MY DIY Audio Install :)

nos_specialist

MY DIY Audio Install :)

Postby nos_specialist » May 13th, 2012, 12:14 pm

Ok, so i am doing over the music in my Wingroad...Now i am not a pro, and this is a first attempt for me..so go easy

And i got pics....

The idea is to mount speakers in the rear doors....of course, which wasnt designed for speakers..

The chopping begins

I needed to make rings, for the 6 1/2 inch speakers...and the covers, SO with the help of my router, and my mom's chopping board (no longer...a chopping board) i make a Circle cutting Jig

And this is what i made...and my toes..

I am going to install the speakers recessed into the rings, so i made another one and....

First speaker mounted..

Second speaker mounted..

Tweeter mounted...

And thats enough for Today..

Going to line up the next door tmr, fiberglassing to come soon

For anyone who wants to know, the Speakers are Faital Pro

i welcome any advice or tips etc....
Last edited by nos_specialist on May 13th, 2012, 12:32 pm, edited 1 time in total.

OffshoreMarketing

Re: MY DIY Audio Install :)

Postby OffshoreMarketing » May 13th, 2012, 12:31 pm

looks good so far man

Postby kurpal_v2 » May 13th, 2012, 12:35 pm

Subscribed!

Postby BrotherHood » May 13th, 2012, 2:35 pm

kurpal_v2 wrote:Subscribed!

x2.

NR8

Postby NR8 » May 13th, 2012, 8:36 pm

I must say you're real brave to cut up your door upholstery! lol. Good luck with your project dude

Postby - Rovin's car audio - » May 13th, 2012, 10:41 pm

reminds me of when i did a similar thing yrs ago to put in a pair of 6.5" infinity comps in my back doors of my AD but mine was much more simpler : i cut d door upholstery & bolted d speaker onto d upholstery itself , it came out looking factory made , will have to dig up in my files to find pics of it

if u doing 2 8s in d back doors then what is in d front doors ?

by chance if u mess up : wingroad upholstery is plentiful & fairly cheap in d bamboo ... :)

nos_specialist

Postby nos_specialist » May 13th, 2012, 10:57 pm

NR8 wrote:I must say you're real brave to cut up your door upholstery! lol. Good luck with your project dude

I bought upholstery....$30.00 a side :lol:

nos_specialist

Postby nos_specialist » May 13th, 2012, 11:00 pm

(...Rovin...) wrote:reminds me of when i did a similar thing yrs ago to put in a pair of 6.5" infinity comps in my back doors of my AD but mine was much more simpler : i cut d door upholstery & bolted d speaker onto d upholstery itself , it came out looking factory made , will have to dig up in my files to find pics of it

if u doing 2 8s in d back doors then what is in d front doors ?

by chance if u mess up : wingroad upholstery is plentiful & fairly cheap in d bamboo ... :)

these are 2 6.5" faital pros,

my total midrange and low bass will be..

2 8" B&C midbass speakers above backseat

6 6.5 Faital pro, 1 on each front door, 2 on each rear door

NR8

Postby NR8 » May 13th, 2012, 11:14 pm

nos_specialist wrote:
NR8 wrote:I must say you're real brave to cut up your door upholstery! lol. Good luck with your project dude

I bought upholstery....$30.00 a side :lol:

:shock: where you get that price dread??

Firewall

Postby Firewall » May 14th, 2012, 12:04 am

Looks nice so far.

Nice to see a build in the ICE forum again.

-Roach-

Postby -Roach- » May 14th, 2012, 6:13 am

Sweet.... Good luck with your installation.... Can't wait for the rest of pics....

roger

Postby roger » May 14th, 2012, 11:20 am

thats alot of midrange.!!!!

Postby - Rovin's car audio - » May 14th, 2012, 11:21 am

how come 2 on d rear door & 1 on d front door - any special reason for this ?

8 speakers for mids is alot - u mind saying what ur bassline is ? ...

nos_specialist

Postby nos_specialist » May 15th, 2012, 8:14 am

(...Rovin...) wrote:how come 2 on d rear door & 1 on d front door - any special reason for this ?

8 speakers for mids is alot - u mind saying what ur bassline is ? ...

well a few years ago i installed lambo style doors....so i dont wanna put much weight or much modification in the front doors....

8 speakers is a lot of midrange, my previous installation had 2 12" Pioneer 306 subs...and my word, those speakers performed.....they are cosmetically damaged tho, the black coating from the suspension gone thru.

I am considering adding a 3rd 306 sub (if i cud get one somewhere) to the setup, and install them reverse in the box, with the magnet outside.

i dont know how this will perform, but i saw some carshow pics and i like the look...

who can advise on this method?

