recommend a small 2ohm stable mono

Postby nervewrecker » August 25th, 2012, 6:46 pm

Approx 500 watts, something good with a variable high pass filter / sub sonic filter or at least something fixed at 25 - 30hz.

Must be 2 ohm stable.

This is not a wtb post so please do not post what you have for sale, the amp is also not for me.

most small monos and 4ch have a hpf starting from 50hz which is ridiculous.

If available local, better yet.

thanks.

OffshoreMarketing

Re: recommend a small 2ohm stable mono

Postby OffshoreMarketing » August 25th, 2012, 7:22 pm

mmm i know its not a for sale thread buttt i have to jump in n post the skar sk-800.1

http://www.skaraudio.com/index.php/productscatalog/amplifiers/item/sk-8001d-amplifier-2.html?category_id=6

Postby nervewrecker » August 25th, 2012, 7:37 pm

well I did ask for recommendations and you did recommend something :lol:

Its too big though and i'd prefer down to 2 ohm stable. I should have mentioned its for a 2 door van and I might still need to fit a 4 ch.

Patman

Postby Patman » August 25th, 2012, 7:50 pm

OffshoreMarketing

Postby OffshoreMarketing » August 25th, 2012, 7:58 pm

nervewrecker wrote:well I did ask for recommendations and you did recommend something :lol:

Its too big though and i'd prefer down to 2 ohm stable. I should have mentioned its for a 2 door van and I might still need to fit a 4 ch.

lol cool if u want to see it let me know its actually very small :mrgreen:

Postby nervewrecker » August 25th, 2012, 8:40 pm

not because you sell something you dont post it ok guys, post it still and I will consider. (powersellers only)

the "This is not a wtb post so please do not post what you have for sale" is directed to the people who wanna peddle their used stuff here.

Postby shake d livin wake d dead » August 25th, 2012, 10:59 pm

I may be wrong but ent kicker have ah few 2ohm monos around,somewhere in the zx line.

Postby nervewrecker » August 25th, 2012, 11:25 pm

Well those I know of but they a bit on the pricey side. Its kind of a budget install.

I saw something in the soundstream stealth line, a 600.1, specs look favorable.

wanted

Postby wanted » August 26th, 2012, 1:22 am

you could use an Alpine mono,I think you get them used on the forum.

FD3S

Postby FD3S » August 26th, 2012, 9:25 am

Audiopipe makes some decent mini amps. Running a 4ch like it in my car and. no complaints.
http://www.audiopipe.com/products/amplifiers/apsm/apsm-1300.html

Sully

Postby Sully » August 26th, 2012, 9:51 am

JL Audio XD 600/1.
Alpine MRX-M55

Postby shake d livin wake d dead » August 26th, 2012, 11:17 am

nervewrecker wrote:Well those I know of but they a bit on the pricey side. Its kind of a budget install.

I saw something in the soundstream stealth line, a 600.1, specs look favorable.

it hada ah fella selling the kicker sx 750.1 for $1100,it belonged to me and I sold it to him,n well he selling over,eet some where in the classifieds.

Postby Ted_v2 » August 26th, 2012, 8:07 pm

FD3S wrote:Audiopipe makes some decent mini amps. Running a 4ch like it in my car and. no complaints.
http://www.audiopipe.com/products/amplifiers/apsm/apsm-1300.html

this

also check out those kicker amps
also doesnt it have a 500rms mono like that rf you sold? those are pretty small

southside connections

Postby southside connections » August 27th, 2012, 3:46 pm

audiopipe mini's, cea compliant and working well thus far

Postby SR » August 27th, 2012, 4:58 pm

nervewrecker wrote:Approx 500 watts, something good with a variable high pass filter / sub sonic filter or at least something fixed at 25 - 30hz.

Must be 2 ohm stable.

This is not a wtb post so please do not post what you have for sale, the amp is also not for me.

most small monos and 4ch have a hpf starting from 50hz which is ridiculous.

If available local, better yet.

thanks.

why is this ridiculous?

Postby nervewrecker » August 27th, 2012, 6:07 pm

As a hpf for a sub it is.

Budget is the word here guys.

JL and high end Pines out of the question.

It's a daily in car system.

