Brutus BX1500D Bench test

Pirate

Brutus BX1500D Bench test

Postby Pirate » September 15th, 2009, 1:06 pm

Yo I discovered this pic of a bench of a Hifonics Brutus BX1500D on the internet.
It was an eye opener!
Can a couple ppl do an independent test of the new series to set things straight?

I was looking at a complete HiFonics set, but now i'm a little skeptical.

In the last test the efficiency was just under 70% and at 14.4V which is kinda hard to pull off in a car environment.
Comments...

DJ Q

Postby DJ Q » September 15th, 2009, 1:51 pm

interesting....

some local tests please :shock:

infinite_RPM

Postby infinite_RPM » September 15th, 2009, 1:51 pm

weyyy u cya even get a gud 1000Wrms at normal car voltage....

Postby - Rovin's car audio - » September 15th, 2009, 1:53 pm

can of worms opened ... :popcorn:

silent_riot

Postby silent_riot » September 15th, 2009, 1:58 pm

:lol: The guy who tested it named Klypin (clipping) lol

ok, i going back to study
:cry:

Lance

Re: Brutus BX1500D Bench test

Postby Lance » September 15th, 2009, 1:58 pm

Pirate wrote:Yo I discovered this pic of a bench of a Hifonics Brutus BX1500D on the internet.
It was an eye opener!
Can a couple ppl do an independent test of the new series to set things straight?

I was looking at a complete HiFonics set, but now i'm a little skeptical.

In the last test the efficiency was just under 70% and at 14.4V which is kinda hard to pull off in a car environment.
Comments...

In the second test, i think you missed the biggest problem, its 10% THD.

However, this is a older version, I'm am confident things have gotten better since then.

Kaizen Autosound

Postby Kaizen Autosound » September 15th, 2009, 1:58 pm

Amp was driven into some serious clipping to squeeze out the 1300 watts. 10% thd?? thats just nasty.

Amp is good for about 1000 rms give or take..

infinite_RPM

Postby infinite_RPM » September 15th, 2009, 2:49 pm

http://www.sonicelectronix.com/item_175 ... 1610D.html

Very old model scroll down and watch how much newer models it have (the bx1500 is the oldest)

jeff

Postby jeff » September 15th, 2009, 3:12 pm

sorry to say this is an old repost and was discussed at lengths before

southside connections

Postby southside connections » September 15th, 2009, 4:25 pm

hmmmm

so said so done

MBC Autotronix

Postby MBC Autotronix » September 15th, 2009, 6:23 pm

jeff wrote:sorry to say this is an old repost and was discussed at lengths before

that's correct.

however, I am seeing the date of this bench test to be 2005.
The 2005 (as with most of the years) line of amps normally end with BXxx05D,BXi06D (2006) etc so it is easy to tell what year model the amp actually is.

That particular model of amp was probably made for the Latin American market and i dunno why, but the amps made for that market are normally overrated and normally share a board with the lower model "real" hifonics or in some cases other brands of amps.

Models such as the 2207,2407, xxo7, the 1500D etc was never made for the USA/UK/Caribbean Market and if you realise, NEVER appeared on the Maxxsonics official website.

You can rest assured that the models available from us and any model on the website is fairly and accurately rated and had real R&D gone into the manufacture process.

PAS magazine, Car Audio & Security Magazine etc. have all done independent reviews on the products from Hifonics and they all have good reviews for what they are.

Another good source of information you can use to verify any question you may have is the forum on www.teammaxxxsonics.com

If you are getting any of the recent models, you good to go, you can always verify with me whether the models of amps you are looking to invest in is for which market.

To answer the other question you may have with regards to why they do this.....i really don't know...

carfreak1024

Postby carfreak1024 » September 15th, 2009, 7:15 pm

daz rell overrated to me hoss, yuh hadda get 10% THD to get 90% of what you pay for.

Pirate

Postby Pirate » September 15th, 2009, 9:11 pm

kool thanks for all the updates guys!

on ah side note...

silent_riot wrote:
ok, i going back to study
:cry:

uwi now start back and u crying???
:P

silent_riot

Postby silent_riot » September 15th, 2009, 9:44 pm

^^^Nah not uwi, something else I doing :P

noyztoyz

Postby noyztoyz » September 16th, 2009, 6:08 am

would make sense, when i had my bx1500d, and sold it and put in a directed 1100d, there was no change in power. We know they tend to over-rate.

Chiney

Postby Chiney » September 16th, 2009, 8:30 am

i can assure yall that the newer models are way more efficient..

Postby 3stagevtec » September 16th, 2009, 8:51 am

anyone up for an actual test?? :fadein:

infinite_RPM

Postby infinite_RPM » September 16th, 2009, 9:26 am

YESSSSS X 100 But who have d amp??

DJ Q

Postby DJ Q » September 16th, 2009, 10:48 am

i sold mine :(

Pre

Postby Pre » September 16th, 2009, 1:28 pm

mine was stolen :cry: would have loved to bench it though

Chiney

Postby Chiney » September 16th, 2009, 1:51 pm

viking on the forum has a 2407 i think...

carfreak1024

Postby carfreak1024 » September 16th, 2009, 1:53 pm

is hifonics still doing this to their brutus line, or there zeus line. Are these lines the same or whats going on with them. I though the old school zeus was rell powerful.

MBC Autotronix

Postby MBC Autotronix » September 16th, 2009, 2:50 pm

^^ the zeus line are class A/B amps and the monoblocks class A/B OR class D is the brutus line.

viking1705

yep

Postby viking1705 » September 16th, 2009, 6:03 pm

Chiney wrote:viking on the forum has a 2407 i think...

i have a 2607 up for sale.if yall wa buy it from me and run yuh tests..lol..on a serious note though i doh mind doin this once a hav the time who can do a bench test?

Chiney

Postby Chiney » September 17th, 2009, 12:06 am

3stage himself is the boss too handle dat

viking1705

Postby viking1705 » September 18th, 2009, 9:32 am

but he from quite south ent..nobody central jed.but i hav som stuff reguardin my new system i will be doing from time to time by southside so i'l be in the area maybe we can organise somn

Postby 3stagevtec » September 18th, 2009, 11:21 am

me not too far from SSC...

viking1705

Postby viking1705 » September 18th, 2009, 2:09 pm

nice well pm me ur number so whenever i headin up thatside i can call yuh.i supposed to be up dey within the nex 2weeks

Postby ruffneck_12 » September 18th, 2009, 7:57 pm

if i hadda bench test an amp, wa signal to use? and wat is THD (simple explanation), cuda never understand da

ChristianRD

Postby ChristianRD » September 18th, 2009, 8:22 pm

^^^STUEPS

Google and BING doh work ?

http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Total_harmonic_distortion