my mids box

spinner

my mids box

Postby spinner » October 25th, 2012, 6:07 pm

I recently did these with the intention of using them as D.J. tops and also in the car for "liming" purposes. Still deciding if to fiber glass or just carpet. Not sure if I need a front grill? Let me know what you guys think!!!
Equipment used
1. Peavey 12"
2. Selinium 405ti
black widow 12.JPG
100%.JPG
back view.JPG
99%.JPG
51%.JPG
50%.JPG

Re: my mids box

Postby ruffneck_12 » October 25th, 2012, 8:03 pm

seeing as it's MDF and u wanna use it for DJ work.... fibreglass it and put some plastic corners and edge protectors

and yea, put a grille, you using some good stuff, yuh never know which a**hole will wanna poke a hole in your speaker

good build mane

spinner

Postby spinner » October 25th, 2012, 9:07 pm

^ thanks, more pics to come!!!

nos_specialist

Postby nos_specialist » October 25th, 2012, 10:07 pm

u need a new measuring tape meng

Postby - Rovin's car audio - » October 26th, 2012, 11:20 am

just asking eh pal but wouldnt d size of d flare block some of d output from d speaker & how come a rcf flare is being used on a selenium driver ? ... :|

ward one

Postby ward one » October 26th, 2012, 11:23 am

(...Rovin...) wrote:just asking eh pal but wouldnt d size of d flare block some of d output from d speaker & how come a rcf flare is being used on a selenium driver ? ... :|

was wondering the same thing. bt i did it b4 with a smaller flare and it worked ok.

nice to see som1 using different equipment !!! nice build man.

for the dj work the fiberglass will be the best thing. bt if u intend on putting the box on your hood u will need to lay a mat or sum so it wont damage the paint on your hood.

spinner

Postby spinner » October 26th, 2012, 7:36 pm

Actually, the box was full length with the Flare above the speaker. However, when they were placed in the car, I remaining with little room for the subs. In light of this I decided to cut them in half and put the flare infront the speaker.
Honestly speaking, I can't tell the difference in sound when the drivers were above the speaker compared to them being infront! but I am sure that there are!!!
I had the drivers a while now so I just decided to use them with the rcf flares. I know it's not the correct thing but it works great! Appreciate the comments!!!!

Postby - Rovin's car audio - » October 26th, 2012, 8:49 pm

cool ,,,,, no scene man , just wanted to know d logic behind it .... : )

dsstt

Postby dsstt » November 2nd, 2012, 7:42 am

my taughts:
black widow/peavey/sound barrier - same sub. plays really good (have a pair of 15")
selenium driver very good driver. Please fibreglass this box, if not give about 3-4 coats of resin and paint.
The grill, you can buy a sheet of the precut grills @ gopauls and u can cut appropriately for these boxes, gives u a *finished* look.

smr_fingers

Postby smr_fingers » November 2nd, 2012, 11:05 pm

i have 2 10" rcf and the same flare with nd850 drivers...if i make a box like this will the flare block the 10" output?

only reason i want to is to save space because to put all side by side it takes up alot of space

any help

spinner

Postby spinner » November 4th, 2012, 12:00 pm

^ yes it will block some of the output...the flare is 10''x9.* for it to work you will have to design the box longer to accommodate a wider front!!!

Brian Steele

Postby Brian Steele » November 4th, 2012, 9:15 pm

spinner wrote:I recently did these with the intention of using them as D.J. tops and also in the car for "liming" purposes.

Did you use a tool like HornResp to come up with the best box size and flare for that midbass/midrange driver, or did you just "try a ting"?

spinner

Postby spinner » November 6th, 2012, 10:50 pm

Brian Steele wrote:
spinner wrote:I recently did these with the intention of using them as D.J. tops and also in the car for "liming" purposes.

Did you use a tool like HornResp to come up with the best box size and flare for that midbass/midrange driver, or did you just "try a ting"?

I did not use any program in designing the box, it was done to suit the space I had available in the car. I will definitely try that software when I am doing the rest.
The box sounds really good though!!!

Brian Steele

Postby Brian Steele » November 7th, 2012, 3:51 pm

spinner wrote:I did not use any program in designing the box, it was done to suit the space I had available in the car.

If you provide the:

1. t/s parameters for the driver
2. The dimensions of the rear chamber
3. The dimensions of the flare

I'll try to put together a HornResp model to cover it.

smr_fingers

Postby smr_fingers » November 7th, 2012, 11:25 pm

Brian Steele wrote:
spinner wrote:I did not use any program in designing the box, it was done to suit the space I had available in the car.

If you provide the:

1. t/s parameters for the driver
2. The dimensions of the rear chamber
3. The dimensions of the flare

I'll try to put together a HornResp model to cover it.

can u design something for a 10" rcf but circular?