mumra wrote:The coil in the atomic mash up and unravel
Unloading - The tendency of an enclosure to produce no spring or pressure on the woofer. Unloading produces an uncontrollable over-excursion of the woofer cone (it vibrates out of control); the speaker will exhibit low power handling at lower frequencies
mumra wrote:The gains were also about 25% for the atomic.
clarion preamp
normal deck volume 15-20
carfreak1024 wrote:^^^^so what about me who uses about half gain on the amps and set the gains correctly on the Audiocontrol EQT to get 5 volts preout and when i crank my music all the way the bass still keeps on going anf getting louder, and wants to go if i had more than volume 62 to go to.
does this mean i have too much headroom on my amps?
i can turn the amps up more but then my mids get drown out and i become i very unhappy person.
also in bassbox pro 6 when using multiple ports and they give you a port length are you supposed to divide that portlength among the 3 ports or make each port that lenght. i know its kinda off topic but this could help me fix some.
carfreak1024 wrote:also in bassbox pro 6 when using multiple ports and they give you a port length are you supposed to divide that portlength among the 3 ports or make each port that lenght. i know its kinda off topic but this could help me fix some.
Brian Steele wrote:carfreak1024 wrote:also in bassbox pro 6 when using multiple ports and they give you a port length are you supposed to divide that portlength among the 3 ports or make each port that lenght. i know its kinda off topic but this could help me fix some.
You are supposed to use that port length for each port, not divide amongst the ports, otherwise you'll severely mistune the box. Fb, the resonance frequency, will be way too high.
mumra wrote:Ok my box wasn't built to specs and my audio system was, is tuned poorly but the question remains about the DC Voltage
These are the voltages across the speaker terminals in my various amps
PPI PC4100. 0.04V
PPI DCX600.4. 0.05V
Atomic 3000.1. 0.9V
Is the dc voltage across the atomic amp enough to damage the sub?
Should I have the amp checked?
carfreak1024 wrote:hmm but i am feeling like a rell ass now boi, because now i know my box not tuned to 21hz, but more like 33hz, yuh guys think it make sense to tune any lower than this like at my FS which is 29hz. maybe i can get more lows.