Postby wheel whores » March 6th, 2011, 11:33 pm

Re: whats the worst peice of musical equipment u come across

Postby ruffneck_12 » March 6th, 2011, 11:57 pm

my current crossover, Rodeo Drive 22V or sumn is d model

cant find it on the web
mids bleed thru the lowpass section
and even on the lowest value on the highpass (around 45Hz) absolutley no midbass comes thru,,,

but hey, I got it free

all piezoelectric tweeters

unknown person

Postby unknown person » March 7th, 2011, 1:11 am

shiva.ramroopsingh wrote:Image

what's so wrong with it?
or bad about it?

wheel whores

Postby wheel whores » March 7th, 2011, 7:39 am

the bloody thing trips off after about a hour of playing :evil: not the mids amp, not the mono, but this sheit :evil:. also it was mounted in the glove box away from any heat source

Mr_Carz

Postby Mr_Carz » March 7th, 2011, 7:12 pm

hmm, my worst has to be a 300watt (max) Pyramid 2ch, ting was just sheit, didnt expect it to do much but oh gorr lol ;; Power Acoustic Bass 12...thing was retarded :$

Postby 3stagevtec » March 7th, 2011, 11:18 pm

Please give reasons to make the thread more informative..

My worst buy was the Audio Control Epicenter as it did not perform as I had expected at all.. Next was the SS lil wonder, worked well right up until I replaced it for a RF Punch amp and realized exactly how much of a difference a good amplifier can make.

All my other purchases did live up to their expectations, those even include a Boss Chaos amplifier, low end subs etc..

Best buys was my Stetsom amplifier for SPL, RF amps for full range, Audiopipe candy cone subs for SPL, JVC Arsenal decks for reliability & quality output.

Mr_Carz

Postby Mr_Carz » March 8th, 2011, 10:43 am

oh and some yellow Y-Jacks, 2 female to 1 male... cant remember the brand but thing like it was built with cardboard, the male part only use to snap off..

@3stagevtec ;; i have to agree with you ob the Audiopipe Candy cone, i still have 2 10inch in those and they playing real nice,

But i curious about the Audiocontrol Epicenter, isnt that claimed to be "the best" of those type of processors compared to the soundstream & power acoustic versiions?

Postby 3stagevtec » March 8th, 2011, 11:05 am

Mr_Carz wrote:But i curious about the Audiocontrol Epicenter, isnt that claimed to be "the best" of those type of processors compared to the soundstream & power acoustic versiions?

It was supposed to be, but the Epicenter I used sounded extremely unnatural! It did lower the bass etc, but I kept picking up on how it was changing the music and because of that, it sounded awful.. (The natural lows in music remained unchanged, but it turned the natural higher bass into super deadly lows.. I really wanted it to just slightly enhance the natural lows..)

Mr_Carz

Postby Mr_Carz » March 8th, 2011, 11:35 am

understood, thanks ;; nothing like playhin a dub and hearin super lows instead of 50-60hz ish bass >.<, must sound.... weird

boss_specialist

Postby boss_specialist » March 8th, 2011, 11:36 pm

power acoustik ps-240 4 channel amp

dah sheit cud nuh play nothing good..nuh even ah tweeter

DJ Q

Postby DJ Q » March 9th, 2011, 3:31 pm

Worst buy was my premier 3004spl. I thought it sounded good until I heard the quantum I bought after.

Man that sub SUCKED.

Most surprising buy was my two zebras. To this day I just can't believe how hard these things pound.

Postby 3stagevtec » March 9th, 2011, 6:51 pm

DJ Q wrote:Worst buy was my premier 3004spl. I thought it sounded good until I heard the quantum I bought after.

Man that sub SUCKED.

hmm, could the enclosure have anything to do with it?

what I remember about the 5000spl was that it sounded really sloppy in a large, low tuned enclosure.. it only required about 2.0cu.ft to work..

Postby - Rovin's car audio - » March 9th, 2011, 9:10 pm

DJ Q wrote:Worst buy was my premier 3004spl. I thought it sounded good until I heard the quantum I bought after.

Man that sub SUCKED.

:shock: :shock: :shock:

i owned a 3002 in that model which is pretty much d same thing , it sux @ss in d pio rec specs so i want to suspect u had it in not so good a enclosure

i owned pio subs b4 & that 3002 was my fav pio\premier sub but u have to have it in a rather big close to 3cuft enclosure tuned low 30s & it will shock u , this is d same sub that shook out d key lock from my trunk & when ppl talking in d front seat they sounded as if u speaking in front a fan , serious lows & it got loud too , iirc fs was was around 26-27hz ...

