Sub review Needed again please :)

SEVin

Sub review Needed again please :)

Postby SEVin » September 16th, 2009, 6:30 pm

Hi All

I promise I will stop with these review and advice threads, ok maybe not but you all are just so helpful...makes me feel proud to be Trini :)

I am trying to decide which sub to go with as I will shortly be redoing my system.

I have come across some brands and models that particularly caught my eye and I was wondering if you can render some feed, advice and reviews on any or all of the following brands and models.

Kaption CL Series Subwoofers
RE - SR Series Subwoofers
MB Quart Discus
Arc Audio - KAR Subwoofers
Eclipse SW4200 series
JBL GT Series

I am looking to install 2 of them and power them off a premier 600 RMS x 2 ohm amplifier

Any type of feedback will be appreciated. Again not looking to bleed my ears just something that can I guess sound good and feel good (shrugs)

Thanks

De Hero

Postby De Hero » September 16th, 2009, 8:46 pm

might need to mention what vehicle you have and what subs you have now; ported or sealed?

SEVin

Postby SEVin » September 16th, 2009, 10:28 pm

De Hero, dont really thnk it matters because I am looking for a review of the subs mentoned

But since you asked :) Nissan Pathfinder curently running a single Kicker L5 in a Kicker ported box

viking1705

Postby viking1705 » September 16th, 2009, 10:33 pm

^^why not upgrade to a l7?

threeplumes

Postby threeplumes » September 17th, 2009, 2:27 am

MB Quart Discus ......very nice subs for the price

SEVin

Postby SEVin » September 17th, 2009, 8:18 am

viking1705, Well, I kinda wanted to keep my current amp which will not be sufficient to power the L7, even though my mind has crossed it

threeplumes, great thanks, can you anything else about them, do they require a big enclosure, sounds better sealed or ported, iam looking for ported but may end up sealed for min space consumption

pioneer, I know, they have crossed my mind also

SEVin

Postby SEVin » September 17th, 2009, 8:19 am

pioneer, actually, are these what you are running (ID)

DJ Q

Postby DJ Q » September 17th, 2009, 4:42 pm

if you not looking to bleed your ears... why do you need two subs?

De Hero

Postby De Hero » September 17th, 2009, 5:10 pm

SEVin wrote:De Hero, dont really thnk it matters because I am looking for a review of the subs mentoned

But since you asked :) Nissan Pathfinder curently running a single Kicker L5 in a Kicker ported box

If you are running a hatch back / station wagon type vehicle - your cabin gain will be significant - so a sub with higher F's than some would like, could still work because of the compensating cabin gain.

Also a sealed sub will be an option because in a wagon type vehicle you will not need as much SPL.

If you are running the L5 and have more than enough SPL - why not go sealed?

I have also heard the preference for a one sub solution - over two for SQ reasons.

Never the less - make sure you get user opinion from persons having the same amp power as you got - some subs are sensitive to this factor and your experience may not be the same as someone with a different amp.

SEVin

Postby SEVin » September 17th, 2009, 9:44 pm

DJ Q, I like to experiment....

De Hero, Hmmm.....I understand what you are saying...have you had any experience with the subs listed above?

De Hero

Postby De Hero » September 17th, 2009, 11:46 pm

Sorry SEVin - no direct experience with any of them.

What model amp do you have :- this one ?

http://www.sonicelectronix.com/item_132 ... 2200T.html

or this one

http://www.sonicelectronix.com/item_989 ... 00SPL.html

SEVin

Postby SEVin » September 18th, 2009, 8:29 am

De Hero wrote:Sorry SEVin - no direct experience with any of them.

What model amp do you have :- this one ?

http://www.sonicelectronix.com/item_132 ... 2200T.html

or this one

http://www.sonicelectronix.com/item_989 ... 00SPL.html

Actually its this one: http://www.crutchfield.com/p_130D1200M/ ... _and_specs

De Hero

Postby De Hero » September 18th, 2009, 9:38 am

I am sorry I thought you meant 2 channels at 600 rms a piece @ 2 Ohms = 1200 rms.

Apologies for second guessing you.

- Have you decided on sealed / ported yet ?

- Have you researched the manufacture's recommended enclosures ? to determine if all the subs are suitable for BOTH sealed AND Ported ? Sometimes a sub is better at one or the other not both. sometime the manufacturer will actually say "not recommended for xxxx"

- Have you thought about modelling the TS parameters in WIN ISD to see what the frequency response curve looks like.

If not you got a little research to do............. BTW while your at it why not model your existing sub to see how optimised it was/is in your existing enclosure??

Perhaps better could have been done? Not saying anything against your box builder OK.

You could even think about converting it to sealed - just to hear the difference between ported and sealed - SPL and SQ wise. Might influence your current decision.

nareshseep

Postby nareshseep » September 18th, 2009, 12:49 pm

Sevin do what I did when I was looking for subs, if you have installed a mono already in your car, pm several guys on tuner for a demo and they will be happy to assist you.

