nano and mini amps

Re: nano and mini amps

Postby X_Factor » August 14th, 2018, 9:34 am

enclosure and speaker choice will affect the sound more than amp providing that you are gonna use a decent amp to start with

Postby Rovin » August 14th, 2018, 11:45 am

ScHoolboySoloQ wrote:Do not want to make a new ched so i'll ask here.

If I want sq bass, what would be the best option for me?

A 2 channel or a monoblock?

Are there any differences in the bass quality? considering dampening factor and such.

what is ur definition of sq bass though ? , since some ppl say that & want to tune a enclosure 38-40hz or want it to sound good when liming with partners in a bar or by caura .... to begin with : choose d right sub

yes u have to look at d factors u listed but for me i wud go with a reputable brand not a econo brand cause i easily hear d "hollowness" aka lack of fullness when compared to a more reputable brand

i like class D mono for current efficiency ......

Postby ruffneck_12 » August 14th, 2018, 5:35 pm

Im assuming by 2 channel/monoblock you mean a regular class A/B vs class D

Class D tech is really good these days, most good manufactures have good damping factors and is much more efficient than class A/B with the same quality. (sometimes even better depending on the manufacturer)

As X_Factor the box specs/sub choice matters more these days.

ScHoolboySoloQ

Postby ScHoolboySoloQ » August 15th, 2018, 10:55 pm

I see that sa fs around 33hz, rf around 26hz and dd around 37hz.

If you tune a box to about 30hz regardless of the fs it would still roll off smoothe?

Thanks for the tips guys 8-)

nick639v2

Postby nick639v2 » August 15th, 2018, 11:51 pm

ScHoolboySoloQ wrote:I see that sa fs around 33hz, rf around 26hz and dd around 37hz.

If you tune a box to about 30hz regardless of the fs it would still roll off smoothe?

Enclosures dont create a frequency response it amplifies it. Simply put.

From what i understand and dealt with, a box tuned closer to fs will be more efficient at the frequency response. Tuning too much lower than fs gave a slight dip in the frequency response. It all depends on your listening preference.

The Fs of a driver is simply where the impedance curve of the driver peaks in a free-air environment. As soon as you put the driver in an enclosure its impedance curve changes.

Postby Rovin » August 16th, 2018, 2:09 pm

Fs is a vague idea of how a sub will play but u have to model each sub in a box building program to see what it can do at what tuning & cuft ... just cant choose\guess a tuning freq & go with that ....

Zetski

Postby Zetski » August 17th, 2018, 12:06 am

ScHoolboySoloQ wrote:I see that sa fs around 33hz, rf around 26hz and dd around 37hz.

Tuning a box depends on your choice of music.. because some songs bassline rolls off better on boxes that are tuned to 38hz and some as low as 25hz but that does not mean the 38hz cannot play a 25hz note it just would not be as good since its a box built for 38hz so when a 38hz note play you would notice a big performance jump same for when a 25hz note plays on the 25hz box.
So pick a sub according to what kind of bass you looking for.. go by some audio shops and listen to demos.. that would help you choose what you want.

roger

Postby roger » August 17th, 2018, 9:22 am

I'm not quite sure tuning a box should be dependant on the choice of music...

i am thinking the relationship between box and tuning is built on the the actual use of the subwoofer relative to its design parameters...considering the in car boost frequency as well (which is around 33-40hz in most cars)

To tune a box based on music choice is a misnomer IMHO...

Postby Rovin » August 17th, 2018, 11:56 am

i always advise ppl in d 1st place choose d right sub that has d ability to efficiently do what u have in mind

actually i keep saying to model subs b4 u buy anything

let say if u know u dont care for lows & u only listen to music that has more punchier upper bass then makes little sense buying a sub that has d ability to drop into d low 20hz region , better u choose 1 that is more effective say in d 40hz upwards region or if ur preference is d opposite then vice versa .....kinda like buying a car that was made for 1\4 mile straight line to use for rallying or vice versa

though u can choose a sub [with d help of proper enclosure design] that can do a flat response from 20-80hz ...

Postby VexXx Dogg » August 17th, 2018, 1:37 pm

What can I use to model an enclosure? Preferably something that is Mac compatible.

I wanna model a JL Audio tw3 12" in a 1 cuft enclosure with a 31" port 2"x5" cross section

kavaninho

Postby kavaninho » August 17th, 2018, 5:41 pm

VexXx Dogg wrote:What can I use to model an enclosure? Preferably something that is Mac compatible.

I wanna model a JL Audio tw3 12" in a 1 cuft enclosure with a 31" port 2"x5" cross section

Get windows PC...WinIsd or bassboxpro are the simpler ones

djruncrowd

Postby djruncrowd » February 25th, 2020, 1:04 pm

Postby ruffneck_12 » March 1st, 2020, 12:46 pm

djruncrowd wrote:https://youtu.be/xys8gkcJlT0

I calling it from now

Just now we gonna have car decks that run the ENTIRE system.
And not just 4x '50W max' either, legit power

So sayeth the Lord, I have spoken.

nick639v2

Postby nick639v2 » March 3rd, 2020, 11:49 pm

There is already a modular head unit with a 400w amp to the back of it. I think it's alpine

Firewall

Postby Firewall » March 4th, 2020, 12:07 am

Look into Biketronics amps for small footprint and decent power. Its not cheap though.

Think the headunit you speak of is the alpine ilx-w650. It has a truncated mounting depth in the dash to fit the alpine power pack.

Postby ruffneck_12 » March 5th, 2020, 11:23 am

Firewall wrote:Look into Biketronics amps for small footprint and decent power. Its not cheap though.

Think the headunit you speak of is the alpine ilx-w650. It has a truncated mounting depth in the dash to fit the alpine power pack.

from the site:
CEA-2006 Power Rating: 45W x 4 @ 4Ω/2Ω
90 Watts x 2 @ 4Ω Bridged

Still deck power levels.

Postby Rovin » March 5th, 2020, 11:33 am

most of d head unit manufacturers these days have shallow depth CD-less models since most ppl play some sort of digital music file , so it does leave some chassis space for a tiny built in amp

imo ideally i think most typical daily drivers wud want like a 2x50rms for upfront door speakers & 300 mono for bass ...

Postby Dave » March 5th, 2020, 12:41 pm

I got a scosche unit. Fits perfectly behind radio and pushes my prime and punch Rockfords pretty well. Even has a low pass filter for front and rear. Of course have a crappy headunit so still trying to reach by Rovin for a decent equaliser lol.

Firewall

Postby Firewall » March 5th, 2020, 7:40 pm

ruffneck_12 wrote:
Firewall wrote:Look into Biketronics amps for small footprint and decent power. Its not cheap though.

from the site:
CEA-2006 Power Rating: 45W x 4 @ 4Ω/2Ω
90 Watts x 2 @ 4Ω Bridged

Still deck power levels.
Yes. Thats for the power pack.

The biketronics are like 4x180w

mechanicGu

Postby mechanicGu » April 11th, 2020, 8:46 pm

How about Rockford Fosgate P300X2. It can be run in both stereo and mono modes. the small size makes it easily fit in the systems (Dimensions:L 8 13/16" x H 2 7/16" x W 9 15/16")