PPI eye candy

noyztoyz

PPI eye candy

Postby noyztoyz » April 16th, 2010, 11:45 pm

Each is well over 10 years old :shock: but look at the condition of them.
Each will do close to 2000rms bridged at 4 ohms,
Ive read collectors and testers hold them in more revere than the the big boy PCX2400.
Dont know why, but they are also rumored to do more power as well.

True collectors item, capable of giving some loud a$$ mids if used with proper speakers (12s recommended)
Feel free to post pics of other PPI precious powerful amps u got! 8-)

Last edited by noyztoyz on May 26th, 2010, 6:47 pm, edited 1 time in total.

southside connections

Postby southside connections » April 17th, 2010, 9:39 am

best amps here

they are extreemly well built, but i don't think they can surpass the 2400, being that the 2400 is the powerclass pro, and these are just standard powerclass amps

another way, is that the power class pro (pcx) 2400 has 2 sets of power inputs, which may count for somthing

viking1705

Postby viking1705 » April 17th, 2010, 5:26 pm

:o :o :o :o :o :o :o :o :o i can jus cry..lol.....bess amps there i also doubt it does more power than the 2400 but its very powerful non the less

carfreak1024

Postby carfreak1024 » April 17th, 2010, 6:19 pm

hoss da thread title is rell heights yes boi,

i thought audiopipe and PPI merged and made a subwoofer when i now saw it yes.

casper

Postby casper » April 17th, 2010, 8:41 pm

dont have one but this is my ALL TIME FAVORITE PPI amp ever!!!!... this will wash a pcx2400 both in power and quality head to head :twisted:

i've seen a couple of these amps in action locally in Darren's Puzzle 323 with the 6 15" DD 9500 :shock: :shock: :shock: :shock:

PPI A1200

noyztoyz

Postby noyztoyz » April 17th, 2010, 8:48 pm

oh my nice one casper, that amp is a beast as well, i think it was made around 1993 so!

casper

Postby casper » April 17th, 2010, 9:06 pm

^^^around there for real

btw...the PCX series IS indeed more powerful than the regular PC series as its the competition line

http://www.carreview.com/mfr/precision- ... 06crx.aspx

^^^check out some reviews on the art series

:)

xeon

Postby xeon » April 17th, 2010, 10:51 pm

wow, where allyuh pull them thing out from, the attic or basement?

ruff neck chicken

Postby ruff neck chicken » April 18th, 2010, 10:23 am

ohhh nice. me likes :mrgreen:

altec

Postby altec » April 18th, 2010, 11:45 am

those better than the art series?

casper

Postby casper » April 18th, 2010, 11:52 am

^^^^ IMO no

Postby SR » April 19th, 2010, 9:50 am

^^^^^

agreed

noyztoyz

Postby noyztoyz » April 19th, 2010, 9:57 am

the art series hold way more value than all the other ppis. There must be a reason why.

Have a customer with a pc21400, pc4800, and 2 other smaller ones all chrome in pristine condition,
waiting patiently on him to post his pics

Postby SR » April 19th, 2010, 10:08 am

you can water cool the art series amps as well

Loudsound Customs

Postby Loudsound Customs » April 19th, 2010, 12:53 pm

Art Series Ax400

casper

Postby casper » April 19th, 2010, 1:08 pm

^^^love those art series amps

:P

Soundstream_626

Postby Soundstream_626 » April 19th, 2010, 1:11 pm

pssshh bet u never seen this ppi

a 2500 f1

specs:

It's a 1998 model for the 15th anniversary basically.

2x500rms@4ohm
2x1000rms@2ohm
1x2000@4ohm bridged
0.01% THD
120dB S/N ratio
>96dB seperation
0.15-12V sensitivity
>500 dampiing
7Hz-200kHz response

-All transistors are operated in high bias Class "A" mode
-Remote Status Display (basically a half DIN mount to put at the driver dispaly area with 6 LED's for monitoring any problems)
-True Balanced Input Section (balanced connections with an included balanced line driver)
-Four internal fans
-Power Saver (when no input signal is found it turns down the high current supply rail voltages to reduce energy consumption)
-Direct-Coupled Audio Path (gain stages are direct-coupled for higher signal integrity and extended low-end response)
-Precision Servo Control (four servo amplifiers per channel maintain precise DC operating points without performance limiting coupling capacitors)
-QuadDrive Output Stage (Quadruple-Darlington output stage, output and damping are constant throughout the entire bandwidth)

tristan20 had two

tristans thought on them from diyma

tristan20 wrote:Yeah I had a pair, one of the biggest baddest amp's ever made. Comes in a huge aluminum case, about 150 Lbs

They are HUGE as in JBL 6000 huge, made extremely solid, so solid that if you were in an accident the car would be all smashed up but the amp would still survive.

I sold mines to a dude that absolutely loves them, he has 5-6 already. My friend has a shop in queens and he has one in his display case but I dont think hes selling.

