effects of a small box ?

spam

effects of a small box ?

Postby spam » May 10th, 2011, 5:46 pm

i got a premade box online and modified it to use wit my 2 8" kicker l7. it is a dual chamber measurements are 30"W 14"H 14"D and it is made from .75 MDF port length is 17" and the outta port is 2" then it goes into 1" goin into each chamber. box supposed to be tuned to 35hz.

is this box a bit too small for these subs ? it sounds ok but i am guess they would sound better a a bigger box. what you all think?
:shock: :shock: :shock:
Last edited by spam on May 10th, 2011, 10:24 pm, edited 1 time in total.

Re: effects of a small box ?

Postby meccalli » May 10th, 2011, 6:37 pm

I think it should be meh*workable*- im just eyeballing, however we all know kicker subs go crazy in larger enclosures. I don't know what subs you have. From my guestimates you should be around 2.3 cubes around 38hz(port height?) smaller boxes are usually just less efficient in terms of db.

Firewall

Postby Firewall » May 10th, 2011, 9:40 pm

meccalli wrote:I think it should be meh*workable*- im just eyeballing, however we all know kicker subs go crazy in larger enclosures. I don't know what subs you have. From my guestimates you should be around 2.3 cubes around 38hz(port height?) smaller boxes are usually just less efficient in terms of db.

can you explain that statement? because most SPL boxes are ridiculously small, probably you meant less efficient on music?

spam

Postby spam » May 10th, 2011, 10:30 pm

meccalli wrote:I think it should be meh*workable*- im just eyeballing, however we all know kicker subs go crazy in larger enclosures. I don't know what subs you have. From my guestimates you should be around 2.3 cubes around 38hz(port height?) smaller boxes are usually just less efficient in terms of db.

so i shud be good wit 2.3 for the 2 speakers minus speaker displacement and port ?

the small box shud be .66 cubic and the maximum size should be around 1 cubic.

Postby meccalli » May 10th, 2011, 11:39 pm

Yep, the op wondered would it sound better so i'm guessing he doesn't want any special application as an spl enclosure- no more sound than a loud buzz lol.

And yeah, i guess if thats the manufacturer recommendation for ported, you should just dandy. If your not pleased for whatever reason, you may want to look at box placement or the the actual tuning.