New to In Car Audio Sound, what do i need ?

bnrampage

New to In Car Audio Sound, what do i need ?

Postby bnrampage » April 6th, 2010, 2:20 pm

Hey guys looking to take out the factory audio stuff and install a good sound system. Only problem is i dont know where to start in buy the new stuff.What do i need and what i should know !

DE AUDIO

Postby DE AUDIO » April 6th, 2010, 2:31 pm

What vehicle?

Budget?

Main media used?

Full line of Alpine available. You can start off with a simple system and build from there to a complete system or whatever is best for you. Alpine is the highest quality available and can be used efficiently with your stock electrical system.

Have a look at the following post.

http://forums.trinituner.com/forums/vie ... p?t=305437

Please pm if interested.

carfreak1024

Postby carfreak1024 » April 6th, 2010, 2:54 pm

honestly everyone says start small and then upgrade if you need be, but honestly i find it better if you start big and done.

Buy things one at a time:
you can start with a nice head unit, save up and buy some nice like a pioneer 710bt or an alpine 9886.(bout 1600)

then get a nice 4 channel amplifier, like a rockford 851x or something along those lines.(2000)

then get some components and 6x9 speakers, like the RE components or the DLS or CDT Components or Image Dynamics.(1200-1600)

then after a while get a nice sub like a RE Sx 12" in a nice box(2400)
or an SE 12" in a box(2000)

And further down the line when you have enough money get a nice subwoofer amplifier like a Powerbass ASA1500.1D for the SX(2300)
OR A 1000.1 Powebass for the SE- (1600)

This way you would not have to buy something small, sell it and lose half the money you put out when you wanna upgrade.

Buy your wires along the way budget 1000 for wires.

Unless you have 11000 to buy everything one time, then by all means do that.

edit: some of the prices kinda higher, i went to the stores today so i just filling you in! that brings the total to about 10000 and that is gonna be a something i think you would like.
Last edited by carfreak1024 on April 8th, 2010, 2:22 pm, edited 1 time in total.

Firewall

Postby Firewall » April 6th, 2010, 3:28 pm

bnrampage,

as Exonic said,

What type of vehicle, budget, main media (usb dvd etc?)

also system goals (destroy your neighbor house / personal listening pleasure / mix of both)

the $11000 quoted above is quite a bit high and in my opinion you can get better for less.

and you honestly don't need a boatload of power to sound good.
http://forums.trinituner.com/forums/vie ... p?t=304508
Under $3000, using the stock unit, you can also get a decent aftermarket unit for around $1200.

Check around the ICE and Car audio forums, do LOTS of research and ask questions...........THEN buy

hope this helps

Postby - Rovin's car audio - » April 6th, 2010, 3:39 pm

What :

vehicle

Budget

listening habit - meaning to park up by caura & blast , carshow , sound quality or something fairly loud & clear to hear INside ur ride using car speakers for mids\high & not pro audio speakers like eminence etc ....

bnrampage

Postby bnrampage » April 6th, 2010, 3:51 pm

Mitsubishi Lancer 2002

Budget all depends what i will need because well dont plan on going up for a carshow or lose my hearing but something with a decent Bass and if needed park up in front de girl house and play a lil gyption ! :lol: :lol: :lol:

Postby - Rovin's car audio - » April 6th, 2010, 3:55 pm

ok well good bang for buck let me link u with a full Powerbass system http://forums.trinituner.com/forums/vie ... c&&start=0 .....

bnrampage

Postby bnrampage » April 6th, 2010, 3:59 pm

Ah plus thinking about maybe a touch screen dvd deck, might be aiming too high too early

DE AUDIO

Postby DE AUDIO » April 6th, 2010, 4:09 pm

Can offer you a demo on my personal system 04 Mitsu Lancer. Nothing to extensive.

Simple, effective and more on the OEM side. SQL

Full Alpine.

Please call to make an appointment.

Then after the demo we can discuss what might better fit your personal needs.

bnrampage

Postby bnrampage » April 6th, 2010, 4:13 pm

Ok Where you located in marabella ?

DE AUDIO

Postby DE AUDIO » April 6th, 2010, 4:27 pm

Yup, just give me a call and we can arrange.

bnrampage

Postby bnrampage » April 6th, 2010, 5:02 pm

I like how carfreak1024, talk because i dont want to get stuck with a set of audio equipment while i upgrade

DJ Q

Postby DJ Q » April 6th, 2010, 6:30 pm

maybe a touch screen dvd deck

I don't know what Alpine has in that line...

Please advise.

DE AUDIO

Postby DE AUDIO » April 6th, 2010, 7:28 pm

They are relatively more expensive than other brands.

But you do get what you pay for...

