roger

2010 teaser

Postby roger » December 7th, 2009, 8:44 am

a lil peep on what i want to roll with in 2010

5" midrange and tweet. first mock up.
Last edited by roger on December 7th, 2009, 8:49 am, edited 1 time in total.

Postby SR » December 7th, 2009, 8:48 am

oh gorm

clean d glass nah :mrgreen:

roger

Postby roger » December 7th, 2009, 8:50 am

:D :D

Postby - Rovin's car audio - » December 7th, 2009, 11:10 am

anything short coming up to d side of ur car is like a blindspot .... :mrgreen:

roger

Postby roger » December 7th, 2009, 11:31 am

lol....did not consider that in the build

:o

jeff

Postby jeff » December 7th, 2009, 11:45 am

no domes? :mrgreen:

niceee i sure in a 2 mths so u will do it over and put a sub up there or something

:mrgreen:

viking1705

Postby viking1705 » December 7th, 2009, 12:47 pm

:lol: u kno dem sq men runnin tens for midbass now so by nex year the man might find a way to fit it up dey too.lol

roger

Postby roger » December 7th, 2009, 1:05 pm

^^^nah...my measurements indicate that the largest i can fit there is 8", so i'll stop at 8"

Sully

Postby Sully » December 7th, 2009, 1:27 pm

Why didn't you just use a coax?

gfbl

Postby gfbl » December 7th, 2009, 1:31 pm

thought you mean the b13...

roger

Postby roger » December 7th, 2009, 1:34 pm

i could not get a 5" coax with the smooth top end of the tweet i use now, within the budget i am working with.

and i wanted to have control over the midrange and treble freq ranges individually. to be able to manipulate each bandwith independant of the other.

i had a 4" coax before and whilst the midrange was ok...the top end was not.

Postby X_Factor » December 7th, 2009, 1:51 pm

lookin good, u lucky u hav a nice flatish dashboard

roger

Postby roger » December 7th, 2009, 1:56 pm

^^^well it does have a raise from the gauge cluster, so its not as flat as it appears.

but it works

Brian Steele

Postby Brian Steele » December 7th, 2009, 6:42 pm

I can see it now - "but offisa, I didn't see de man crossing - my speaker was in de way"... :)

pimptacular

Postby pimptacular » December 7th, 2009, 7:11 pm

cant wait to hear ur review :mrgreen:

roger

Postby roger » December 8th, 2009, 8:45 am

there are no blind spots.....not really.

the second shot was taken from the backseat so it looks a bit protrusive, but it reallly is not

jeff

Postby jeff » December 8th, 2009, 9:07 am

is the passenger side physically aligned the same as this?

roger

Postby roger » December 8th, 2009, 9:58 am

^^ not perfectly but yes. I ran the mids/tweets dipole on the dash for about two weeks to check both the on and off axis reproduction. i set them to where the tonal accuracy sounded "correctess", and worked from there. once i got them to sound as i wanted i wrapped a couple towels around to similate enclosures to confirm. as well all know i run without eq so tonal accuracy for me has to be paramount in my install.

for this set the mids are about 50deg off axis with the tweets completely off. as that is where i thought it sounded correct. the tweets are supreme in that alignment...very smooth.

the drivers pictured are not the drivers that i will use in the end. i am just using these for mock up purposes.

Postby X_Factor » December 8th, 2009, 10:21 am

roger, how far outwards did the speakers come when they were mounted when compared to the normal apillar level?

what would u say is acceptable distances?

Brian Steele

Postby Brian Steele » December 8th, 2009, 10:21 am

roger wrote:^^ not perfectly but yes. I ran the mids/tweets dipole on the dash for about two weeks to check both the on and off axis reproduction. i set them to where the tonal accuracy sounded "correctess", and worked from there. once i got them to sound as i wanted i wrapped a couple towels around to similate enclosures to confirm. as well all know i run without eq so tonal accuracy for me has to be paramount in my install.

Now THAT is a true SQ DIYer in action :).

roger

Postby roger » December 8th, 2009, 10:48 am

X_Factor wrote:roger, how far outwards did the speakers come when they were mounted when compared to the normal apillar level?

what would u say is acceptable distances?

well firstly for me there is no "acceptable" distance...but more of what may be practical or not.

the woofer are a full 2-1/4" deep so at the furthest point away from the Apillar it measures about 2-3/4" . I cut a LARGE hole in the stock pillar to allow the magnet to be sunk in as far as possible, also allow the woofer to vent downward into the dash....

ps: Dunno why yuh sell the small diameter mids...told you they would have worked...

Postby X_Factor » December 8th, 2009, 10:55 am

so u cut the metal behind the plastic finisher ( A-pillar metal)

well as much as i wanted to try the 3 way build, i dont hav the right processing for that project, so i decided to try and get 2way as good as i can for now

roger

Postby roger » December 8th, 2009, 10:58 am

X_Factor wrote:so u cut the metal behind the plastic finisher ( A-pillar metal)

well as much as i wanted to try the 3 way build, i dont hav the right processing for that project, so i decided to try and get 2way as good as i can for now

scene.

no metal was cut....only the plastic finisher

roger

Postby roger » December 8th, 2009, 11:38 am

initial critical listening (just installed the left side...yes i rode around with only the driver side yesterday!... for about 5mins.

i think i can see claire marlo's tonsils :shock:

jeff

Postby jeff » December 8th, 2009, 1:44 pm

so how would you compare these cones to the domes

roger

Postby roger » December 8th, 2009, 2:34 pm

ah see where yuh goin eh jeff....lol

but i cant really comment yet because all i have done is a preliminary TA and level adjustment.

i can tell the cones are alot more robust and much fuller. the sound of the cones were a bit thinner, and i think that was due to there limited useable range.

the tonality of the domes imo is hard to beat...and i have not really gotten down to serious comparison yet.

i am hoping that the cones i intend to use can deliver the tonality and clarity of the domes whilst allowing me to effectively have a large bandwith above the dash.

as time goes on and the build continues i will post more, it still have some ways to go.

silent_riot

Postby silent_riot » December 8th, 2009, 3:39 pm

:ughug: :skurry:

nemesis

Postby nemesis » December 13th, 2009, 2:20 am

I would like to hear how they handle the lower mids. And I'd seriously like to know what x-over freqs you choose.

roger

Postby roger » December 14th, 2009, 10:30 am

they should handle the lower mids as they would in any enclosure??

jeff

Postby jeff » December 21st, 2009, 11:18 pm

any more updates?

since the title is 2010 teaser i thought id throw something up too 8-)