SMD Distortion Detector & Crossover Calibrator.

fragger117

SMD Distortion Detector & Crossover Calibrator.

Postby fragger117 » November 7th, 2012, 2:02 am

Has anyone heard of these? I've been awaiting them since the idea came out and I've ordered one of each to try them out. They have so much uses
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=SOARCaGU47s
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=1LMf75653sk

ward one

Re: SMD Distortion Detector & Crossover Calibrator.

Postby ward one » November 7th, 2012, 4:30 pm

i own both. they are very handy and easy to use. they also take no set of time to use (once u know what u doing).

the dd-1, was used to set the gain on all my processors (eqs and three.2) and amps. this is the first time my car was able to get the 5 volts lights blinking on the output of the eqs. the system on the whole got alot louder as the gains were properly set.

with the cc-1, i used this to set my crossover (jbl gtx47) it was very nice as i didnt have to average where the frequencies were at and was able to set it to my desired frequencies.

Postby ruffneck_12 » November 7th, 2012, 8:04 pm

I want the Signal Generator/Impedance finder doh

the DD and the CC you can do by ear and get lucky

Sully

Postby Sully » November 14th, 2012, 3:33 pm

I bought a handheld o-scope from Amazon for $65. Much better than the DD-1 as you're not limited to set frequencies. It was compared against a much higher quality o-scope and is accurate enough for setting gains and detecting distortion. It's also handy to see the type and able to quantify the amount of distortion.

Postby kurpal_v2 » November 14th, 2012, 3:35 pm

You have a link or model # sulls?

Sully

Postby Sully » November 16th, 2012, 2:46 pm

http://www.amazon.com/SainSmart-Pocket- ... cilloscope

If you buy it directly from the manufacturer it costs less, but delivery time is a bit longer.

Postby SR » November 16th, 2012, 5:03 pm

did you have to update the firmware on it

Soundstream_626

Postby Soundstream_626 » November 16th, 2012, 5:30 pm

I am also looking into that model. They say the BenF firmware takes it to a whole new level in terms of functionality and ease of use. you can check it out here:

http://www.seeedstudio.com/forum/viewto ... =12&t=1793

Sully

Postby Sully » November 17th, 2012, 2:57 pm

I didn't have to. It worked properly out of the box. The interface was different from what was in the manual, but it didn't take too long to figure out how it works.

smr_fingers

Postby smr_fingers » November 22nd, 2012, 2:01 am

fragger117 wrote:Has anyone heard of these? I've been awaiting them since the idea came out and I've ordered one of each to try them out. They have so much uses
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=SOARCaGU47s
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=1LMf75653sk

these look really good

are they available anywhere locally?

fragger117

Postby fragger117 » December 30th, 2012, 11:02 pm

bought a pair but accidentally order 2 of each i have the other 2 for sale

_Rajiv_

Postby _Rajiv_ » December 31st, 2012, 9:37 pm