Postby nervewrecker » August 27th, 2012, 8:00 pm

thank you for your contribution leroy but should you have read before attempting to advertise in my thread you will realize none of what you posted meets the criteria.

Postby nervewrecker » August 27th, 2012, 8:02 pm

ssc & fd3s the amps are pretty nice I must say, read pretty good reviews about that brand too but sadly no 2 ohm stable mono's. :(

shakes and soundboy, new brand it must be and kicker a bit on the pricey side. Saw one in the DX series iirc that meets the criteria.

FD3S

Postby FD3S » August 27th, 2012, 11:25 pm

nervewrecker wrote:ssc & fd3s the amps are pretty nice I must say, read pretty good reviews about that brand too but sadly no 2 ohm stable mono's. :(

shakes and soundboy, new brand it must be and kicker a bit on the pricey side. Saw one in the DX series iirc that meets the criteria.

The amp is 2 ohm stable and also stable @ 1 ohm. I think you mean you want a mono producing max power @ 2 ohm.
Just curious, is there any particular reason one would not want a 1 ohm stable amp that will deliver required power @ 2 ohm.

Postby Ted_v2 » August 27th, 2012, 11:28 pm

doesnt it have a powerbass asa 400.1 ? 400rms at 2 ohm
orion cobalt 800.1 400rms at 2 ohm

shouldnt be more than 1200 for either amps

archangel2011

Postby archangel2011 » September 5th, 2012, 11:08 pm

how about the phoenix gold sd600.1 (not sure it steve's have this model)
http://www.phoenixgold.com/products/amplifiers/SD/
or if you willing to go 1ohm there is a cute crossfire c3 501 by DE audio
http://www.crossfirecaraudio.com/product/c3-amplifiers/
over the weekend, i helped a friend install the PG SD800.5 and for its small size,its pretty impressive so in terms of size (it was installed under the seat in an almera with lots of room for air to pass thru) and performance it was really good.if you are willing to go to 1ohm the crossfire amp will fit in your palm and deliver the power

Postby rollingstock » September 6th, 2012, 3:39 am

Phoenix Gold R500.1
Everything you want.

Or if you can get an older PG Xenon 600.1 like what's I got even better, will do rated power at 4,3,2&1 ohm, and actually underrated.

Pre

Postby Pre » September 7th, 2012, 6:01 pm

throw in d JBL GTO 501EZ its rated at 500rms at 2ohms and has 2X25A fuses probably less than $1200

Postby kurpal_v2 » September 7th, 2012, 8:48 pm

Pre wrote:throw in d JBL GTO 501EZ its rated at 500rms at 2ohms and has 2X25A fuses probably less than $1200

Those gto amps are quite good from experience.

Amp survivived lots of abuse and The newer ones looks tanks.

Postby SR » September 8th, 2012, 6:39 am

do you really need 500 watts?

consider this

http://www.jlaudio.com/xd700-5-car-audi ... iers-98264

$3100 no subsonic high and low only goes to 50hz

you wont find a budget amp with an xover that goes lower than 50hz and unless your enclosure is ported there is no need for a subsonic filter

Postby nervewrecker » September 8th, 2012, 11:49 am

Enclosure will be ported.

I ask for approx 600watts of budget power so even if I get a bit less I will be able to match up the 400 watt sub. A little head room from a slightly more powerful amp wouldnt hurt.

Soundstream stealth STL1.600.1d has everything I will need. Variable ssf 15 - 50 hz, small, reasonable on price.

Alpine MRX - V70 looks like a nice option as well, I wont have to buy a 4ch. ssf 5-30hz -24db slope. 350 watts @ 2 ohm on the sub channel, a little less that what I need but ease of install, size and availability of other options makes this amp a choice.

Price will be the determining factor here.

Postby Ted_v2 » September 8th, 2012, 4:33 pm

alpine also has another amp worth checking -MRP-M50o

goodear

Postby goodear » September 8th, 2012, 11:12 pm

Old School Rockford fosgate 501d. Small but fierce lol

Kongorealm

Postby Kongorealm » September 10th, 2012, 9:15 am

rollingstock wrote:Phoenix Gold R500.1
Everything you want.

Or if you can get an older PG Xenon 600.1 like what's I got even better, will do rated power at 4,3,2&1 ohm, and actually underrated.

that PG xenon is a boss of an amp, can vouch for their performance!