DJ Q

Postby DJ Q » March 10th, 2011, 7:08 am

3stagevtec wrote:

Man that sub SUCKED.

hmm, could the enclosure have anything to do with it?

what I remember about the 5000spl was that it sounded really sloppy in a large, low tuned enclosure.. it only required about 2.0cu.ft to work..

Enclosure was to spec.

It just doesn't live up to the expectations. It takes the abusive power, yes, but the output is disappointing when you compare to other subs in the same category.

It's like a B13 with an SR20DET vs. a Ferrari. The B13 is fast.... but not compared to a Ferrari.

silent_riot

Postby silent_riot » March 10th, 2011, 8:05 am

Yeah I don't like the epicenter either. It is great for street pounders though, hell no for Sound Q.
Worst piece of equipment is the car...not enough kickpanel :D

fuzz_174

Postby fuzz_174 » March 10th, 2011, 9:22 am

I like my epicenter :lol:

Postby rollingstock » March 10th, 2011, 11:26 pm

Power Acoustik pwm 19. This sheit really killed my bass, had my gains up really high and still the output was lacking, ran the sub output from the pio 8600 headunit straight to the mono and had to turn the gain to less than quarter. POS equipment.

Wolfstein

Postby Wolfstein » March 12th, 2011, 4:03 pm

lil wonder 620 it kept trippin. bought a lanzer and just put it in same wiring and speakers and wokin still with out a glich

Postby meccalli » March 17th, 2011, 12:20 am

Pyramid products ... so amazing---Its beautiful silence the moment you shut it off.

Postby Ted_v2 » March 17th, 2011, 6:11 am

Sony XM-554ZR

amp was epic sheit..onboard cross overs dont work at all
amp rated 60x4

puts out 30rms per channel at least and over heats playing 2 6x9 for 20 mins

Firewall

Postby Firewall » March 17th, 2011, 12:39 pm

worst piece of musical equipment i ever come across is without a doubt this thing called the installer.

from dispensing gems such as "m&m'z does song cork", "jess turn up d gain" and "4 ohm loud, 2 ohm louder", this device certainly falls into the category of "you get what you pay for".

When faulty this piece of equipment can cause problems such as alternator whine, grounding loops and it sometimes also aids in the production of copious amounts of magical white smoke. Also many problems that you are having with your system may be rectified, by changing this piece of equipment first.

Price ranges from low priced which do the job...adequately and nothing else, there are the more reasonably priced models which work excellently, and some higher priced pieces which you only pay MSRP for.

So anyway, before you go out and get yourself one, make sure of the quality and workmanship of the product.

D.S.S

Postby D.S.S » March 17th, 2011, 2:40 pm

THE STEEL PAN.

Postby ruffneck_12 » March 17th, 2011, 3:07 pm

meccalli wrote:Pyramid products ... so amazing---Its beautiful silence the moment you shut it off.

unless yuh d amp shiddy and doh have soft turn off, it goes down fighting

*BOOP*

wheel whores

Postby wheel whores » March 17th, 2011, 7:50 pm

Firewall wrote:worst piece of musical equipment i ever come across is without a doubt this thing called the installer.

from dispensing gems such as "m&m'z does song cork", "jess turn up d gain" and "4 ohm loud, 2 ohm louder", this device certainly falls into the category of "you get what you pay for".

When faulty this piece of equipment can cause problems such as alternator whine, grounding loops and it sometimes also aids in the production of copious amounts of magical white smoke. Also many problems that you are having with your system may be rectified, by changing this piece of equipment first.

Price ranges from low priced which do the job...adequately and nothing else, there are the more reasonably priced models which work excellently, and some higher priced pieces which you only pay MSRP for.

So anyway, before you go out and get yourself one, make sure of the quality and workmanship of the product.

Postby ~Vēġó~ » March 19th, 2011, 2:05 pm

good thread.....was gonna get a lil wonder but now I definitely WON'T!!!!

theblitz

Postby theblitz » March 20th, 2011, 8:27 pm

D.S.S wrote:THE STEEL PAN.

That off topic but like you never hear good Pan. :shock:

I also vote pyramid products as paperweights.

Mr_Carz

Postby Mr_Carz » March 20th, 2011, 10:38 pm

i have a pyramid 2ch "amp" bein used as a space filler in my room...