Audiobahn, Digital Designs, Adire, Image Dynamics, Resonant Engineering, Beyond Audio and the Orion H2 series of subwoofers. These are common winners in the SPL arena but all suffer from one common trait when compared with the old school HCCA line, LOW-SENSITIVITY (usually in the order of 85dB-93dB).
Although the HCCA line can’t take more than 1200wattsRMS, it uses this power to push a lighter cone than most with more compliance and more flexible surrounds/spiders. It also creates more bass, not heat.
Some of the worst power guzzling sub’s come from Kicker, Audiobahn and even the new Orion H2 series of woofers. They can be rated up to 4000WRMS but when compared with the HCCA powered with 1200WRMS they still fall behind in competition by up to 12dB. It is not just a matter of comparing woofer sensitivity’s either. A quality software program such as WinISD will reveal the truth about the HCCA’s superior frequency response and SPL gain in acceptable enclosure sizes.
In one case it shows you would need TWO Digital Design 9515e subwoofers (each powered with 1200WRMS) to match the SPL of ONE Orion 1999 HCCA 15D (powered with 600WRMS). You would also need TWELVE Kicker L715’s (powered with 1000wattsRMS each) to match TWO Orion 1999 HCCA 15D’s (powered with 600WRMS each). Note this is not entirely accurate because of the 3.2â€

Black Lancer

Postby Black Lancer » June 11th, 2005, 7:17 pm

umm about 10 minutes....

Black Lancer

Postby Black Lancer » June 11th, 2005, 7:22 pm

not goin as low as i want though.....probably cuz i doh really know too much about the amp and tuning it.........................................trying to read de manual but de manual complicated.....i feel ah go hadda make a spin by ya SR