Blown kicker l7

Stay Tuned

Blown kicker l7

Postby Stay Tuned » April 2nd, 2010, 1:37 pm

Do they recone these speakers? Also do they sell kits? Anyone know who does it and how much?

Stay Tuned

Postby Stay Tuned » April 2nd, 2010, 1:42 pm

You have a contact for them and where they located?

Stay Tuned

Postby Stay Tuned » April 2nd, 2010, 1:51 pm

I'm not sure which model but not the newest ones. I think they were even the first ones made.

Stay Tuned

Postby Stay Tuned » April 2nd, 2010, 1:52 pm

I have three two l5's and one l7 all 12"

noyztoyz

Postby noyztoyz » April 2nd, 2010, 1:57 pm

check a repair guy to change the coil if the other soft parts are good.

Stay Tuned

Postby Stay Tuned » April 2nd, 2010, 2:13 pm

Nah it's black cone, who repair guys it have? How much they normally cost?

Postby rollingstock » April 2nd, 2010, 7:06 pm

Azad's speaker works on Navet road s'fdo, got a 15l7 recoiled recently for $250.00, nice work and they stick to their delivery date.

Stay Tuned

Postby Stay Tuned » April 3rd, 2010, 2:30 am

I'm located in piarco by the airport. Sando gonna be a long run.

Loudsound Customs

Postby Loudsound Customs » April 3rd, 2010, 9:31 am

try kp 667 - 0412
arima

Stay Tuned

Postby Stay Tuned » April 3rd, 2010, 6:18 pm

i called him. but it's kinda expensive though 600.should probably sell them instead....

noyztoyz

Postby noyztoyz » April 3rd, 2010, 7:09 pm

call crackie

Lance

Postby Lance » April 3rd, 2010, 7:59 pm

600 is a fair price for KP's Quality.

Stay Tuned

Postby Stay Tuned » April 4th, 2010, 12:20 am

I going to check KP tomorrow to hear what he have to say. Also from what you guys say, I can't let crackie f it up, cause then i'll have to buy a full kit.

Loudsound Customs

Postby Loudsound Customs » April 4th, 2010, 1:09 am

i have heard dat crakie or how dey spell it, does gr8 work...
and i can vouch for kp's work....he does gr8 work....600 is a small price 2 pay as lance said...

Stay Tuned

Postby Stay Tuned » April 4th, 2010, 1:45 am

You ever saw crakie's workand where is he located? Also is there anyone else?

southside connections

Postby southside connections » April 4th, 2010, 11:58 am

i've been seeing crakie's work for many years comming and gonig now, and yet to see a disatisfied person

piooner, u haven't had the man work on any of your things, so don';t comment please

more so from seeing pics of his crappy work

post thng nah man

Stay Tuned

Postby Stay Tuned » April 4th, 2010, 12:15 pm

Ok hear the deal I have two L5's so we'll do a test. One by KP and one by crackie. I'll do a test then take some pics followed by a write up. How that sounds?(no pun intended :lol: ) Where crackie located?

Postby pugboy » April 4th, 2010, 12:39 pm

good speaker repair guys should charge more

people go by a doctor and pay $200 for 15 minutes

if a man has to dismantle a speaker, undo the coil, rebuild and rewind with same wire and turns then rebuild the speaker and possibly source parts, probably several hours well over a couple days for glue to dry etc...........

Stay Tuned

Postby Stay Tuned » April 4th, 2010, 2:25 pm

Good point on the fix but the thing is that a doctor goes to school for min of 4-5 years to do their "practice," how long is the training for SPEAKER REPAIR? Would you trust a doctor with you child or family who did a six month course in medicine? :shock:

Postby pugboy » April 4th, 2010, 6:13 pm

true, the same could be said of anything based on craftsmanship
there are many doctors who are a waste of time also

Stay Tuned

Postby Stay Tuned » April 4th, 2010, 7:31 pm

pugboy wrote:true, the same could be said of anything based on craftsmanship
there are many doctors who are a waste of time also

true..........so where crackie is?

Postby kurpal_v2 » April 4th, 2010, 7:48 pm

South. Just outside of sando

Stay Tuned

Postby Stay Tuned » April 5th, 2010, 2:31 pm

kurpal_v2 wrote:South. Just outside of sando

Finally!!!!!! Someone answered me! I'm located in Piarco so Sando ais a far run just to save a couple bucks.

But what really happened with that speaker though???

Stay Tuned

Postby Stay Tuned » April 5th, 2010, 3:21 pm

I just waiting for after the weekend, to go talk to him, cause he said that he not sure if anything else needed fixing...........

Mobile-Authority

Postby Mobile-Authority » April 6th, 2010, 2:54 pm

southside connections wrote:i've been seeing crakie's work for many years comming and gonig now, and yet to see a disatisfied person

piooner, u haven't had the man work on any of your things, so don';t comment please

more so from seeing pics of his crappy work

post thng nah man

So i can't post my opinion based on pics of his work?

Cuz yuh ask Alpine to delete the pics yuh thought i won't have saved it? :lol:

pad up...

Then let's mention the sub blew again soon after it was repaired...

according to wah the man say...
he does do it a lil crappy to let ppl kn its been repaired..
:shock: :shock:

Stay Tuned

Postby Stay Tuned » April 7th, 2010, 7:25 am

Would he do it properly if you ask him?

Stay Tuned

Postby Stay Tuned » April 8th, 2010, 7:38 am

^^^^well that's the plan

southside connections

Postby southside connections » April 8th, 2010, 7:42 pm

man saving pics and ting yess, wheyyyzzzzz boi alluh really have no life lol

just goes to show u,tuners live here

J_Sman,

just because i outta country doh mean i cah buss files ehhh

carfreak1024

Postby carfreak1024 » April 8th, 2010, 7:59 pm

nah but i mean alyuh judging a man's work on one job, and who says that it is done neat is that speaker show above is slightly bigger than a 10", and that looks like the problem in that pic. I mean he didn't make the gasket now did he, he just stuck it down.

I mean the glue on the cone kinda Fu!! it up though. But if loudsound, and other fellas say they see good work there, they are reliable people to trust. But he is kinda outa the way for you, so i to reccomend KP.

yuh could check tally too, but he does take 4.5 years to do a speaker, but he work is damn near perfect, i dropped a speaker there totally and completely destroyed i mean magnet shifted, coil DISINTEGRATED, rubber tear up, spider buss out, dust and mud as well as motor oil in the coil gap and when we pick that thing up it look like brand new, and he didnt get a kit or anything. When we pick it up, i hadda ask the man where he theif that speaker from, and the best part, he charged he $250.

the man rell good, but god he could take long, like honestly a 3 months and thing is normal waiting time.

Postby SR » April 9th, 2010, 3:30 pm

allyuh ever wonder when you repair a speaker ie reqind coild etc if the ts parameters remain the same???

because from what i reading in this post and others onces its a brand y model z
no matter how much repairs are done to it including adding more spyders etc its still carries the sampe spec and then people want to know whay its not performing as it should

sigh..........most manufacturers make thier own repair/recone kits for thier speakers which usually include all the "soft" parts so when repalced the speaker is almost the same spec as it was brand new

when you replace soft parts for others out of the spec of the manufacturer then the parameters change and will trickle down to box specs and port tuning being different

that replacment suspension or spyder or coil doesnt weigh the same as the original does it??
what about the inductance of the coil is it the same? it may still read 1 ohm