My amp goin to protectioon jus so.....

nicki

My amp goin to protectioon jus so.....

Postby nicki » March 30th, 2011, 5:44 pm

i have a tripple x (xxx) 320.4 mids amp but it goes straight to protection when its on...... ADVICE !!!!

doublestenns

Re: My amp goin to protectioon jus so.....

Postby doublestenns » March 30th, 2011, 7:56 pm

post a lil more info na so u go get better advice

unknown person

Postby unknown person » April 1st, 2011, 11:45 am

nicki wrote:i have a tripple x (xxx) 320.4 mids amp but it goes straight to protection when its on...... ADVICE !!!!

could be the outputs blown, bad ground or something inside is loose and shorting something

nicki

Postby nicki » April 1st, 2011, 4:19 pm

tanx guys...
i was installin to play to eights and a single 12 but when we tested bass..... which we hooked up first it played for 5 mins and den protection
hadda carry it to fix jus wanted to know.....

***TRINISON***

Postby ***TRINISON*** » April 2nd, 2011, 10:20 pm

Sounds like it was over drained. Shouldn't be too much trouble to repair ie, if the correct electrician is working on it. Please post the solution afterwards for general knowledge...

Postby Gladiator » April 2nd, 2011, 10:39 pm

***TRINISON*** wrote:Sounds like it was over drained. Shouldn't be too much trouble to repair ie, if the correct electrician is working on it. Please post the solution afterwards for general knowledge...

Hmmm... yeah amps tend to do that when "over drained"... also check all gas kits and seals and make sure everything bolt up tight so it wont over drain again :wink:

jonathanpolo509

Postby jonathanpolo509 » April 2nd, 2011, 11:56 pm

lol :lol: :lol: :lol:

unknown person

Postby unknown person » April 3rd, 2011, 12:07 am

***TRINISON*** wrote:Sounds like it was over drained. Shouldn't be too much trouble to repair ie, if the correct electrician is working on it. Please post the solution afterwards for general knowledge...

uhhh...overdrain?
electrician?
hmmmm....this is new....

Postby meccalli » April 3rd, 2011, 7:02 am

..Oh my i must be late with all these new terms..over drained meaning faulty caps that aren't charging??..just trying to make sense..

***TRINISON***

Postby ***TRINISON*** » April 3rd, 2011, 8:02 am

You know, it's amazing how literal ppl take the wrong things...
I was talking about the draining caused by the possible impedance with the speaker not being wired properly.

Typical trinis. Have nothing good to say, and asserting yuh ego.

But all yuh fellas 'bright'. So fix.

Postby Gladiator » April 3rd, 2011, 9:58 am

***TRINISON*** wrote:You know, it's amazing how literal ppl take the wrong things...
I was talking about the draining caused by the possible impedance with the speaker not being wired properly.

Typical trinis. Have nothing good to say, and asserting yuh ego.

But all yuh fellas 'bright'. So fix.

Doh take we on man.... we jus playin :)

Most likely the guy's amp was Over Driven..... maybe his gain was set too high or as you correctly said the impedance was too low because of incorrect wiring and he Overload it.

The cheaper amps on the market come with only basic protection that aren't too good at sensing a fault and shutting down before damage happens. The best advice was given by Pioneer... Just buy better equipment.

No hard feelings......

***TRINISON***

Postby ***TRINISON*** » April 3rd, 2011, 10:04 am

^^^^small ting....:)

unknown person

Postby unknown person » April 3rd, 2011, 10:12 am

i'm not trying to degrade you son...you just used the wrong term in the electronics discussion.
it's not overdrained, we know it as using it full tilt, once you don't match the speakers impedance the output have to go thru too much therefore increasing the voltage in the powersupply stage in the amp to cater for the mismatch speakers therefore either causing the protection circuit to trip off or worse yet, blow a fet or the outputs followed by a chain reaction of resistors, diodes and a few items.

nicki

Postby nicki » April 3rd, 2011, 11:42 am

tanx guys for all the advise.....