BMW 3 series install ..IASCA Competitions

pimptacular

BMW 3 series install ..IASCA Competitions

Postby pimptacular » December 20th, 2009, 11:45 pm

So, I finally decided to get back into car audio after my car i used to use for competition was unfortunately written off..
Now I do this as a hobby and I am not that good with power tools with power tools so excuse any ugly looking baffles :lol: .

So this would be basically a build log and I will try to post as much pictures and answer any questions as best as I can. Also this will take a while as I don't have a lot of free time on my hands these days.

MY EQUIPMENT:

For those of you know knows me know how much I love my Oz audio speakers as they are pretty damn good speakers and its a bit different to what everyone else uses.

Component set- Oz audio 380cs which is a 3way component set that will be actively crossed up front.
Subwoofer- Oz Audio Matrix Elite 12" dual 4 subwoofer (at least for the moment)
picture below is of the 10" not the 12" I'm feeling too lazy to go into the garage to take a picture of the actual 12

Amplifiers- All three amplifiers are DLS Ultimate.
DLS A2 (two channel)
DLS A4 (four channel)
DLS a6 (mono

Headunit and Processor-
I'll be using the Alpine IVA-D310 HU and the Pxa-H701 sound processor which I've had for a while now just collecting dust lol.

as for cables and wiring I haven't purchased it yet an will be looking into that this week and more pictures will be posted maybe tomorrow when outside is not so freaking cold.

So I hope you enjoy my build log and wish me luck, as I said I will try to update as soon as I can
Last edited by pimptacular on December 6th, 2010, 10:55 pm, edited 10 times in total.

Postby X_Factor » December 20th, 2009, 11:58 pm

nice, awaits pics
good luck in the build

Loudsound Customs

Postby Loudsound Customs » December 21st, 2009, 12:51 am

BMW + DLS = PRETTY INSTALL
:twisted: :twisted: :twisted:

Postby - Rovin's car audio - » December 21st, 2009, 1:55 am

nice equipment

look forward to seeing d build pics ...

SnipeR

Postby SnipeR » December 21st, 2009, 2:38 am

Loving that lineup! Will keep checking for updates :wink:

noyztoyz

Postby noyztoyz » December 21st, 2009, 6:23 am

amps looking good man,

are you local, yesterday wasnt that cold

Aimar

Postby Aimar » December 21st, 2009, 9:47 am

Why not use the passives :?:

southside connections

Postby southside connections » December 21st, 2009, 9:47 am

great, glad to see some work from you

Postby rollingstock » December 21st, 2009, 10:52 am

Nice components.

pimptacular

Postby pimptacular » December 21st, 2009, 11:24 am

noyztoyz wrote:amps looking good man,

are you local, yesterday wasnt that cold

i used to live trinidad up till recently so my blood havent taken that well to the cold in florida yet :lol:

Aimar wrote:Why not use the passives :?:

so far since i got into the sq side of car audio..i did 3way passive, 2way passive and 2way active upfront..

today ill take a picture of the car and the trunk and pics of the actual equipment ... as i said feel free to ask questions an will try my best to answer them

Postby SR » December 21st, 2009, 1:01 pm

florida aint cold

hope this is finished by march eh

Postby kurpal_v2 » December 21st, 2009, 1:33 pm

Stewps.... Bout damn effing time

pimptacular

Postby pimptacular » December 21st, 2009, 1:49 pm

SR wrote:florida aint cold

hope this is finished by march eh

florida not cold? right now outside is 57 degrees F which is 14C :lol:

yea it should be finished by march..this project been on hold way too long you kno that

my car what i used when i competed

and this is my new car for sq

the black thing is the stock harman kardon subwoofers which will be removed an still toying with ideas for possible mounting locations..
most likely the A6 and the A4 would be mounted under the backdash and the a2 would find a nice spot somewhere..

looking at this location for possible location of the 701 and the brain for the d310

now the actual equipment

as you can see a brand new in box 701 i sure that would tell you how long this project has been on hold :lol:

Postby SR » December 21st, 2009, 2:28 pm

the 701 will fit on the left side of trunk behing the panel

the easiest thing in the bmw is running power

good luck with running wires from behind the dash

the glove box HAS to come out completley to get proper access
esepcailly if you are using a harness adapter

also due to the padding on the flooring its a tight fit but you can get the wires to run without having to remove the entire carpet

recomend removing the seats though

14c is not bad just as long as it doesnt drop below 10

besides

habla espanol

plenty spanish ting to keep yuh warm

Soundstream_626

Postby Soundstream_626 » December 21st, 2009, 2:42 pm

what; u actually take time off from whoring to start d install ... great .

u still running a full sized spare or using a mini compressor and a tin of run flat?

Postby SR » December 21st, 2009, 3:04 pm

who uses a spare in a bmw :mrgreen:

noyztoyz

Postby noyztoyz » December 21st, 2009, 3:31 pm

anyone from your block or nearby has a dred bassline?

adopson

Postby adopson » December 21st, 2009, 6:08 pm

nice equipment here buddy.. hot glue and silicone ftw :lol:

pimptacular

Postby pimptacular » December 21st, 2009, 6:27 pm

SR boy them latina you hadda be careful because most of them are jailbait so i hadda ask for id before i make a move lol..
also thats the good thing about a bmw most of the wiring done in the trunk because of the battery located in the trunk..

