120A Alternator Ok 4CarShow!?

scypher

120A Alternator Ok 4CarShow!?

Postby scypher » August 22nd, 2012, 2:30 pm

So i hav alot of current problems with my voltage in my audio system...Voltage drops to 10's & well of course music sounds distorted.

System Info:

Stock Mazda Alt (80A I Think)
Two 12" Dual 2 Ohm Subs @ 900RMS Each
Subs wired to 0.5 Ohms
2600RMS Mono Amp Half Ohm Stable (0.5 Ohms)
960RMS 4CH Amp
Mids speakers :- 2x 8" 2x 6" 2x bullet tweeters & 2x dome tweeters
Two 830CA 100Ah Batteries DryCell
Big 3 Upgrade - 0 Guage
Mono Amp - 0 Guage
4Ch Amp - 4 Guage
Pre-Amp

I want to kno what types of alternators are used in carshows for double 12" category....will a upgrade to a 120A Alt for my sys resolve my current probs or i definately need to go muc higher??

UZi Tech

Re: 120A Alternator Ok 4CarShow!?

Postby UZi Tech » August 22nd, 2012, 3:37 pm

u cud use like a mechman 200A......and 2 nice deepcycle....d3100 or XP3000 if u got the $$$$....

noyztoyz

Postby noyztoyz » August 22nd, 2012, 11:57 pm

upgrading to a 120a alternator is gonna solve one fifth of your problem

consider it this way - there is money to be spent here to keep that voltage up
you spend it and put a high amperage ho alternator now
or u put the cheaper 120a alt and spend the rest of money in batteries to make up

almost same money both ways

btw, the loudest man in double 12 category right now is using a 270a mechman alternator and six sparta DG120 batteries

scypher

Postby scypher » August 23rd, 2012, 12:19 am

thanks for d info , appreciate it.

agabriel

Postby agabriel » August 23rd, 2012, 2:58 am

who is de loudest man is double 12 right now cuz by my last check (please correct me if im wrong) it was thor and dat is not wat asylum using

noyztoyz

Postby noyztoyz » August 23rd, 2012, 8:35 am

things changed in mk simplex recently, ghostbusters in charge again

Postby SR » August 23rd, 2012, 9:11 am

loudest?? how was that proven? on a meter or by a "crowd"

noyztoyz

Postby noyztoyz » August 23rd, 2012, 9:48 am

by judges who are your friends, talk to dem nah

meter? - in trinidad nobody spends a hundred grand on their system to sit in they car and wind up glass and play around with pressure, maybe u would but 95% of car audio men here dont

Postby nervewrecker » August 23rd, 2012, 9:51 am

In all fairness there was and now again is a category to face the meter with the glasses down :lol:

bass boxing and park and pound.

noyztoyz

Postby noyztoyz » August 23rd, 2012, 9:55 am

^ thaz d reel flick now

Postby nervewrecker » August 23rd, 2012, 10:01 am

I personally prefer to hit the meter, let that be the judge as it wont lie.

I know I wont score high with a low pass of approx 31hz but say what, at least I will see where I stand.

If is numbers I want there are cheap subs I can install, low pass at 50hz and beat the crap out of them :mrgreen:

agabriel

Postby agabriel » August 23rd, 2012, 10:17 am

nervewrecker wrote:In all fairness there was and now again is a category to face the meter with the glasses down :lol:

bass boxing and park and pound.

if i am not mistaken thor did 120somthing i think it was 124 in simplex park and pound

Postby nervewrecker » August 23rd, 2012, 10:27 am

dutty wine and rolly from team wise men ever hit the meter? park and pound wise.

Postby kurpal_v2 » August 23rd, 2012, 11:49 am

nervewrecker wrote:dutty wine and rolly from team wise men ever hit the meter? park and pound wise.

Not as far as I can recall.

So far only a handfull of competitors could back up their talk when their excuse "buh buh mih car build to play music" is called.

Nathan

Postby Nathan » August 23rd, 2012, 1:17 pm

Wait wait??? ahem so let me say a few words.... firstly addressing the guy's question.. if money is a problem you could upgrade to a 120amp alt or a tida 140amp alt..... or if not... what the guy said.. 200 mechman..... should invest in a trickle charger and charge your batteries ever so often as i do.

SECONDLY Ghostbusters 2 12" won by 5 points against thor as the vehicle was alot louder in all aspects of the competition. As it was said to the public by the one man installer (jimmy) the car was put under the RTA meter before simplex show and all patrons who was there heard the vast difference btwn both vehicles.... thor did sound good.. however the louder of the competition won JUDGED. All who challenge my words... pay $50 in a carshow and come hear yourself

agabriel

Postby agabriel » August 23rd, 2012, 2:07 pm

ight nathan well we will see at the next show

Postby nervewrecker » August 23rd, 2012, 2:39 pm

Nathan wrote:Wait wait??? ahem so let me say a few words.... firstly addressing the guy's question.. if money is a problem you could upgrade to a 120amp alt or a tida 140amp alt..... or if not... what the guy said.. 200 mechman..... should invest in a trickle charger and charge your batteries ever so often as i do.

SECONDLY Ghostbusters 2 12" won by 5 points against thor as the vehicle was alot louder in all aspects of the competition. As it was said to the public by the one man installer (jimmy) the car was put under the RTA meter before simplex show and all patrons who was there heard the vast difference btwn both vehicles.... thor did sound good.. however the louder of the competition won JUDGED. All who challenge my words... pay $50 in a carshow and come hear yourself

firstly addressing the problem:

you cant want dollar pong and have fifty cent electrical, dollar for dollar is the right way, anything less will cost you dollar and fifty in fixing problems over time.

