SQ question daily vs competition

rigman00

SQ question daily vs competition

Postby rigman00 » October 6th, 2009, 9:46 pm

I know there are alot of guys who compete in sq on this forum. What r the differences between ur daily driving setup and ur competition setup

Postby 3stagevtec » October 6th, 2009, 10:46 pm

EQ settings! i believe in a competition set, there should be a balance across the frequency range when it comes to setting the EQ.. that setup will often result in a flat sounding system, which may not please the average listener..

i'm open for correction..

Postby X_Factor » October 6th, 2009, 11:12 pm

daily driven i believe they use a bit more sub end vs when in competition mode

adopson

Postby adopson » October 7th, 2009, 5:51 am

well a bit more sub end is not quite true for daily driven systems.. it all depends on the driver's liking...if he/she likes sub bass well then yes...but he/she mite prefer more up-front bass so the sub bass will be alot less....

the difference for me is that for competitions i lower gains....but for daily driving i crank it up............ so guys please turn up your gains....

Firewall

Postby Firewall » October 7th, 2009, 6:49 am

adopson wrote:the difference for me is that for competitions i lower gains....but for daily driving i crank it up............ so guys please turn up your gains....

Brr??? you forgot your [/sarcasm] tags??

roger

Postby roger » October 7th, 2009, 8:00 am

for me they are one in the same...

my daily drive setup is my comp set up

rigman00

Postby rigman00 » October 7th, 2009, 8:24 am

ok we gettin somewhere

Postby SR » October 7th, 2009, 8:25 am

roger wrote:for me they are one in the same...

agreed

as once properly setup you can run thru a range of music and not need to adjust anything

hwoever there are times when some tracks just scream for more bass and that can simply be adjusted from the deck

Postby SmokeyGTi » October 7th, 2009, 9:07 am

^^ always wondered if allyuh used to adjust that for daily listening.

from time to time i catch myself using the loudness on the lowest settings (pioneer head unit, has loudness low/mid/hi setting)- but only if the track has very little bass (like some older 80's early 90's indian film songs)

pimptacular

Postby pimptacular » October 7th, 2009, 10:18 am

SR wrote:
roger wrote:for me they are one in the same...

agreed

as once properly setup you can run thru a range of music and not need to adjust anything

hwoever there are times when some tracks just scream for more bass and that can simply be adjusted from the deck

same with me..some songs does scream for more bass or less depending on the type of music ..but generally everything else stays the same, even when i competed i just turned my bass down a few dbs and go into the lanes

Aimar

Postby Aimar » October 7th, 2009, 10:21 am

I have a gain control at fingers reach for the sub bass. And I keep the same settings but i carry back up all levels to 0db on the head unit. And if the need for more sub Bass I just slap in meh G5 :D

Soundstream_626

Postby Soundstream_626 » October 7th, 2009, 12:25 pm

from 40 hz up i am quite satisfied both in all out sq mode and daily

from 40 hz down ... sq mode just doesn`t cut it .. the bass goes waaay up for daily

TK!

Re: SQ question daily vs competition

Postby TK! » October 7th, 2009, 7:46 pm

rigman00 wrote:I know there are alot of guys who compete in sq on this forum. What r the differences between ur daily driving setup and ur competition setup

zero. good to get used to how music supposed to sound.