At IDLE around 40 amps, so make sure you got the juice or the amp will eat itself.

casper

Postby casper » April 19th, 2010, 1:20 pm

^^^WTMC yo.....never saw or even heard of those nah

:shock: :shock: :shock:

Postby - Rovin's car audio - » April 19th, 2010, 1:53 pm

:shock: bwda is that 1 boi

question : is it true that amps that have been built over 10yrs ago & still sitting there sometimes bnib can go defective ? ...something about d components in it going bad ? ....or in case of those that have been powered up , disconnected & stored for ex in a in a home can go bad ???

i asking something here & not trying to step any toes eh but its a discussion i had with a guy who in audio over 15yrs & he was saying something like this so i want a 2nd opinion .... :|

noyztoyz

Postby noyztoyz » April 19th, 2010, 1:56 pm

d phoq
why does it weigh 150lbs???

Postby SR » April 19th, 2010, 1:57 pm

yes it can happen

from cold solder to corrosion

casper

Postby casper » April 19th, 2010, 2:21 pm

Rovin...when disconnecting a used amp to rest down for a while you should discharge it to release the current stored in capacitors within the amp...capacitors may keep charge in it long after power is removed from the circuit...it not healthy for the amp to have it's capacitors storing energy in it when not in use for long periods....

some capacitors however have built-in discharge resistors to dissipate stored energy to a safe level within a few seconds after power is removed in order to serve as a precaution for potential damage or anything like that

noyztoyz

Postby noyztoyz » April 19th, 2010, 2:32 pm

i had some a dem that came brand new never used in yeaaarrrsss and couldnt play,
we had to open, use a heat gun, and play around with all the components and then they worked fine.
Happened to a vr4000 crossfire already also.

Loudsound Customs

Postby Loudsound Customs » April 19th, 2010, 3:11 pm

Soundstream_626 wrote:pssshh bet u never seen this ppi

a 2500 f1

specs:

It's a 1998 model for the 15th anniversary basically.

2x500rms@4ohm
2x1000rms@2ohm
1x2000@4ohm bridged
0.01% THD
120dB S/N ratio
>96dB seperation
0.15-12V sensitivity
>500 dampiing
7Hz-200kHz response

-All transistors are operated in high bias Class "A" mode
-Remote Status Display (basically a half DIN mount to put at the driver dispaly area with 6 LED's for monitoring any problems)
-True Balanced Input Section (balanced connections with an included balanced line driver)
-Four internal fans
-Power Saver (when no input signal is found it turns down the high current supply rail voltages to reduce energy consumption)
-Direct-Coupled Audio Path (gain stages are direct-coupled for higher signal integrity and extended low-end response)
-Precision Servo Control (four servo amplifiers per channel maintain precise DC operating points without performance limiting coupling capacitors)
-QuadDrive Output Stage (Quadruple-Darlington output stage, output and damping are constant throughout the entire bandwidth)

tristan20 had two

tristans thought on them from diyma

tristan20 wrote:Yeah I had a pair, one of the biggest baddest amp's ever made. Comes in a huge aluminum case, about 150 Lbs

They are HUGE as in JBL 6000 huge, made extremely solid, so solid that if you were in an accident the car would be all smashed up but the amp would still survive.

I sold mines to a dude that absolutely loves them, he has 5-6 already. My friend has a shop in queens and he has one in his display case but I dont think hes selling.

At IDLE around 40 amps, so make sure you got the juice or the amp will eat itself.

WOW....now dis is 1 beautiful Amp :D

Loudsound Customs

Postby Loudsound Customs » April 19th, 2010, 3:15 pm

ah want 1^^^
who sellin????

casper

Postby casper » April 19th, 2010, 3:19 pm

anything F1 is SERIOUS money...i doh wanna know the price of that nah :cry:

Soundstream_626

Postby Soundstream_626 » April 19th, 2010, 3:28 pm

msrp was $10000 us back in 98

casper

Postby casper » April 19th, 2010, 3:32 pm

$10,000 US :shock:

dize a friggin car in T&T.....$63,000 on a good day.. :o

i'll pass thank you

Loudsound Customs

Postby Loudsound Customs » April 19th, 2010, 3:36 pm

:( good ting ah cheap jed....it sad some ah we poor :cry:

Postby - Rovin's car audio - » April 19th, 2010, 4:23 pm

casper wrote:Rovin...when disconnecting a used amp to rest down for a while you should discharge it to release the current stored in capacitors within the amp...capacitors may keep charge in it long after power is removed from the circuit...it not healthy for the amp to have it's capacitors storing energy in it when not in use for long periods....

some capacitors however have built-in discharge resistors to dissipate stored energy to a safe level within a few seconds after power is removed in order to serve as a precaution for potential damage or anything like that

yes i know about that 1 & it falls into d point so u have to be careful of buying ole skool thing online that have been put down long from some1 u never dealt with b4 & get some kinda guaranty that it wont be DOA when u get it ...