120 and 140A at what rpm, holler back when you verify that.

trickle charger charges the batteries where? how is it going to keep the voltage up while the music is withdrawing from the battery bank in the car?

scypher

Postby scypher » August 23rd, 2012, 4:24 pm

well money is a problem atm as my 1st intentions waz a stinger 240A Alt for $4000 plus bracket & installation....but im tryin to get a temporary fix for the moment is not like i hav d best of d best my sys shud b considered as notin dese days...so i figured for now a 120a upgrade might hav gave me a noticable difference.

anyways im enjoying the unrelated convos aswell.

Postby nervewrecker » August 23rd, 2012, 7:00 pm

A 120A upgrade from stock wont make much of a difference, I think the ratings on the 120 and 140A alternators mentioned there are max ratings.
The stinger is rated at a high rpm as well but the Mechman, XS power and pretty expensive ones are rated at idle rpm.
Basically - you get what you pay for.

If you know you on a budget why did you get such power demanding equipment?

Nathan

Postby Nathan » August 23rd, 2012, 9:06 pm

agabriel wrote:ight nathan well we will see at the next show

yepp ofc.... national finals

noyztoyz

Postby noyztoyz » August 23rd, 2012, 9:10 pm

the stinger 240 a alternator only does 165a of current maximum,
like a video of this needs to be posted or wha?

scypher

Postby scypher » August 23rd, 2012, 10:00 pm

nervewrecker wrote:A 120A upgrade from stock wont make much of a difference, I think the ratings on the 120 and 140A alternators mentioned there are max ratings.
The stinger is rated at a high rpm as well but the Mechman, XS power and pretty expensive ones are rated at idle rpm.
Basically - you get what you pay for.

If you know you on a budget why did you get such power demanding equipment?

ok 1st off im not on any budget , if u read over wat i said..." money is a prob atm " otherwise i wudnt be looking to buy what i thought waz d best alt we hav in trinidad but im now hearing about this mechman 1 so i'll look in2 da 1 instead. so like i said b4 im lookin for a temp fix...if d 120 can b considered a temp fix den good if not den i'll jus buy d mech alt.

Postby nervewrecker » August 23rd, 2012, 11:31 pm

Mechman aint nuttin new, I wont get into the 'mechman and we not having a dealer here' story though. Its good stuff though.

$$$ spent on the tiida alt or otherwise is dead $$$ as you gonna burn down that alt pretty soon with that current draw. That 140A is max rating btw.
Save your $$$ and try to get one of the Ohio generators I saw at RRR for $4k (cant remember how much warranty).

People roll with stock alt and rely on battery bank with current draw like that already. I;d say rally with it for the time being but try to not get too happy and crank it for long. Have a voltage meter installed to monitor your voltage but make the electrical upgrades a priority as well as proper sized cables or you will never see full power out of those amps.
If you getting a higher output alt for dog cheap $$$ though, by all means, work with it but like I said, dont expect miracles.

Postby Ted_v2 » August 24th, 2012, 4:47 am

Just asking a question here

what bass amp do you have?

Postby nervewrecker » August 24th, 2012, 6:02 am

sounds soundstream-ish

scypher

Postby scypher » August 24th, 2012, 10:07 am

nervewrecker wrote:Mechman aint nuttin new, I wont get into the 'mechman and we not having a dealer here' story though. Its good stuff though.

$$$ spent on the tiida alt or otherwise is dead $$$ as you gonna burn down that alt pretty soon with that current draw. That 140A is max rating btw.
Save your $$$ and try to get one of the Ohio generators I saw at RRR for $4k (cant remember how much warranty).

People roll with stock alt and rely on battery bank with current draw like that already. I;d say rally with it for the time being but try to not get too happy and crank it for long. Have a voltage meter installed to monitor your voltage but make the electrical upgrades a priority as well as proper sized cables or you will never see full power out of those amps.
If you getting a higher output alt for dog cheap $$$ though, by all means, work with it but like I said, dont expect miracles.

ok kool man i understand, idk about ohio generator either but i'll try 2get sum info on it , tnx bro.

noyztoyz

Postby noyztoyz » August 24th, 2012, 10:13 am

eh whaz the mechman issue?

i am authorised dealer for mechman alternators,

we uphold the service and the warranty that mechman provides in the US
and we have almost all parts u can need in stock

and i dont think anyone comparing to us right now price for performance

scypher

Postby scypher » August 24th, 2012, 10:15 am

nervewrecker wrote:sounds soundstream-ish

buh a a lol

@ sound boy 64 ..... yea turantula ....

scypher

Postby scypher » August 24th, 2012, 10:18 am

noyztoyz wrote:eh whaz the mechman issue?

i am authorised dealer for mechman alternators,

we uphold the service and the warranty that mechman provides in the US
and we have almost all parts u can need in stock

and i dont think anyone comparing to us right now price for performance

Oh!? so umm like i said im still new to mechman & that ohio that nerve waz tlkin bout...which is btr & price difference?

noyztoyz

Postby noyztoyz » August 24th, 2012, 4:51 pm

well both are very good brands, they have many different models each

only some models are suited for use in this country if you want durability

I select these and bring only these because i have to honour the warranty

Ive seen the ohio alts rrr sell,
I wont sell those and try to honour warranty,

i wont say more than that except that alternator case design and cooling system is very important for use / abuse alternators see in this country

call me if u want a alt and cant afford all right now, we'll work something out