IVA-W205
IVA-W505
IXA-W404 (IPOD, IPHONE)
IXA-W407

www.alpine-usa.com

Pm for pricing and availability

Sully

Postby Sully » April 7th, 2010, 6:26 am

The newer JVC touch screen DVD head units look pretty good. I saw them on display at SBN and had the opportunity to use on in a vehicle that was entered in the multimedia category. Pretty nice interface. What I liked about it is that all the controls are not normally displayed on the screen. When you want to change something, just wave your hand in front of the HU and the controls appear.

It may sound like a gimmick, but I could see why they did it. You don't always want to see the controls on the screen, and this is the easiest way to get them to appear.

Firewall

Postby Firewall » April 7th, 2010, 7:00 am

Sully wrote:The newer JVC touch screen DVD head units look pretty good. I saw them on display at SBN and had the opportunity to use on in a vehicle that was entered in the multimedia category. Pretty nice interface. What I liked about it is that all the controls are not normally displayed on the screen. When you want to change something, just wave your hand in front of the HU and the controls appear.

It may sound like a gimmick, but I could see why they did it. You don't always want to see the controls on the screen, and this is the easiest way to get them to appear.

Didi they decrease the read times on the newer models?
The only complaint that i have about the older ones is that at the instant of powering it on, the media takes in excess of 10 seconds to load (USB).

other than that, its a very versatile player. i love mine :oops:

Postby 3stagevtec » April 7th, 2010, 11:35 am

my pops have a DVD touch screen JVC with the motion detection.. it works great but it does lack some 'feel'.. i.e. i miss the rotary volume knob..

it loads USB music quickly, but DVDs with lots of video clips on it does take a few seconds to load.. but then again, it's reading from a DVD disc..

viking1705

Postby viking1705 » April 7th, 2010, 12:09 pm

JVC dvd decks work preety good imo..also seen the pio dvd touch screen works great.do a research yes anything best fitting your requirements buy it they all good equipment.

Sully

Postby Sully » April 8th, 2010, 7:25 am

Firewall wrote:Didi they decrease the read times on the newer models?
The only complaint that i have about the older ones is that at the instant of powering it on, the media takes in excess of 10 seconds to load (USB).

I'm not sure about that. I've only used the HU with a DVD. I'm assuming that the length of time that it would take to load media from USB will be a function of how much media is on it.

carfreak1024

Postby carfreak1024 » April 8th, 2010, 2:47 pm

just in terms of being an easy unit to live with, i think the pioneer DVD decks work the best, the touch screen is responsive, they cheap, they play USB as well. And they sound fairly decent.

Now if you gonna want something with alot better Audio Adjustments i would go straight for the JVC, you get a 7 band EQ, time alighnment, and variable crossovers.
Unless you wanna go with alpine and buy a H701 to get a super load of audio adjustments.

But now see you saying decent bassline there.
(1) RE SR 12" in box-1600
(1) Powerbass 1000.1-1600
(1) Powerbass 600.2-1400
(1) RE Component set-1000
(1) RE 6X9 SET-600
(7-8) yards of 0 gauge(to do the big 3 one time)-400
(2) yards of 4 gauge-60
(1) Main Fuse Block-150
(1) Distrobution block-160
(20) yards of speaker wire-100
(2) yards of subwoofer wire-30(if that much)
(5) yards of remote wire(10)
(2) 4 gauge ring terminals-18
(7) 0 gauge ring terminals-70
(3) ANL fuses-105
(3) RCA interconnects(get some of the good stuff)-~350

that totals to 7650. For buying everything brand new no used thing. You can scrape off about 10-15% if you decide to buy used.

i think that is everything you will need except for a deck if you wanna go DVD thats gonna be about 3200 for the new model pioneer DVD, if you decide otherwise i think you can get a nice unit for like 1900 with USB, BLUETOOTH, AND MORE brand NEW, used about 1200.

just budget for an installer or try it yourself, its alot of fun.
If you getting it installed i not sure where installers are at with their pricing, but i am sure that tuners on here will help you for free, i go give you hand if you need one.

southside connections

Postby southside connections » April 8th, 2010, 7:55 pm

good match there, but i know the powerbass line to give rated power, so the sr will be a bit overpowered, rather the se in that case

i would think that system may be a bit overkill in terms of price, but in terms of quality, it's a great start

what you should do, concentrate on your car's listening environment before seeing what equipment should be used

you should ask yourself-,

"What do I want"(loud(gallery), or clean(sq)
"what is my budget"
"how much space am i willing to use"

it is usually better to get the office up before working in it, ie concentrate on procedure not brands

knowing how to use a piece of equipment is different from buying a brand, most times a cheaper / lower level of equipment will result in more than adequate set for your ears

why use "a" brand, when "b" brand is just as usable ?