Postby ruffneck_12 » May 15th, 2012, 5:27 pm

the only advantage of reverse mounting is that you get back the enclosure volume that would normally be taken up by the magnet/basket

and the bling factor :)

nos_specialist

Postby nos_specialist » May 15th, 2012, 6:23 pm

ruffneck_12 wrote:the only advantage of reverse mounting is that you get back the enclosure volume that would normally be taken up by the magnet/basket

and the bling factor :)

ok good...i need all the volume i cud muster up, i have a big airtank behind the back seat :lol:

nos_specialist

Postby nos_specialist » May 15th, 2012, 6:32 pm

UPDATE....... SOOOOO....
I lined up the other side...$30.00 upholstery...dailey's imports in marabella is d bosssss

Then I got the "fleece" unfortunately Rahaman's didnt have so i had to take wat i got.....and i got..

PINK....good lorrd, it pink...

Anyhow, i fleeced onside and applied some fibreglass resin

next day i got time, i will do the same for the other side

i not too sure if i doin this all to correct..(with the staples and all) BUT
I hope this comes out good.....

All advice welcomed

-Roach-

Postby -Roach- » May 15th, 2012, 8:32 pm

Pretty good man....

smr_fingers

Postby smr_fingers » May 15th, 2012, 11:32 pm

looks good man....subscribed
where did you get the skins for 30$?

Postby X_Factor » May 16th, 2012, 12:09 am

nice stuff there
i remember someone telling me to take sand paper and scuff up the upholstery where the resin/glass going over

what about attaching a small strip of mdf between the two speakers at the bottom to give it a bit more strength and for someting for the fleece and resin to hold on to?
so it wouldnt have that hollow bubble part as the first one?...

Postby - Rovin's car audio - » May 16th, 2012, 11:33 am

when i saw that pink >>> :rofl: :rofl: :rofl:

i bet dat pink was bunning yuh eyes when u was working with it ... :lol: :lol: :lol:

1st time u must make mistakes & learn from it so doh hot yuh head

still cant believe somebody selling good upholstery for rel piper price ... :shock:

Postby gt4tified » May 17th, 2012, 12:32 am

Looking great so far. How will you be reinforcing the installation of the entire assembly, as I know the upholstery clips alone wouldn't hold out with that weight?

Postby rollingstock » May 17th, 2012, 11:44 am

gt4tified wrote:Looking great so far. How will you be reinforcing the installation of the entire assembly, as I know the upholstery clips alone wouldn't hold out with that weight?

Actually it will, did something similar some years ago. The top of the door skin hooks onto the door frame taking the weight, the clips just hold it in place.

op are you using any dampening on the door itself? Had some irritating rattle when i did it.

OffshoreMarketing

Postby OffshoreMarketing » May 17th, 2012, 6:16 pm

man this looks good

Postby Ted_v2 » May 17th, 2012, 7:19 pm

pretty good work
wish i could of got upholstery so cheap :(

nos_specialist

Postby nos_specialist » May 17th, 2012, 8:09 pm

HEY FOLKS...due to the rain, i cudn't have done fibreglassing, so i jus waiting for a lil sun,

to answer all questions..

no it doesnt have a bulge, i dunno how it looks that way in the pics lol

I dont think i need to reinforce the door, the clips, 2 10 bolts and of course being hooked on top shud do fine

I will be dampening the door tho...after reading about rollingstock rattling episode

i will pull the next fleece tmr or saturday and apply resin....hopefully we shud be getting some sunny weather soon

nos_specialist

Postby nos_specialist » May 17th, 2012, 9:39 pm

UPDATEEEE....i jus offered up the covers, so i cud get an idea of how it looks

not that baddd....lol

Postby nervewrecker » May 19th, 2012, 10:38 am

nos_specialist wrote:HEY FOLKS...due to the rain, i cudn't have done fibreglassing, so i jus waiting for a lil sun,

rain is no big deal, just add more mkep (maybe twice to three times the amount). IT will take a little longer to cure but I find it cures on me suddenly like that. Mix small batches like 250ml at a time and do a layer on each door, leave to dry (half hour in the cold should be enough) and start a next layer.

nos_specialist

Postby nos_specialist » May 19th, 2012, 12:48 pm

hmmm interesting point but good news i got sun today SOO....i fibreglassed one and left it to dry. pics coming soon

Postby X_Factor » May 19th, 2012, 1:37 pm

u could also use a blow dryer or heat gun on the mixture to initiate the hardening process but it sometimes get hard 2 fast