SEVin

Postby SEVin » September 18th, 2009, 1:46 pm

Hey, here are my responses:

- Have you decided on sealed / ported yet ?
SV - Looking for ported really, but looking at space consumption :)

- Have you researched the manufacture's recommended enclosures ? to determine if all the subs are suitable for BOTH sealed AND Ported ? Sometimes a sub is better at one or the other not both. sometime the manufacturer will actually say "not recommended for xxxx"
SV - yep, almost everyday on everyone of these manufacturers sites :)

- Have you thought about modelling the TS parameters in WIN ISD to see what the frequency response curve looks like.
SV - brrr ?

If not you got a little research to do............. BTW while your at it why not model your existing sub to see how optimised it was/is in your existing enclosure??
SV- Enclosure was built by kicker. This is how it looks http://www.alphacaraudio.co.uk/images/O ... NALBOX.jpg

Perhaps better could have been done? Not saying anything against your box builder OK.
SV- See response above :)

You could even think about converting it to sealed - just to hear the difference between ported and sealed - SPL and SQ wise. Might influence your current decision.

SEVin

Postby SEVin » September 18th, 2009, 1:48 pm

nareshseep, I agree, so tomorrow I am going to a few shops to check some out and bombard them with my questions

BUT keep the responses coming!

riadb

Postby riadb » September 18th, 2009, 2:14 pm

how about a single Cerwin Vega VMAX??

http://forums.trinituner.com/forums/vie ... p?t=268239

DJ Q

Postby DJ Q » September 18th, 2009, 2:46 pm

[quote[- Have you thought about modelling the TS parameters in WIN ISD to see what the frequency response curve looks like.
SV - brrr ? [/quote]

plot it in WINISD and it'll give you a rough idea of what the freq response will be

SEVin

Postby SEVin » September 20th, 2009, 12:44 pm

WELLL...

SO yesterday I went to a local shop and heard a few setups and I got two bassworx subs (10's) in a ported box, cleared up alot of space and its actually better than the single 12

I am happy :D

But thanks for all the help otherwise

southside connections

Postby southside connections » September 20th, 2009, 12:49 pm

bassworx?

nello-sello

Postby nello-sello » September 20th, 2009, 1:34 pm

southside connections wrote:bassworx?

after all that and yuh tek 2 bassworx :?

Postby - Rovin's car audio - » September 20th, 2009, 1:35 pm

iirc u in d usa not so ? - i sure nearly everybody reading this thread probably feel u in trinidad .... :?

SEVin

Postby SEVin » September 21st, 2009, 8:09 am

(...Rovin...), yep..NOt in TnT at the moment...

I could of gotten their btl f1 but nah..didnt need of all dat power

nello-sello, dont if you have heard of it? Have you?

SEVin

Postby SEVin » September 21st, 2009, 8:10 am

Ohh plus, I didnt shell out as much $$ as the other brands hehe

riadb

Postby riadb » September 21st, 2009, 9:20 am

whatever works for u bro..

enjoy your system :wink:

nello-sello

Postby nello-sello » September 21st, 2009, 2:40 pm

Well don't be stingy and give some reviews of those subs. Yes I never heard of 'em before

SEVin

Postby SEVin » September 21st, 2009, 3:56 pm

nello-sello, ok, so I will take some pics and maybe a vid once I get my camera back from the gf

You can check them out here: http://www.bassworx.com/subs.html

The one's I got are the BW10.3

I read some reviews on Canadian Car Audio and they did not get bad reviews from regular everyday users

I was quite surprised when I heard them compared to the L5, the bass actually moves me now....In fact I didnt realize my van was so loud when I was standing about 7 feet away and I had to yell to talk to the installer standing next to me

Oh, they are also owned by JBL or they own JBL or something like that

SEVin

Postby SEVin » September 21st, 2009, 4:04 pm

Speaking of, you know what..I think I learn my lesson, I have to stop being so damn lazy and go have a listen to different setups and judge for myself

Oh ulyuh ever hear of a canadian mobile audio brand called Kaption?! Have a listen to those if you have not heard about them yet; http://www.kaptionaudio.com/

Suppose to be a solid manufacturer, they were a bit more than the Bassworx box and subs though and I didnt find their 10's were special but their 12's are decent - the SPL series

Arc Audio was a new one to me too...Their flatline series are crazy

nello-sello

Postby nello-sello » January 19th, 2010, 8:17 am

SEVin, Review?????

Brian Steele

Postby Brian Steele » January 19th, 2010, 1:29 pm

SEVin wrote:nello-sello, ok, so I will take some pics and maybe a vid once I get my camera back from the gf

You can check them out here: http://www.bassworx.com/subs.html

The one's I got are the BW10.3

T/S params look pretty decent. Whether or not the published specs match the actual ones is another issue.

SEVin wrote:Oh, they are also owned by JBL or they own JBL or something like that

Maybe they're a Harman company, like JBL and Infinity