carfreak1024

Postby carfreak1024 » April 8th, 2010, 8:03 pm

^^^said like a champ, but i have seen with my own eyes, that RE sub played on that very amp in kaizen autosound. And it taking it fine boi. The sub really surprised me. But the RE SE would be a beast with that amp. But the SR will work, just "turn the gain down" or "decrease the drive" if you not confident in the speaker.

but southside what would you recommend to fix that setup.

southside connections

Postby southside connections » April 8th, 2010, 8:15 pm

i'm confused as to why you stated a 600.2 rather than a 600.4

it would make life easier if you have independent control of you front/rear speakers, straight do to left/right

that and if that is the amp, aka 1000.1 pb, i would go with the se in a well designed ported box

even so, here's a real simple setup, budget of course but great still-

powerbass 700.5
powerbass c6 component kit
powerbass coaxils on the rear
powerbass s 12 d4 in a sealed box
decent deck with a simple front/rear/sub output preferably with a ok xover( i suggest a pioneer 4000ub for quality vs price)

for wiring now, simple-
1 run of 4 awg wire front to rear
3 runs of rca's/1 run remote(with relay)
1 run of 14awg wire to each speaker unit, each to be run on 1 channel of the amp
1 run 12awg wire for the sub

NO PREAMP NECESSARY

after that, some deadening on the doors, a lil bit in the trunk and a little eq from the deck and there you go

viking1705

Postby viking1705 » April 8th, 2010, 9:04 pm

very good advice there..both these guys offerin gr8 advice..your budget is the main thing here though.

DJ Q

Postby DJ Q » April 9th, 2010, 8:05 am

ENDORSED :!:

But you should add the dampening for the doors

carfreak1024

Postby carfreak1024 » April 9th, 2010, 7:12 pm

oh shox boi, i rell make mistake with that there yes, i type 600.2 instead of 600.4, but i don't think a 600.2 exists though, so at least i en that bad.

BUT I MEANT 600.4 OKAY GUYS, SORRY GUYS.

I understand what you saying though about the RE SE, but if he just want a nice kinda loudish bassline the SR is the way to go, the new SE can get loud, and in a box it is considerably more expensive. In Kaizen Autosound's showroom, they are using the RE SR 12" on 1000rms off of the RE Audio 2000.1 version 3 amp.

thats 1000rms. So i know it will take that power for sure, i mean they have an EPI like device on it as well which extends the lowbass response a bit, so i mean i am really sure this sub can take this power. But the SE with that amp would be a better choice of you want to be sure you never gonna have problems with overstressing the subwoofer.

noyztoyz

Postby noyztoyz » April 9th, 2010, 7:44 pm

southside connections wrote:i'm confused as to why you stated a 600.2 rather than a 600.4

it would make life easier if you have independent control of you front/rear speakers, straight do to left/right

that and if that is the amp, aka 1000.1 pb, i would go with the se in a well designed ported box

even so, here's a real simple setup, budget of course but great still-

powerbass 700.5
powerbass coaxils on the rear
powerbass s 12 d4 in a sealed box
decent deck with a simple front/rear/sub output preferably with a ok xover( i suggest a pioneer 4000ub for quality vs price)

for wiring now, simple-
1 run of 4 awg wire front to rear
3 runs of rca's/1 run remote(with relay)
1 run of 14awg wire to each speaker unit, each to be run on 1 channel of the amp
1 run 12awg wire for the sub

NO PREAMP NECESSARY

after that, some deadening on the doors, a lil bit in the trunk and a little eq from the deck and there you go

thats a good suggestion but just replace the 700.5 powerbass, that is a umm not strong amp,
the amp should be as strong as possible in this for it to sound good and drive all those speakers

carfreak1024

Postby carfreak1024 » April 9th, 2010, 9:51 pm

yeah if yuh wanna go 5 channel i would go with either the directed d2205, or Memphis belle 5 channel, now those are some 5 channels to talk about, but then again how much power could the recommended sub take.

Maybe that 300rms is enough.

1MADE

Postby 1MADE » April 12th, 2010, 11:33 am

carfreak1024 where u expect ppl to find a D2205 ?? dem thing rell scarce ...... been looking for one a good while now with no avail :(

anyways the powerbass asa 700.5 is a pretty decent amp had this on a single RF P3 10"...powered it nicely, it's a good amp for a small setup.....
southside connections suggestion is a good one

lil punisher

Postby lil punisher » April 13th, 2010, 12:11 pm

all i can tell u is budget take it step by step an buy things u know u can use in de long run cause music addictive.. buy ur deck an procesors first. i say alpine deck for a first choice or even the new pioneer dvd deck i forget the model number an since u are a new to car audio i wudnt advise u to buy audio control procesors unless someone explain to u how to use it so u can get simple cross overs like kicker kx3..