Soundstream_626, i know eh is about effin time an all but i a bit skeptical of taking out my spare..i remembered a time when i was in trinidad i get a flat an i was far from home but ill look at my mounting locations first when i scrap the trunk then ill decide if i going down there..

i still lookin for speaker and power wires..as for rca cables i lookin at the ixos

BLUE_CP9A

Postby BLUE_CP9A » December 21st, 2009, 8:03 pm

Liking this a lot.

Why not use DLS for the front stage?

Look forward to the build pics

pimptacular

Postby pimptacular » December 21st, 2009, 10:52 pm

i hav all this equipment a while now..oz audio was something different to try at that point in time and it still is plus it has always been good to me so i never saw any point to changing it..

silent_riot

Postby silent_riot » December 22nd, 2009, 9:11 am

Plus the OZ sounds great.
BMWs renowned for their kickpanel space. If you can fit the midbass in there as well in a separate chamber, try that.

Sully

Postby Sully » December 22nd, 2009, 10:31 am

Is there a spare in this? Some of the 3 series I looked at here didn't come with a spare because they all come with run flat tires. That's the sales pitch that I got.

madman.devin

Postby madman.devin » December 22nd, 2009, 12:13 pm

^^ run flats give a crappy ride but corners like crazy !

Sweet Build .... guess I'll have to come up to get a listen, lol.

Sully

Postby Sully » December 22nd, 2009, 1:50 pm

madman.devin wrote:^^ run flats give a crappy ride but corners like crazy !

I agree. The test drive I took wasn't a very good ride.

carfreak1024

Postby carfreak1024 » December 22nd, 2009, 5:59 pm

we took the run flats off the my bros BMW 330i and it rides and corners better now. you can throw that thing into the corners on the uriah butler by UWI going 120-130Mph, and the stretch after bhagwansinghs till trincity mall the car can hit top speed 155-160mph and still feels stable throughout.

we planning to do an install in the car soon, its an e92 BTW, but he trying to figure out whether he wanna go bang out style or SQ style.

rigman00

Postby rigman00 » December 22nd, 2009, 11:36 pm

allyuh starting to spam the man thread......pimp looking foward to see what u come up wit its long overdue

pimptacular

Postby pimptacular » December 23rd, 2009, 1:31 am

thanx rigman an try to keep it more on the talk of audio than of tires.. and rigman u know u of all people know how long over due it is lol..i will be trying my best to get it done over the next few weeks

so

for the 701 after doing some reading up online and reading the manual a bit

Front 1 will be used for tweeters
Front 2 will be used for the midbass
Rear will be used for the midrange
Sub for sub

a fun little fact i picked up reading online is that you CAN use the center to run a mono rearfill but i will experiment with later on after i get the system up and running

i went to audio logic in hollywood and "hifi" mike and charlie dixon was very helpful when getting wiring, dashkit, wiring harness etc. and great guys to deal with

most likely tomorrow im hoping to scrap the trunk and look at possible routes for wiring, mounting locations of the amp and processor and hu brain.

Also ill only be dampening the doors and my trunk lid..good thing bmw has pretty decent noise dampening :mrgreen:

the sub will be firing through the flip down piece in the back seat, which is a big plus compared the the e46 I had in trinidad where the back seats weren't able to fold down so the trunk was 1 big metal casket stifiling the JL W7's bass

The subwoofer enclosure will be sealed didn't do any calculations yet to figure out what size will be using yet.

But SR i bite that talk when i was building the mazda and end up with a flat tire a few months after :lol:

but when im done all is welcome if you come florida hit me up and you'll get a listen.. :mrgreen:

carfreak1024

Postby carfreak1024 » December 23rd, 2009, 2:15 am

this build lookin like it goin and be really nicely done, yuh already start with the best products, i hope yuh finish it up with a best install.

but just asking are you gonna reuse the stock locations for the components.
i mean midbass under the seats, midrange on the doors, and tweeters in the panel, or are you fabricating pieces to do get your own mounting positions. also by using the system with an active crossover system, will you be limiting your stereo capabilities and make your system mono.

never did active as yet just asking.

pimptacular

Postby pimptacular » December 23rd, 2009, 3:53 am

carfreak1024, i personally prefer simple installs than flashy so it would be very simply done, the wiring is whats going to really be the most difficult part i belive as i have to run, fresh speaker wire, rca, power, fiber optic, ipod, steering , video bypass ai net etc..(but not as crazy an as painful as the wiring jeff sometimes has lol)

well in my model it came with the upgraded harman kardon system which i mean will satisfy the average listener but anyhow i will be looking to reuse the stock locations, tweeters go on the doors by the handle, the 4" midrange driver will be in fabricated pods by the kicks..LHD ftw

the midbass is what is going to be the painful part really as bmw the e46 afaik attach the speakers to the door upholstery and not to the door itself..so there isnt any hole in the door like most cars but more a recession but even this isnt enough clearance for my midbass

[img::]http://i267.photobucket.com/albums/ii284/bertholomey/BMW%20stereo%20instal/PICT0064.jpg[/img]

so what im going to do is cut a hole in that recession area so i can get clearance needed to mount the woofer..I didnt have this problem with the boston acoustics i had in the other e46 as the magnet was smaller ..

actually quite opposite with an active x over i actually wont be limited but will have so many different options wrt db slopes, cross points etc.. passive system doesnt readily allow that altho there are some passives that allow some variation..

as for the mono in the rearfill is more about phasing ..but i havent experimented with rear fill in a sq car before so my knowledge is limited to that of what ive heard and read online..but from speaking to a few people who know more about it said if done correctly can add ambiance and depth to your soundstage so that will be something to experiment with and try later on.

hope that answers your questions